Glazer's Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Glazer's President & CEO Shelly Stein
Shelly Stein
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great group of people to work with good benefits good hours(in 27 reviews)

  • "Was family oriented not to small or big and great benefits(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, lack of direction for superiors(in 17 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance can be challenging in off premise grocery routes(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best

      Aug 7, 2019 - On-Premise Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits sales days off all

      Cons

      None any, none none none none

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Pre-Southern Glazer's Merger

      Sep 16, 2019 - Marketing Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredibly nice people Excellent benefits Decent pay

      Cons

      Can be ridiculously political and long-timers egos can be a stumbling block. Highly-siloed due to the structure of sales divisions Vendors have an over-abundance of say in how the company makes purchasing decisions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company!

      Oct 18, 2019 - Inside Sales Account Manager in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company was family owned and they treated employees as family members-without compromising expectations. I, along with others enjoyed getting up , going to work and contributing.

      Cons

      The company was sold and our department moved out of state.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Helpful Management

      Sep 4, 2019 - Sales Representative in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management was always willing to help in any way.

      Cons

      Unrealistic sales quotas each month.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was my start in the industry, went on to make a career of it.

      Jun 30, 2019 - On-Premise Sales Representative in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, sometimes fun, sometimes inappropriate

      Cons

      Some of your coworkers don't treat the position in a professional way

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Representative

      Jan 1, 2016 - Off Premise Sales Representative in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits (401k, vacation, car allowance, medical, etc), FAMILY culture, still a family owned and operated company, very big on promoting within. Flexible schedule as far as start and stop time is concerned. You can begin work as early as 6 am or as late as 8 am or even 9 on some days depending on your agenda for that day. I don't have to punch a clock and be in the same place all day every day. I love that!

      Cons

      Work/life balance can be challenging in off premise grocery routes. You typically work 6-7 days per week. Although not full work days on the weekends, you still have to get out in the market and not be able to ever fully enjoy a weekend.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Love the people, not the pay

      Aug 23, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really love the people I work with. Some have become close friends of mine. Sometimes I think about searching for another job that pays more, but I think about how much I would miss my co-workers. The company offers amazing benefits so no complaints there. We have fun company events and great prizes that are given away.

      Cons

      The pay is my biggest complaint. Our warehouse team received a $4/hr pay increase when the "oil boom" hit town and the rest of the staff did not get a dime. Our expenses rose also!! Annual raises are a bit comical... 3% is the highest you can attain (which requires almost perfect marks on your yearly review), which for most means about 20-30 cents. I find that a little insulting. We are always told they are "looking into it" when anyone mentions higher pay raises. I have seen many employees leave to go to other local companies doing the same thing for much more money.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It was not a positive environment to be in because of my supervisor.

      Apr 7, 2011 - Summer Intern in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The industry is a great place to work in, the management runs a tight ship, and they really focus on the relationships with the customers, not just unloading products. People for the most part really do care about the youth in the company, it is not common to be able to meet the president and be able to spend time with upper executives of the company. Because it is family owned, they have a personal stake and pride embedded in the company. Overall a solid company.

      Cons

      The internship program needs to be revisited, I believe in positive reinforcement and constructive criticism, not the berating of workers. We were paid well, but treated poorly by supervisors. I also think that doing wine resets every day did not further my wine knowledge, sales competency, or corporate development.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good job bad career

      May 8, 2016 - Caseline Lead, Material Handler, Production Assistant, Order Picker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, positive workplace, decent pay, awesome benefits, driver training, safety is enforced, best job security

      Cons

      Very, VERY heavy workload since the merge and not enough people, calloffs left and right, very physically demanding, management is too lenient, policies not enforced, safety is disregarded when third shift starts, workers talk all shift and let the workload fall off on the few superstars of the workplace, absolutely no room for advancement unless you want to be a driver, the pay is not adequate to the number of things you're trained to do, very fast pace is needed to keep up (voice to pick average of 230-300 40lb cases per hour), lazy workers, overall not a great place to work after you learn how things are done but the people there all know eachother.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Representative

      Jun 13, 2016 - Sales Representative in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When it's not the holidays you tend to work shorter days. You get to sell and learn about wine and spirits. Good first job out of college.

      Cons

      Underpaid. Our competitor gets paid 30k to 40k more than we do. The managers micromanage everything. Worst micromanagement I've ever seen. You'll have to send daily reports on what you're doing out in the market. It's like homework. Working 6 days a week can become a beat down. Especially since we don't get off for holidays. You only get off Christmas day, Thanksgiving day and New Years day. But the day before those holidays you will work until 8pm. Very cut throat. You're supposed to work with your sales partner but management will tell you to steal sales from them. On end of month your managers will call and text you until 9 to 10pm. You're not off on end of month until they say so. If you don't brown nose the right people then they'll forget about you. You'll get stuck in you're route or won't be considered for any upward movement. When suppliers come in town you'll work very late. There will be about 2 days where you're working 7am to 12am (sometimes 2am). Their PFP pay system is terrible. It's not commission like the competition is. You'll sell a ton of some brands, but if you don't sell the specific brands they want you won't get paid.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 237 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Glazer's Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Off Premise Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Representative On Premise
    Learn About the Job
    On-Premise Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Off Premise Liquor Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Glazer's? Share Your Experiences

    Glazer's logo
    or