GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceutical Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
6 Ratings
  1. "Senior Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Pharmaceutical Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits. I represented drugs that truly made a difference in patient outcomes, and therefore it was easy to passionate about my job. Great manager. Training was not easy. However, I was last employed 13 years ago. GD doesn't offer ability to note that above. Before being hired, I was given a pharmacology book on a Friday, and had to take a 100 question multiple choice test the following... Monday - before I was hired. I then had a month of home study for each product, each month being followed by a trip to Orlando to take a test. All of that was followed by 3 weeks of intense sales training in the home office. I hear the training is not as intense any longer, that there may be a few trips to home office for a period of a few days at a time. Some of it is done online now. I would love to return to GSK!

    Show More

    Cons

    My only real complaint is that I was due an earned promotion before I went out on maternity leave. I was told they'd just process it while I was out. Turns out I had a child born with a birth defect, and was unable to return at that time. So now my resume doesn't reflect that promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hold out on promotions that have been earned!! Otherwise, I really did love everything about working for GSK!

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-07-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away from GSK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Executive Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall decent benefits, which includes health, dental insurance, life insurance, disability and salary.

    Cons

    When you turn 50 years old at GSK, the main objective from management is to harass you and discriminate against you.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t have any advice for management because they don’t care to keep their most tenured and experienced sales representatives. Your are destroying a company that once upon a time, sales representatives aspired to work for Glaxo.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-20

    GlaxoSmithKline Response

    August 21, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide details regarding your experience. GSK reaffirms its commitment to equal employment opportunity and non-discrimination for all employees and applicants for employment without regard to race, color, ethnicity, religion, creed, gender, national ...

    Show More
  3. "Pharmaceutical sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good medical benefits Good retirement benefits

    Cons

    Struggling pipeline of products No clear vision for the future Leadership insufficiencies

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-01-07
  4. Helpful (3)

    "exec sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    well positioned products with good formulary coverage

    Cons

    not paid directly for performance

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-09-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Senior pharmaceutical rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in Scranton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing. Your coworkers become family

    Cons

    If you have a problem with your manager they will take their side anytime even though they have evidence that they are wrong you are disposable

    Advice to Management

    When a rep tells you that their manager has behaved inappropriately please believe them

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-12-16
  6. "Pharmaceutical Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great products and great benefits. The people that work for GSK are very willing to help you when you are interested in developing and growing your career.

    Cons

    Very demanding schedule, not much work life balance. Lots of changes in strategy so territory and customers are always changing.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your sales people for strategy ideas, they are in front of the customer everyday

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-12-08
  7. "Great company to work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits ,salary ,many career opportunities.

    Cons

    no real cons. Overall having a great experience working for GSK

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-10-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "One of the most inovative employers ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in Layton, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work with the brightest minds and the most compassionate people in combination with the amazing people that serve in the medical field. There were always new opportunities to educate and help providers give the best care and medications possible. We really saved lives everyday!

    Cons

    Unfortuntely the increased demand for lower cost health care and the push to use more and more generics has limted the access to providers that were once open to the latest information. It is now filtered through various medical formularies that take from the physician the "art of practicing medicine". These are among the greatest minds ever on the earth and they have to limit their gift to fit in an ever... shrinking box of managed care rules and regulations. Society as a whole suffers this great loss!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Never forget that the feet on the street are your greatest tool. They need to be enpowered to change the medical world and break open the possibilities that modern medicine can provide. Yes there is a need to stay profitable but perhaps a combined effort including the entire medical community striving to make health care a win for everyone who cares to place people first and profit second.

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-08-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be great, but culture has soured and morale is low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Pharmaceutical Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most of my co-workers were top-notch

    Cons

    Tout an environment of transparency, but are rarely transparent. Benefits were starting to slide the last few years and new policies have been implemented to penny and dime employees on expense reports (For example: We were not allowed to expense a coffee at the airport when traveling to a company meeting. Also not allowed to expense lunch on a day we travelled to a meeting bc one was served at the hotel even though... our flight was such that we didn't arrive until AFTER the lunch buffet closed. We are expected to have wifi at home, but company decided it would no longer contribute.) Little to no opportunity to advance as last two Primary Care reorganizations have involved manager layoffs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Needs to be a major house cleaning in terms of middle management...from the FLLs all the way up. The truly gifted leaders that people want to work for, who are inspiring, transparent, vulnerable and real, are few and far between (as opposed to in years past when GSK had many of them!!) and the majority of the current leadership team has either proven to be untrustworthy or gives the impression that they are... untrustworthy. They do not walk the walk and mean and do what they say they will. Very disappointing.

    Show More
    GlaxoSmithKline2017-06-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pharmaceutical Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, some great colleagues, flexible schedule when necessary, continual training, great benefits package, decent customer spending account, territory size was manageable

    Cons

    Unnecessary stress, lots of box checking, performance review all based on manger's opinions not sales, unrealistic sales expectations, many no-see docs that are expected to be called on

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-05-18
Found 79 reviews