Global Experience Specialists Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Global Experience Specialists President Steve W. Moster
Steve W. Moster
110 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long periods of traveling can be tiresome, some days of long hours(in 25 reviews)

  • "work/life balance during trade shows is pretty bad(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "GES"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists

    Pros

    Good Atmosphere, Helpful employees, Team Spirit

    Cons

    Long hours, can be very stressful

    Continue reading
    Global Experience Specialists2020-03-06

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    March 18, 2020Director Global Talent Management

    Hello - It’s great that it seems like you've found a great home here at GES. We're always working to make things better based on feedback from the team. Appreciate that you called out our team spirit and great atmosphere! Those along with our values and culture are a big part of making GES a great place to grow your career. We'll keep working on making our company a place where everyone can feel comfortable and be successful. If you have anything else you like to share, please reach out. Thanks again for the feedback

  2. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategic Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, creative, and fast paced environment

    Cons

    There are no downsides to working here.

    Global Experience Specialists2019-07-10

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    August 26, 2019Director Global Talent Management

    Thanks very much for the review ! We will keep our focus on great experiences,and will keep working to be sure core values shine through at every opportunity! Thanks again....

  3. "Great company to get started in the event industry"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    GES does great quality work and runs like a well oiled machine

    Cons

    Very tedious procedures and metrics.

    Continue reading
    Global Experience Specialists2020-04-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "You can do better, don’t settle for GES!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Hodgkins, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists

    Pros

    Learn the trade show business. Co-workers are good people.

    Cons

    Drawing plays in the sand still. The most toxic and unhealthy company have ever seen. IT leadership at best is unholy and at worst is evil.

    Continue reading
    Global Experience Specialists2020-03-21

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    April 9, 2020Director Global Talent Management

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like we let you down by not properly setting your expectations, and that’s something we will definitely work on. Our goal is to create an environment where people effectively collaborate to achieve goals through open communication, mutual respect and constructive debate. The manager focuses on maximizing the value of all individuals, and contributes to a culture that inspires team spirit by working globally as one. Our managers take their roles in developing and supporting our employees very seriously and try, every day, to provide that high level quality of support.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Large Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cypress, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel perks such as airline mileage, hotel points. They will let you stay at nice hotels when traveling, and their per diem allows for good meals. Yearly merit increase. Work at home allowances. 401K, Medical, Dental, Vision, Life Insurance.

    Cons

    Big company mentality - always looking at the bottom line. Very hard to get promotions unless someone above you leave the company. Insurance could be better.

    Global Experience Specialists2020-01-28

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    March 19, 2020Director Global Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback and you are right about our great benefits and perks packages. GES encourages career development by providing training to employees. In addition, we also have a great continuous learning program where we provide tuition reimbursement for professional development. Our focus over the past several quarters has been to invest in people development and we'll continue this going forward. Please feel free to continue to give us feedback on how we are doing and by offering feedback to your leadership team too, in addition to leaving this helpful feedback here. Thanks again!

  6. "To a better future"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Exhibitor Services Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company recognizes and celebrates the fact that its employees make the company great

    Cons

    You are "forced" to go work for the competitor. The salary base is about $3.00 over the minimum wage, and for what it is expected and all the responsibilities, pay rates must be evaluated.

    Continue reading
    Global Experience Specialists2020-01-22

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    March 19, 2020Director Global Talent Management

    Hi and thank you for providing feedback. When it comes to compensation, we believe that hard work pays off. As a “pay for performance” company, we offer a competitive base pay and for some roles additional incentive for strong performance. Our overall total benefits include many perks including a matching 401k and tuition reimbursement for eligible roles, sick and vacation time just to name a few. As an organization, we offer both personal and professional opportunities to continue to learn and grow that support your career objectives and advancement opportunities. Thanks again and good luck with your future endeavors!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to learn about trade shows"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to get exposure to the trade show industry and see how a lot of the lines of business work.

    Cons

    Management is very self absorbed, does not treat their employees fairly, not groom them to be successful in their respective roles.

    Continue reading
    Global Experience Specialists2020-01-11

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    March 19, 2020Director Global Talent Management

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We expect our managers to create an “Always Honest” environment where people effectively collaborate to achieve goals through open communication, mutual respect and constructive debate. The manager focuses on maximizing the value of all individuals, and contributes to a culture that inspires team spirit by working globally as one. Our managers take their roles in developing and supporting our employees very seriously and try, every day, to provide that high level quality of support. If you have any additional thoughts on how we can improve, we would really like to hear from you. Feel free to reach out to Angela C. Williams, Director Talent , anytime at acwilliams@viad.com. We’re always listening.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "great people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Experience Specialists full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    people are great, amazing work-life balance,

    Cons

    organizational culture is essentially non-existant, smaller offices are forgotten about

    Continue reading
    Global Experience Specialists2019-11-20

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    December 11, 2019Director Global Talent Management

    Thanks very much for the review and especially for the advice to management! We will continue to keep our focus on building our culture, as you suggest -- and will keep working to be sure every one no matter where they may "sit" feels included, at every opportunity!

