Glacial Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Glacial Energy Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Gary Mole
7 Ratings
  1. "Learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Elmhurst, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Glacial Energy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The product being sold was electricity. The sales process was easy to implement and customer understanding was also easy to establish.

    Cons

    Most of the prospective customers had to have their hand held and walked thru mostly overly complicated contracts. The legal terminology scared some customers away.

    Advice to Management

    Could have had more hands on teaching.

    Glacial Energy2013-09-26
  2. "If only for the government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Glacial Energy

      Pros

      ability to make killer commissions

      Cons

      Never being successful in getting the Michigan legislature to deregulate electricity

      Glacial Energy2013-10-22
    • "Not a good work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Glacial Energy

        Pros

        None none none none none

        Cons

        Everything is terrible at this company.

        Advice to Management

        Re-work the company employment structure

        Glacial Energy2013-06-03
      • "A pump and dump experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Thomas, VI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Glacial Energy full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The people are nice to an extent. The bosses give out booze after work and free coffee all day.

        Cons

        Shadyyyy. Everyone does and doesn't talk about work. They claim the company has no debt...etc., and feed you propaganda about energy like electric and natural gas. This business is like a Sicilian family with everyone on top are either related or have history...feeding money below. I don't get the feeling of comfort there, my hair stands up.

        Advice to Management

        Rapture be coming soon...

        Glacial Energy2013-05-24
      • "Very Difficult to sell their product a few years ago."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Sales Representative in North Haven, CT
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Glacial Energy full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The sales team are in general hardworking, friendly . No micromanagement. you are on your own. (years ago)

        Cons

        Years ago, not now, they only sold a variable/flexible product not a fixed rate. Many companies did not want the product no matter how good you were at selling it. I hear now they offer both. also back then, the turnover was like 80%. when i was hired, they showed me a list of all new employees Quotas were unrealistic. 2.5 million kWhs per month expected..no way... they let go of my whole team.

        Advice to Management

        Just keep adding products and use realistic goals considering the competition out there.

        Glacial Energy2013-03-20
      • "disapointing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales 
        Doesn't Recommend
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Glacial Energy

        Pros

        Good salary and fun outings

        Cons

        very expensive medical benefits, ambiguous training, little direction/assistance, poor customer billing

        Glacial Energy2012-05-21
      • "great."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Glacial Energy

        Pros

        Nice people to work for.

        Cons

        could use more formal training.

        Glacial Energy2011-04-17
      • "none"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Development 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Glacial Energy

        Pros

        the culture is entrepeneurial and spirited. it is a work hard play hard place, which is fun. enjoy working with all types of customers.

        Cons

        as a young compnay there are bumps, but nothing too bad. comissions can be set lower if the sale is done differently.

        Advice to Management

        keep up the positive attitude. we are moving forward and it will be fun. i hate to see turnover in the office.

        Glacial Energy2010-03-31
      Found 18 reviews