Global Custom Commerce Reviews

Updated Dec 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Global Custom Commerce CEO Jay Steinfeld
Jay Steinfeld
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "A joyous place, fast pace hard work with a mix of fun and Cake(in 14 reviews)

  • "Since Home Depot buyout, we have been given more projects and opportunities for growth into new business areas(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "When this great place was purchased by The Home Depot it became a place I no longer wanted to be(in 12 reviews)

  • "But **** is a call center guy and has zero product development experience(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Custom Commerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The department and the entire company is an enormous family. We work together when deadlines are approaching or challenges are hard. Management works together and communicates to the team. We get to do more than normal accounting jobs so I am growing and enhancing my skills.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive. The department does not have enough people so the workload is overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-10-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Titanic"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Global Custom Commerce full-time

    Pros

    Food, company events, decent pay

    Cons

    Overabundance of food (most employees are 25-50lbs bigger than when they started, pay isn't competitive, favoritism, everybody is leaving.

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-12-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "lots of drama"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Custom Commerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay is good but not worth the drama involved

    Cons

    so much drama between every department leader. The leaders say they care but it's all just enough to follow compliance and get what they want.

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-12-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It would be an understatement to say they changed my entire life."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Global Custom Commerce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - In depth, one on one mentorship. I was able to talk about any problem that I had - technical, emotional, personal - while feeling not judged and completely safe. - The entire company is a community. I don't think I ever spoke to someone that didn't like coming to work in the morning. Even when things were really tough, a sort of camraderie permeated throughout the entire organization. It's the sort of feeling you get when you're on a team and no matter how far down you fall, you know that someone on it has your back. - The benefits and pay are the best I've ever seen. I've had a short career, but I feel like everyone had their fair shot at doing well. Our Sales teams could make as much as our technical development teams. If anyone fell on hard times, everyone pitched in to help one another. - The culture. No amount of money can buy that sort of commitment. You need leadership that people feel they can depend on. You need people that want to earnestly help one another. That sort of thing is built, not bought. - Huge advancement in technical talent. I was decent when I joined the company - I feel like they turned me into a rock star. A lot of people get this impression that you cannot work for a good company outside of what people consider canonical tech hubs. This company proved to me that they cannot have been more wrong.

    Cons

    Your greatest enemy working here will be yourself. When things get difficult, you will truly have to ask yourself if things aren't going the way you planned because of the company, or because you yourself are resisting your own growth.

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-06-16
  5. "Can Be Better"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Global Custom Commerce full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, cake, cake, cake

    Cons

    No work life/ home balance Work every weekend QA inconsistent

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-06-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Environment but lost vision"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Custom Commerce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Your manager will do everything in their power to help you out where needed and is also very flexible which is awesome. The environment is also nice since you can wear jeans or even shorts if you want to and no-one will complain. There is also no expectations of working over 40 hours a week as long as your able to get your work done

    Cons

    The priorities seems to be all over the place which can make you feel lost at times. The business has more say on features instead of working on technical debt and modernization which really hurts agility and the platform in general.

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-06-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Custom Commerce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, people and ability to change verticals.

    Cons

    Everything is #1 priority!

    Global Custom Commerce2019-05-24
  8. "Amazing place to work. Supportive Leadership Team and Diverse and Inclusive Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Global Custom Commerce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Leaders are very supportive with continual learning. Good ability to move up within the company.

    Cons

    Non come to mind.

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-05-08
  9. "There's potential to make a lot of money and eat a lot of cake but it will cost you"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Global Custom Commerce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They try to create a fun, friendly competitive atmosphere, There is a sense of camaraderie. Office staples include Taco Tuesday, candy bowls on every floor, rely races, lots of food ALL the time, theme days where people dress up in costumes and let lose for a few hours.

    Cons

    Mandatory over time. Having to work tons of extra hours and come in on day off to make numbers. When I worked there there it had a start up vibe. Lots of changes in a short amount of time

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-03-19
  10. "How was it?"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Global Custom Commerce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A joyous place, fast pace hard work with a mix of fun and Cake!

    Cons

    When this great place was purchased by The Home Depot it became a place I no longer wanted to be. The the hard work with fun vanished. It became just hard work. I am not appose to that but what I am appose to is greed. Yes we can all be better, but not by running people for the sake of company greed. Before home depot it was truly self improvement and experiment without fear of failure that made the company great. Now it is just another company.

    Continue reading
    Global Custom Commerce2019-02-10
Found 95 reviews