GlaxoSmithKline Associate Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Associate Scientist

GlaxoSmithKline Associate Scientist Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "IT company that sells drugs..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, excellent benefits, the people I worked with were great!!! I'd like to go back...

    Cons

    I would have given 5 stars except there is ALWAYS the threat of layoffs. Andrew Witty took over, he got on stage and bragged about how good a job we had done, how good a shape the company was in, how much cash the company had available. Then a week later he announced 5,000 jobcuts. You guessed it, my "position was eliminated".

    Advice to Management

    No company ever cost-cut its way to good R&D.

    GlaxoSmithKline2012-12-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Valuable, satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Scientist in Collegeville, PA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    Really Nice enviroment to work with

    Cons

    They dont offer a permanant positions to a contractors...

    GlaxoSmithKline2012-04-27
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Constant Change Creates Confusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Scientist in Collegeville, PA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere that promotes camaraderie

    Cons

    No clear path for career advancement. No introductory training in company operations specific to the laboratory. Frequently changed course and reshuffled staff and managers which stunted bench scientists growth and development.

    GlaxoSmithKline2011-01-27
  5. "Exciting science, need to ensure workload is balanced within the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, excited science going on. Everyone driven by their passion to bring exciting medicines to market.

    Cons

    Senior members of team frequently leave junior staff to pick up work that they leave undone.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-09-08
  6. "First graduate job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Associate Scientist in Harlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience. Excellent perks. Fantastic people that are willing to knowledge share and invest time.

    Cons

    Slow progression. Few permanent job opportunities.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-04
  7. "I worked for a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Associate Scientist in Stevenage, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, you can come in to work at a time that suits you. As long as you work 7.5 hours a day. Team work is great. People are friendly. Good place to learn a lot of skills

    Cons

    You often get overworked. Contract didn’t get extended. Did not feel appreciated because of that reason and did not get a permanent job.But it is a good place for permanent staff.

    Advice to Management

    Definitely need more people in the team

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-20
  8. "Loved working for GSK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Scientist in Ware, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    So great to be apart of a company that can improve the lives of other people in the world.

    Cons

    Experienced department re structure while working here.

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-09-14
  9. "Love this company's ethos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team spirit (in the labs with other scientists and outside of the labs with management), great benefits, opportunity to grow, fantastic work/life balance (on-site sports, team days out etc.). Recognition of staff when they do something good (nomination system with monetary awards). Work was interesting and fun and I felt supported in my role. Good pay.

    Cons

    The GSK site I worked on got shut down very suddenly and major redundancies came into effect. Remaining staff were moved to a bigger site where the team wasn't so tight-knit. At least full-time staff were offered other jobs I guess.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great team spirit, recognition of good performance, and work/life balance. But be real about where the company is going and what job security is really like.

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-03-07
  10. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Associate Scientist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, can be challenging work, occasional conference attendance depending on role, flexibility to be involved in different projects. Management open to staff movement between different roles if qualified/suitable for the position. Development of staff is a priority. Sometimes flexible with work arrangements though needs to be legitimate reason.

    Cons

    There are dips and troughs in the hard work and sometimes it is very hectic. There is overtime, red tape is notable.

    Advice to Management

    better staffing to reduce overtime

    GlaxoSmithKline2015-12-30
  11. "Contractor at GSK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Associate Scientist in Ware, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary, Great People, Great Facilities, Good working hours, Reputable company, Diversity, Great Location, I am not overworked, Social Events

    Cons

    No Benefits, No holiday pay, No pension, No career opportunities due to contract position, the position will never become permanent, employed through agency

    GlaxoSmithKline2015-07-20
Found 23 reviews