Glatfelter Insurance Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Glatfelter Insurance Group Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Glatfelter Insurance Group CEO Anthony P. Campisi (no image)
Anthony P. Campisi
9 Ratings
  1. "Education Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of VFIS Training Programs in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glatfelter Insurance Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to truly make a difference in the Emergency Services Industry

    Cons

    Current location requires a long commute.

    Advice to Management

    Reserved for internal improvement

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2017-05-17
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Leader, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glatfelter Insurance Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and nice employees

    Cons

    Salary and a little boring at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep the interns more involved but overall very good.

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2019-03-25
  3. "The Agency has top notch tools but not the best managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Glatfelter Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits before being acquired by AIG

    Cons

    Management is not on par with other Agency's

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2018-12-03
  4. "Pretty good internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing in York, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glatfelter Insurance Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, pleasant coworkers, lots of opportunities to learn about business

    Cons

    Inconsistent work; some days there was nothing to do and some days it was overwhelming

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2018-10-23
  5. "Great benefits but management is lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing in York, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glatfelter Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, company culture, employees, growth

    Cons

    Base pay, poor management, lack of diversity

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2018-08-22
  6. "A good company with excellent benefits and pay for the area. Very formal dress required."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in York, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glatfelter Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profit sharing and excellent retirement program. On site gym and personal trainers. On site bistro and quarterly company functions.

    Cons

    Very formal dress required, very unbending work hours. Not a competitive pay in the relm of insurance.

    Advice to Management

    More accommodating work hours and more transparency would be of the greatest benefit.

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2018-02-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits...if you are older and not single"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glatfelter Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    Some of the managers are attempting to change the stiffness of the company.

    Cons

    Everyone says it's like a family there, but it isn't. Leadership doesn't communicate their plans with themselves, let alone with the rest of the company and all the associates feel the backlash of it. This company is extremely resistant to change and is extremely old school. Women, fairly recently, were allowed to wear pants and weren't required to wear pantyhose. The "dress code" is completely subjected and there... are numerous associates that spend most of their days tattling on others about an ankle bone showing or someone not wearing a jacket. As a professional, it is extremely difficult to do my job when there are so many hoops to jump through and road blocks to overcome. I've literally had people say to me, "We aren't going to change because this is the way we have always done it." It's 2018. Time to grow and evolve. The benefits are great for families or older people, but the salaries are lower because of the "great benefits." So, those with college debt may have some trouble making ends meet, especially with an entry level position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As an ESOP company, the associate's retirement depends upon it doing well. However, it is not being innovative enough and it's pricing/application process is not the best. This will turn more clients away in our digital, fast-paced world. There needs to be an evolution of the entire company culture.

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2018-02-02
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Glatfelter Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    Great culture with excellent benefits

    Cons

    Claims Departments like to micromanage

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2017-09-05
  9. "Above Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glatfelter Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are above average, and the amenities are a nice bonus. The people are all mostly friendly.

    Cons

    Very old-fashioned in attire and work schedule. Not very flexible in that regard.

    Advice to Management

    Explore things like business casual Fridays and increased teleworking.

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2017-05-02
  10. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Marketing Intern in York, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Glatfelter Insurance Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, relaxed work environment, great knowledge of the insurance industry, invited on appointments with producers, networking opportunities.

    Cons

    Not very meaningful work, either super slow or very busy, poor communication across team members with different objectives

    Advice to Management

    I understand that more clients and growth while retaining the number of claims is the end goal, but there seems to be no officewide communication of both individual and team objectives. Everyone operates in their own silo.

    Glatfelter Insurance Group2016-12-02
Found 19 reviews