GlaxoSmithKline Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

GlaxoSmithKline Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 518 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
120 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding salary & benefits, progressive organization where you can pilot new ideas, strong values and career development opportunities.

    Cons

    Work-life balance could be better.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-24
  2. "Global Multi Channel Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Operations Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice boss Great culture Comfortable working environment Good work life balance

    Cons

    Food is not free :( But menu updated every single week

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-09-19
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    good Benefits, good opportunity to move into different positions

    Cons

    no cons noted at this time

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-09-11
  4. "Great firm, caring people, solid products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    GSK is a great place to work. The work-life balance is great, and most of the people truly care about each other. Friendly atmosphere within a highly mission driven organization

    Cons

    Because of size, decision making tends to take a long time. Need more diversity in C-suite level management

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-22
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Contract Finance Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Maternity leave. Time Off during Christmas

    Cons

    I really can't think of any

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-15
  6. "Get a job at another pharma company. Avoid this one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to fill in a certain number of words. Think I met it now.

    Cons

    Wow, where do I begin? Shady managers, no training, treated like crap, belittled, humiliated, extreme favoritism for certain employees. There’s not enough money to put up with this b.s.

    Advice to Management

    Teach your employees to do their job and empower them so that you don’t have to micromanage.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-18

    GlaxoSmithKline Response

    August 21, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We really value our employee’s feedback and it’s important that our employees feel supported. We are focused on creating a safe and inclusive workplace where everyone at GSK can feel able and inspired to realize their ...

    Show More
  7. "Mediocre salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. UK driven leadership.

    Cons

    Lower compensation compared to other big pharma companies

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-13
  8. "good work life balance, no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    growth is good if in marketing, and good work/life balance, good benefits

    Cons

    no growth outside marketing, senior leaders not strong

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-06-13
  9. "Great pay and benefits, Shrinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior District Manager in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, challenging work

    Cons

    Constant shifts in strategy and management. Layoffs almost every year for last 10 years i was there.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-06-06
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Manager in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and values, great compensation, best HR team and structure/resources.

    Cons

    I would say high volatility and restructuring quite often (every year), very difficult to envision for mid term professional growth.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-06-20
Found 518 reviews