Glamour Shots Reviews | Glassdoor

Glamour Shots Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Jack E Counts Jr
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Single photographer, 1 client every 2 hours so you’re not rushed(in 5 reviews)

  • "The other photographer and makeup artist are really nice(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay hard to make enough to live off of(in 6 reviews)

  • "Long hours; did most of work and received very little commission(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "executive vice president"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glamour Shots full-time

    Pros

    very enjoyable and everyone is very friendly

    Cons

    i don't have any cons

    Glamour Shots2017-08-20
  2. "Don't believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist/Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glamour Shots full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Usually a fun environment. Great place to get some experience and then move on...and never look back.

    Cons

    Don't by the dream about the commissions as a photog/makeup artist...and if you ever venture into management, do so at your own risk. They practically hand you a block of stinky cheese and ask you for the moon in return.

    Glamour Shots2019-06-12
  3. "Fun while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glamour Shots full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money, team, customers were awesome

    Cons

    Hours were long and on call 24/7

    Glamour Shots2019-04-12
  4. "Great creative space to learn photography."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Glamour Shots full-time

      Pros

      Single photographer, 1 client every 2 hours so you’re not rushed

      Cons

      Hourly pay, no commission, no tips

      Advice to Management

      Pay your employees more

      Glamour Shots2018-10-09
    • "Solid Company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Glamour Shots full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Loved the ladies I worked with, Atmosphere was great. Customers were always fun to be around.

      Cons

      Management had moments of being cantankerous.

      Glamour Shots2018-04-18
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Glamour Shots full-time

      Pros

      Learned tons about retail management.

      Cons

      Long hours, few lunch breaks

      Glamour Shots2017-12-08
    • "Meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Photographer in Chesterfield, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Glamour Shots for more than a year

      Pros

      Good place to start as a photographer.

      Cons

      Low base pay and commission based. You've got to hustle just to break even.

      Advice to Management

      Find a higher class of client. Update wardrobe.

      Glamour Shots2017-05-28
    • "art director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Glamour Shots full-time

        Pros

        being in the field

        Cons

        Pay is hourly and days are long sometimes

        Advice to Management

        Pay your artist !

        Glamour Shots2017-03-26
      • Helpful (1)

        "Makeup Artist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chesapeake, VA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Glamour Shots part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        You get to work with makeup, if that's a passion of yours.

        Cons

        Pay isn't up to par. It's $7 an hour or commission which ever is greater. The 2 women I worked with were whispering about a clients child while she was standing no more than 3 feet away. The photographer was always in a bad mood. They expected you to kill yourself to make a decent income. The product were dried up and hard to use so I had to bring my own kit from home.

        Advice to Management

        Be better to your employees! I've always wanted to work at Glamour Shots. It's a household name. But I was super disappointed.

        Glamour Shots2017-03-09
      • "Good marketing model, but..."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Glamour Shots full-time

        Pros

        They know how to get you in to take pictures by offering great deals $39 for family w free 10x13

        Cons

        The pressure sales were uncomfortable to watch. Didn't stay long.

        Glamour Shots2017-01-20
      Found 52 reviews