Glamour Magazine Reviews | Glassdoor

Glamour Magazine Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Glamour Magazine part-time

    Pros

    This place has a relaxed and friendly environment and the employees are all helpful and kind.

    Cons

    I feel there are no cons besides travel

    Glamour Magazine2017-09-22
  2. "Typical Conde Nast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Glamour Magazine full-time

    Pros

    A tiny bit of prestige

    Cons

    Typical of Conde Nast -- evading overtime pay, cutting or not offering benefits, ridiculously overpaid upper management and everyone else barely able to afford the subway ride into work. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

    Glamour Magazine2018-08-16
  3. "Supportive environement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Glamour Magazine

      Pros

      Lots of feedback, everyone was really nice

      Cons

      People leaving all the time

      Glamour Magazine2017-10-25
    • "Cons outweigh Pros"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Full Time Freelance Assistant in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Glamour Magazine full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - foot in the door - people are generally nice

      Cons

      - pay is horrendous - people at the bottom not allotted much work life balance

      Advice to Management

      pay people who are full-time better- they're not interns

      Glamour Magazine2017-01-31
    • "Team Oriented and Wonderful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
      Recommends

      I worked at Glamour Magazine

      Pros

      Great leadership in fashion closet, though the intern supervisor has now moved on. Great on-set experience.

      Cons

      Very competitive, but the friends I made there are for life

      Glamour Magazine2016-05-27
    • "Great Experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Glamour Magazine full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team, wonderful content being produced

      Cons

      Limited opportunity for upward mobility

      Advice to Management

      Print and digital should work more closely

      Glamour Magazine2016-04-02
    • "Classic Intern Interview"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Glamour Magazine

        Pros

        Great networking experience for new fashion obsessed students

        Cons

        Received class credit rather than hourly pay

        Glamour Magazine2016-02-20
      • "Great job, great company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Journalist in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Glamour Magazine full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great culture, fun, dedicated staff. EIC has a great vision and an enthusiastic energy. Fun location and great energy.

        Cons

        Really none I can think of. It was one of the best places I've ever worked.

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing what you are doing

        Glamour Magazine2016-01-31
      • "Mixed Bag"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Fashion Assistant in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Glamour Magazine full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        -Friendly work environment, beautiful offices, great location. Expected to dress well (fashion magazine!) but no super strict dress code. Decent vacation days/time as well.

        Cons

        -tight budget as of late, lower pay, often long hours--the work is not very intellectually stimulating, but if you're looking for pretty easy work, it would probably work for you.

        Advice to Management

        -Not super grateful to all people on staff--the importance of the ones that make things work! And the pay is just ghastly for the lower level employees. Not sure who could change that but pretty unfortunate..

        Glamour Magazine2015-12-29
      • "fear of excellence"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Glamour Magazine

        Pros

        pros--good benefits was once well-paying but like most of Conde Nast, they have gotten rid of expensive people and hired new people at lower wages. Glamour name still has prestige and you can occasionally do work you are proud of.

        Cons

        Rcist staff members. Timid editorial pov that hasn't caught up with the real world, The executive editor is a great mentor to young employees but undermines and is threatened by anyone directly under her.

        Advice to Management

        Get out into the real world and realize not everyone is an uptight white lady. Live a little and listen to the smart people around you. Admit when there are problems and work on them.

        Glamour Magazine2015-06-14
      Found 15 reviews