GlaxoSmithKline Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern

GlaxoSmithKline Intern Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
14 Ratings
  1. "Amazing and welcoming enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    Open concept workspace facilitating collaborations

    Cons

    Can't think of any besides the traffic in the area

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-05-03
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, nice people

    Cons

    No real issues to talk about

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-02-25
  3. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Missoula, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, dedicated and smart people, taking pride at work, saving life.

    Cons

    Small city, lots of training

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-06-03
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing managers - Easy-going senior management - Innovative work enviroment

    Cons

    - expectations of intern can be vague

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-02-02
  5. "Great experience, learned over a broad amount of fields"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    -able to grow -able to develop leadership -worked reasonable hours -was allowed to choose projects that interested me

    Cons

    -significant amount of downtime which I wasn't used to -would have liked a return offer immediately instead of waiting until April

    Advice to Management

    Could do with a bit more formal program but was great overall!

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-12-06
  6. "Reasonable Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    * Well established and well directed internship program. * Quality Internship projects within one's area of expertise. * Helpful, intelligent, friendly, and qualified intern project leadership & employees.

    Cons

    * Company leadership decided to downsize the departments and staff during my summer internship. This resulted in being housed in a wing of the building that was only 5-8% occupied. This also resulted in being around many sad & upset individuals. My direct boss and most of the team I was involved with maintained their jobs - but I could tell they were upset seeing many of their colleagues lose their job. I could... see they were also very concerned about their own job security. Because of the job security issue and the way management addressed the downsize, I did not pursue a job with GSK after I graduated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Insulate summer interns from company downsizing to maximize likelihood of their return post graduation.

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-10-16
  7. "Not a bad experience for interns!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    The building is really nice and there are a lot of free perks

    Cons

    Very corporate, lots of change all the time. Experience depends on business area however

    Advice to Management

    Not all interns get as involved as they would like to

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-12-19
  8. "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    cooperative, well paying, good benefits

    Cons

    strict company policies, no visa

    Advice to Management

    great job, no advise

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-08-31
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    A very good experience to get a feel of the industry, lots of opportunities to learn new techniques and understand the consumer healthcare world.

    Cons

    Interns are restricted in their work. They should be allowed to attend more meetings to understand the broader perspective.

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-07-12
  10. "Hardworking group to learn from"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    One of my better internship experiences; the group I worked with was hardworking and really worked well together, which was a great way to gain mentorship and learn how to properly lead and motivate a group.

    Cons

    When they know you are an intern, it can be hard to take on responsibilities for things that will take you longer than you work there for to get proficient at.

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-06-02
Found 80 reviews