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Worst company I ever worked for... Graphics Depot is a total mess!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Hodgkins, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros are the People you work with who are still there... almost 80% of graphics depot staff has turned over in 2019... Horrible pay, bad hours, overworked, extremely dated processes and technology, one of the dirtiest and disgusting environments I have ever worked in... that is just the beginning... I can go on...

    Cons

    everything but the handful of good people you may work with who have been there (and still there)... if they haven't left or are ready to quit because all GES competitors are paying 20-30% more...???

    Continue reading
    Global Experience Specialists2019-11-13

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    November 19, 2019Director Global Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like we let you down by not properly setting your expectations, and that’s something we will definitely work on. Our people make us who we are, and we aim to celebrate that whenever we can. As an organization we are continually simplifying our processes as well as look at ways to transform our business by driving efficiencies and leveraging technology. That takes time and it appears as we continue to evolve and make those changes, our timeline was perhaps not aligned with your expectations. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "There is a reason for the mass exodus"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Global Experience Specialists full-time

    Pros

    1. Many of the people that you meet at GES are wonderful 2. Health, Dental, Vision 3. 401k 4. Employee Assistance Program 5. Bonuses – If they don’t change the bonus plan in the last quarter of the year. 6. Education assistance (sometimes) depending on if your manager will sign off on it. Also, like many companies, you cannot request tuition assistance until after one year of employment and you have to stay with GES for one year after your last tuition disbursement. 7. Yearly participation in the Las Vegas Corporate Challenge.

    Cons

    1. Low Compensation – The base pay is not competitive, and you should never expect to receive a raise above 2.5%. GES competitors know this and refer to GES as “GES University” because it is where they find the hard-working, knowledgeable and underpaid. 2. Whack A Mole Bonus Plans – In the last quarter of 2018, the bonus plan suddenly changed, and no bonuses were paid out. In the first quarter of 2019, the bonus plan changed back to the old plan. 3. Very little recognition and appreciation from managers. 4. Command and control leadership styles – Don’t be surprised if a member of the leadership team tells you - after a 12-hour day at a show - that it doesn’t matter if you work until midnight to get your work done. They will threaten job loss if you refuse. Also, depending on your manager, you may be expected to use your PTO if you want to take a day off after working 21 days in a row (weekends and all) because of back to back shows. 5. Lack of promotion opportunities unless you have some physical qualities that are attention-grabbing. 6. Quid pro quo sexual harassment – If you are a young woman that is from Latin America, expect to get some unwanted attention from some members of leadership. My advice - use your personal phone to record EVERY face to face interaction. E-mail those recordings to your personal e-mail account. 7. No professional development opportunities - In many cases, you will notice that there are people that have been working at GES for decades doing the same exact job for decades and they have senior titles but no certifications or letters like CEM, CMP, CSEP, etc. behind their name. In some departments, certifications are discouraged, and training opportunities are not offered. 8. Lack of independence and autonomy – Some people can work from home half of the week (after one year of employment) and some people are singled out and must come in every day to be seen and micromanaged. 9. No instruction from some managers - Some leaders have moved up through the ranks, but in some cases, some managers have never had the job, don’t know the job and can’t train or develop the people on their own team. 10. Your health may fail – If the stress of the position causes your doctor to put you on blood pressure medication, or you start getting stress-induced migraine headaches, or your hair starts falling out in clumps, there is an excellent chance that your leadership team will do nothing to help. The best thing you can do is go out on short term disability and start interviewing elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Global Experience Specialists2019-11-11

    Global Experience Specialists Response

    November 19, 2019Director Global Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. We too agree we have lots of great people here throughout the organization that have a passion for what they do! We believe we have a lot to offer someone looking to work and grow in a challenging and fast paced environment. We appreciate you sharing your concerns regarding the environment in which you work, as our goal is to make this a great place to work for everyone. That being said, it also appears that there were some concerns that may have not been addressed. I would like to offer to take this conversation off line and learn more about your experience and concerns. I encourage you to contact me directly at acwilliams@viad.com so we can discuss further.

Found 239 reviews