GlaxoSmithKline Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

GlaxoSmithKline Project Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
14 Ratings
  1. "Respect for People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great brands, highly intelligent people, and really good work life balance. I have never seen another company with almost 100,000 people that respects each employee as much as GSK. I am sure not everyone in the company would agree, but for the most part GSK treats employees with respect. I do wish pay was a little more. For how intelligent people are I think we deserve to be paid a little more. I love the direction... of getting back into Oncology, that where we need to compete.

    Show More

    Cons

    Few, but changes happen quite often. Stick to a strategy and see it through. Lowish pay

    Advice to Management

    Stick to one strategy and keep with it. Open doors to more diversity in executive management, lots of diversity in the managerial positions but as you keep going higher there are fewer diverse senior executives.

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-09-24
  2. "Get a job at another pharma company. Avoid this one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to fill in a certain number of words. Think I met it now.

    Cons

    Wow, where do I begin? Shady managers, no training, treated like crap, belittled, humiliated, extreme favoritism for certain employees. There’s not enough money to put up with this b.s.

    Advice to Management

    Teach your employees to do their job and empower them so that you don’t have to micromanage.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-18

    GlaxoSmithKline Response

    August 21, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We really value our employee’s feedback and it’s important that our employees feel supported. We are focused on creating a safe and inclusive workplace where everyone at GSK can feel able and inspired to realize their ...

    Show More
  3. "good work life balance, no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    growth is good if in marketing, and good work/life balance, good benefits

    Cons

    no growth outside marketing, senior leaders not strong

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-06-13
  4. "A good company to work for that is moving towards Digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    People, work environment, training, core values

    Cons

    Slow to make decisions, difficult to use systems.

    Advice to Management

    As you make changes, ensure critical efforts and services are maintained.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-04
  5. Helpful (8)

    "GSK is a Great SHORT Term employment opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Project Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits and Work Life Balance. Great People You will learn a lot about the details of Pharma industry.

    Cons

    You will be temporary. Your personal life will be on hold while you await to see if you dodged the latest reorganization. You will never know when your time will be up. GSK has a fully staffed HR Severance division. It runs like clockwork and well tested. They have a displaced employee outsourcing company on retainer! No one works in the US for 10 years at GSK anymore. Keep your resume ready.

    Advice to Management

    You can not build a good culture when everyone is scared for their job during the yearly reorganization.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-03-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good solid job, development could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Warren, NJ

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great pay and benefits, strong 401k program, a lot of flexibility in working from home

    Cons

    a strong "managing up" mentality, difficult processes that are different throughout functions making it hard to get things done, want to be a fast moving company yet have very slow processes to get things done

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-03-01
  7. "Great dynamic end fast pace environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Project Manager in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding benefits and great learning place. Fast pace environment. Possibility of getting exposure to different cultures. Attention to promote employee personal/professional growth.

    Cons

    Decentralized RDC: some of the central functions are not collocates. This can sometimes have negative impact on the pace of the projects.

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-09-06
  8. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Promotes Inclusion and Diversity and invests in people

    Cons

    Big company, complicated to navigate, systems and processes

    Advice to Management

    Simplify

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-04-30
  9. "Proud we live our values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    We live our values and make great efforts on Inclusion of Diversity.

    Cons

    This is still work to be done to improve on inclusion and diversity

    Advice to Management

    See Diversity and Inclusion efforts as valuable part of the way we connect and do business

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-09-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    Values based decision making... Trying to promote diversity... Good benefits but poor base pay...

    Cons

    Old timers occupy senior management positions. Therefore no room for growth for middle managers. Also, too many white women at the top in the name of diversity...

    Advice to Management

    There is a lot of talent in the company. Recognize talent and promote from within. Always prefer substance over style.

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-05-30
Found 69 reviews