GlaxoSmithKline Reviews in Philadelphia, PA | Glassdoor

GlaxoSmithKline Philadelphia Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 273 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
28 Ratings
  1. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Data Analytics Intern in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment, helpful colleagues, as an intern can build network which might be useful down the lane

    Cons

    Not that I am aware of

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-03-28
  2. "Software Engineer at GSK US Offices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, flexible, organized team environment

    Cons

    Can be slow paced with lots of moving parts

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-09-20
  3. "Global Multi Channel Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Operations Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice boss Great culture Comfortable working environment Good work life balance

    Cons

    Food is not free :( But menu updated every single week

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-09-19
  4. "Dedicated to the Patient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - P2P Analyst in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People, Great Salary and benefits

    Cons

    Constantly looking to outsource positions

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2019-09-16
  5. "I enjoy working for GSK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in Collegeville, PA

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture and the benefits

    Cons

    very flat ladder with not many opportunities to move up

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-24
  6. "Great firm, caring people, solid products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    GSK is a great place to work. The work-life balance is great, and most of the people truly care about each other. Friendly atmosphere within a highly mission driven organization

    Cons

    Because of size, decision making tends to take a long time. Need more diversity in C-suite level management

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-22
  7. "GSK - An Employer of Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruiter in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Great culture Lots of opportunity Diversity and Inclusion Strong pipeline of cancer therapies

    Cons

    Decision making can be slow at times, but that is due to a culture of collaboration. For example, gaining buy-in and consensus across matrix teams.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "GSK FLP Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSK FLP Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large, global company. Friendly co-workers. Very nice facilities and large open office spaces.

    Cons

    No focus on development, and failure WILL NOT be tolerated. Many FLP's are still in the same pay grade they were five years ago. Many FLP's are treated like pesudo-interns by their coworkers. GSK actively asks FLP's to promote the FLP program across social media and also flags negative reviews on glassdoor.

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-31
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investigator in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits/ Good training opportunities/ Good advancement opportunities

    Cons

    -Lots of politics -Management not transparent

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-17
  10. "Get a job at another pharma company. Avoid this one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to fill in a certain number of words. Think I met it now.

    Cons

    Wow, where do I begin? Shady managers, no training, treated like crap, belittled, humiliated, extreme favoritism for certain employees. There’s not enough money to put up with this b.s.

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-18

    GlaxoSmithKline Response

    August 21, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We really value our employee’s feedback and it’s important that our employees feel supported. We are focused on creating a safe and inclusive workplace where everyone at GSK can feel able and inspired to realize their potential. We take your feedback seriously and encourage you to contact us via our Speak Up channel at https://gsk.i-sight.com/landing-page/ to provide more specific information so that we may look further into the concerns that you have expressed.

    Continue reading
Found 273 reviews