Glispa Reviews | Glassdoor

Glispa Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Itamar Benedy
19 Ratings
  1. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Glispa full-time

    Pros

    friendly colleages, nice location, international

    Cons

    pressure at work, not clear tasks

    Glispa2018-10-07
  2. "Hard to describe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glispa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good people, international , good place to learn the industry

    Cons

    lack of direction, leadership and vision

    Glispa2018-09-21
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Athens
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glispa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am with the company for almost 2 years. I was working as a software engineer in 3 other companies before this (2 of them startups). This is by far the best working environment I had. Great team and no politics like other places. Flexible hours and WFH is possible as well.

    Cons

    A bit hard to get hired.

    Glispa2018-08-14
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Athens
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Glispa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For associates and juniors is a good place to learn because there are many live projects. Usually improvements come as a microservice so you can really evolve your skills.

    Cons

    They lack a clear vision. A good reflection of pivoting too much is that they fired almost all development in the German office, and the rest flew away. A lot of valuable knowledge went away. Not much space for a Senior, Lead or Junior-wanna-be senior to grow.

    Glispa2018-08-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good days are gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Glispa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People are nice in general Good for foreigners as this company is quite international

      Cons

      It was a cool company maybe, but not anymore. Too high churn rate of employees, employees look for wayouts everyday. Too many lies with clients, partners and even to employees. All recent good comments here are all lies too. They emphasize transparency on business but no transparent at all. Team leads are not experienced at all and management seems to be lost. Too unbalanced workloads between teams. Some team doesn't...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please motivate and promote the right people.

      Glispa2018-07-16
    • Helpful (3)

      "Good times are over"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Glispa full-time

      Pros

      Breakfast Good location Good atmosphere Nice people

      Cons

      No career progression possibilities Structure grew too fast and turn over is crazy. Senior/Directors are pushed outside 0 product

      Glispa2018-04-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Management needs to improve. Awesome IT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Berlin
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Glispa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Extremly good IT team despite a very high turn over rate. Working with modern tech stacks and state of the art equipment. Have alot of own infrastructure and private clouds with a dedicated team, which feels like they run a extremly good own private hosting company inside the group. Very good and motivated engineering leads in tech. Office, parties and team events are awesome. Lot of benefits.

      Cons

      High turn over rate in all departments. Shifts in direction too often. Very often hiring upper management people who shortly after leave the company again. Developers get frustrated by promotion and shift decisions.

      Advice to Management

      Do something to keep your it talent. Promote long and hard working talent and dont place externals as there new management. Value your Teams and give them more freedom. Your promotion decisions drive people off. Half of your VPs in tech are meaningless people and only have the titles because of company aqusitions and work solely for those departments while you have awesome lower management people rot away in there corners...

      Show More
      Glispa2018-03-23
    • "Mixed bag"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Glispa full-time

      Pros

      - Interesting products and a motivated team - Lots of team events - Attempt at concretely tracking employee performance, which meant that reviews were grounded in mutually understood terms - Location good

      Cons

      - Communication between middle management and teams was, in my case, not always smooth - The compensation was on the low end of average - No clear plans for further training/education - No clear paths for advancement

      Glispa2018-03-09

      Glispa Response

      March 12, 2018HR Manager

      Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. Our culture is of the utmost importance to our mission and growth. We remain dedicated to investing in our people and creating an inclusive environment . We'll share this feedback with our internal teams. There is always room ...

      Show More
    • "Good people, young management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Team in Berlin
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Glispa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - You can build your knowledge in the industry. - Very good people and supportive manager if you're lucky to be in a good team. - New HR team is proactive in expanding the benefits for employees. - Able to take charge and make decision in your responsibilities

      Cons

      - Shaky career stability after management change due to fast restructures. - Many good employees have been let go. - Starting to resemble a company where the management team is quick to be promoted and the lower levels have to struggle for promotions.

      Advice to Management

      There are some acquisitions of companies not well thought of and as a result, internal restructures have been common in the past quarters. Trailing behind trends and attempts to jump on the bandwagon late. The management should try to understand what capabilities the company have and the fluctuations in the market before jumping into aiming for unachievable numbers.

      Glispa2018-02-26
    • "Publisher Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Glispa full-time

      Pros

      Positioned well in the industry Challenging work environment The human resource in the company is amazing

      Cons

      Technology is not where it should be comparing to glispa's position in the industry what makes the day to day routine super stressed and intense for the employees

      Glispa2018-02-07

      Glispa Response

      February 21, 2018HR Manager

      Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you are enjoying being part of the team. We do our best to work closely with employees to meet their needs inside & outside of work. While we do the best we can, there is always room for improvement. We continue to maintain an open ...

      Show More
    Found 84 reviews