Gladstone Institutes Reviews | Glassdoor

Gladstone Institutes Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Gladstone Institutes President Deepak Srivastava
Deepak Srivastava
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance, very inclusive culture, great benefits, awesome community(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very collegial and smart people - values of integrity, teamwork and excellence show(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "expensive living in San Francisco(in 9 reviews)

  • "postdocs are underpaid, the commute is aweful(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great academic work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agsdnsf Stfdsdf in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gladstone Institutes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great compensation, great perks, and very collaborative investment.

    Cons

    tends to promote people internally, missing great additions from other places. might not be good for the long run

    Gladstone Institutes2020-01-18
  2. "Perfect employee. Nice Benefits. Awesome people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gladstone Institutes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a great company to start your career

    Cons

    I can't find a con

    Gladstone Institutes2019-11-27
  3. "Gladstone is an amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gladstone Institutes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, very inclusive culture, great benefits, awesome community

    Cons

    Cost of living is very expensive

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing to make our community great

    Gladstone Institutes2019-11-12
  4. "Cutting-edge research institution that takes care of its employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gladstone Institutes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible research with a collaborative spirit and positive environment.

    Cons

    Can house some internal politics, but find me a research institute that doesn't.

    Gladstone Institutes2019-09-12
  5. "Groundbreaking Science and Innovative Research- Administrative Support-Superb!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant III in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gladstone Institutes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thus far, no cons! It is expensive to live in SF but this agency is top of the line when it cones to their benefits and pay, Anyone who complains must have not had work in other not-for-profits. I am proud to be an administrative support person to the lab and the organization as a whole and I plan on ending my career here.

    Cons

    Thus far, no cons! It is expensive to live in SF, but this agency is top of the line when it comes to their benefits and salary, Anyone who complains about this Post-Docs will get a department later in life and make vast amounts of money either way, The mission is to make a positive impact on the communities we serve, so suck it up and earn your title, post docs.

    Advice to Management

    You are amazing, I do however believe we need more visible branding. If possible think about a branding department whose mission is to ensure we are visibly seen and recognized via all technology and social media outlets, while ensuring we remain consistent in respect to logos, colors and branding in general. Find innovative and creative prop who can take us to the next level to be seen and heard visually. I foresee exponential growth.

    Show More
    Gladstone Institutes2019-08-20
  6. "Great labs and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gladstone Institutes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for those looking into grad school and interested in biomedical research.

    Cons

    Slow moving, low pay but that is expected with research

    Gladstone Institutes2019-08-21
  7. "Great place for career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gladstone Institutes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture and very collaborative environment. People are very supportive and willing to talk.

    Cons

    Salary is considerably lower than what a for-profit company would pay

    Gladstone Institutes2019-05-31
  8. "Great place for Science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate I in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Gladstone Institutes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    12 Holidays + 15 days vacation, Great place for advancement, Amazing people, Great Benefits-Health, Vision, Dental, Commuter Benefits

    Cons

    Parking and traffic in mission bay

    Gladstone Institutes2019-04-23
  9. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Associate I 

    I worked at Gladstone Institutes full-time

    Pros

    Great Scientific Research happening at Gladstone

    Cons

    the pay might be less than average

    Gladstone Institutes2019-02-23
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gladstone Institutes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice company to work for

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Gladstone Institutes2019-02-07
Found 79 reviews