Global Energy Network Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

Global Energy Network Institute Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great environment to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing and Social Media in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Global Energy Network Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly people.

    Cons

    No cons at Global Energy Network Institute.

    Global Energy Network Institute2017-08-22
  2. "Diverse group of coworkers, a bit unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Global Energy Network Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    Work for a good cause and you get a lot of freedom. You can get experience in various different areas depending on your interests.

    Cons

    Like a lot of nonprofits, the money is sparse. It feels a bit unorganized and not always sure if you are making a difference.

    Global Energy Network Institute2019-03-20
  3. "Volunteer Web Dev"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Volunteer Web Developer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Global Energy Network Institute for more than a year

    Pros

    GENI is a great organisation with great goals. Everyone has been extremely helpful.

    Cons

    No real cons, I have had a great experience volunteering at GENI/WRSC. 3 Stars in Compensation because I am a volunteer and do not know how well they rank up in that aspect.

    Global Energy Network Institute2017-06-29
  4. "GENI -- Great Work Environment, Mostly Volunteers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Consultant -- Mathematical Modeling in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Global Energy Network Institute for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic, supportive work environment. Lots of creative people in an open, high-tech workspace. Management is low-key, there when you need them, but not overbearing. A great place with a good sense of its mission.

    Cons

    For resumé experience only. Most offered positions are not paid..

    Global Energy Network Institute2015-12-12
  5. "The Best Place to hone your writing/research skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Associate Intern in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Global Energy Network Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a good place working in, I had positive feedback from my supervisor and they were easily accessible.

    Cons

    I dont really have any cons because they were reliable

    Global Energy Network Institute2015-08-25
  6. "Sustainable Cities Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Research Intern in Goleta, CA

    I worked at Global Energy Network Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    -working in teams -friendly and encouraging staff and interns -innovative and thought-provoking -flexible with schedule

    Cons

    -unpaid internship -difficult parking situation in the heart of downtown. Horton Plaza is the closest parking structure, but you must either move your car every three hours (staff is flexible with this), or pay to leave it in the structure without moving it.

    Global Energy Network Institute2015-06-10
  7. "GIS Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - GIS Analyst Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Global Energy Network Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are very helpful and create a great learning environment for an intern. The projects are interesting and engaging.

    Cons

    There are only a few permanent employees, the rest are interns and volunteers, not receiving pay or benefits.

    Global Energy Network Institute2015-06-08
  8. "I was an intern at GENI over the summer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Global Energy Network Institute

    Pros

    -Opportunity to work with many great minds. -Lots of flexibility. -Working towards a great cause.

    Cons

    -Not easy to find parking downtown. It's better to take public transportation and walking to the building.

    Advice to Management

    If it is possible, find a way to let users access the network through their home networks so they can work on their projects in their homes.

    Global Energy Network Institute2015-04-12
  9. "Presentation speaker, GIS map developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Global Energy Network Institute part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working schedule can be flexible, it's a good learning experience for college students. Also, it can help you with building up connection.

    Cons

    It can be a temporary internship, but it's limited. Also, it's an unpaid internship, not a real job.

    Global Energy Network Institute2014-02-13
  10. "G.E.N.I. is a non-profit with a great vision and a great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Global Energy Network Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    The work they do in researching renewable energy is fantastic. I felt great to be there even as an intern spending time in researching new and interesting energy sharing ideas and concepts.

    Cons

    Though a great company, it is a non-paying gig, so that's a downside to a long-term stay.

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully you can grow to a bigger company with paying positions!

    Global Energy Network Institute2013-04-26
Found 11 reviews