Glencore Reviews | Glassdoor

Glencore Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 184 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Glencore CEO Ivan Glasenberg
Ivan Glasenberg
77 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Glencore full-time

      Pros

      Great company with great people willing to combine efforts for best results

      Cons

      Need to cut out old school culture

      Glencore2019-04-29
    • "Working at Glencore"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Glencore full-time

      Pros

      Knowledgeable colleagues to work with.

      Cons

      No training or career path... could seem like a dead end job sometimes Also the last time I got a pay raise was never.

      Advice to Management

      Trust the guys on the ground.

      Glencore2019-04-28
    • "EHM"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Glencore full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Good roster

        Cons

        Depends on who you are or if you no the boss or related to someone is on how you get the job and how much you get paid. This is what happened just this month. They advertise of a job DIDO, or local, the person who got the one of the jobs got FIFO (bosses mate) add stated otherwise. The other job was given to a new person, not local, but still got allowance to live in town, (someone high up son) the other person, who...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        You need to look into the process. It’s people’s lives you are messing with. It’s a boys club for the mangers and superintendents. People just want to treated fair, one rule for everyone.

        Glencore2019-04-24
      • "European style company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beijing, Beijing
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Glencore full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        European style company, only five work days regardless to Government holiday calendar plus Easter and Xmas holidays per Europe calendar.

        Cons

        Majority Chinese coworkers hence little practice in English unless talk to Swiss HQ Flat career path

        Advice to Management

        Not common although there are regular secondment employees to Swiss HQ for different metal team members

        Glencore2019-04-22
      • "Great Team"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

          I have been working at Glencore full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Flat structure with plenty of opportunities to demonstrate your value and be rewarded for it.

          Cons

          Long hours are the norm and expected

          Glencore2019-04-20
        • "So far Glencore is my most active, work life-balance employer."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Team Leader in Singapore
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Glencore full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Good working environment, flexible in terms of work / leave hours.

          Cons

          Though they are generous for annual bonus, the increase is very limited as well as the role growth.

          Glencore2019-04-11
        • "Student Engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Student Engineer in Timmins, ON
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Glencore full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Good benefits, good pay. Well-balanced life and work.

          Cons

          None I can think of

          Glencore2019-04-10
        • "Risk"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Risk Analyst 

          I have been working at Glencore full-time

          Pros

          Good Benefits and flat structure in the company

          Cons

          No real cons, long hours but this is expected in the markets

          Glencore2019-04-05
        • "Trade accountant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Trade Accountant in Baar, Zug
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Glencore full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Bonus, lunch card, sports over lunch.

          Cons

          Location; lack of feedback culture.

          Glencore2019-04-04
        • "Overall positive and straighforward"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Supply Chain Manager 
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Glencore full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Global organisation, tested recruiting policy

          Cons

          Industry veteran not spending enough time informing prospective colleagues

          Glencore2019-04-03
        Found 184 reviews