GlobalEnglish Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
GlobalEnglish CEO  Karine Allouche Salanon (no image)
Karine Allouche Salanon
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "work life balance especially for remote staff(in 7 reviews)

  • "you can work from home and negotiate modifications in your schedule - you will get support(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If the senior management don't like you , then you are screwed(in 4 reviews)

  • "new leadership(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Mission driven and great work environment

      Jul 8, 2019 - Data Scientist in San Mateo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very interesting projects, good management, great culture

      Cons

      Communication and collaboration with offices in other countries

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      So far, so good!

      Sep 30, 2019 - English Coach in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible schedule. I'm in the eastern U.S. and heir high demand hours are 5am to 11 am... if you work during this time, you'll get a nice full schedule. But since they have students from all around the world, you can get hours all throughout the day into the evening with no problem. It's very flexible, you don't have to stick to a rigid lesson plan. You "coach" the student along in their activities, encouraging them and helping them with difficulties along the way. You address their English needs such as an English presentation they are working on or an email they need help with. Or, if they want, you practice business small talk. I really like the flexibility. They have recently merged with Learnship so we'll see what changes come along.... but so far, so good!

      Cons

      I have gaps in my schedule, which I'm not paid for and I'm not crazy about the fact that if students cancel more than 6 hrs before their class, I don't get paid. I'd prefer for it to be 12 hours. But, that unpredictability is to be expected in this line of work. Oh, and this isn't a problem for me, but it should be noted that they don't offer health insurance that I'm aware of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A once great company destroyed by poor management

      Feb 13, 2019 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GlobalEnglish was founded twenty years ago. At one point, it was one of the world's leading education technology companies. Sales grew rapidly to almost $50 million attracting widespread recognition. Pearson, the largest education company in the world, purchased GE for $90 million. It was an incredible time. Unfortunately, several executives left in the coming years, some cashing out and others frustrated with Pearson's bureaucracy. Nevertheless, it was a great place to work, an incredible product, and people were optimistic that big things were happening.

      Cons

      Things started falling apart a year or two later, at roughly the time the new/current CEO came in. Sales fell. New products went nowhere. Rewards for salespeople failed to be competitive. Key salespeople began leaving, taking accounts to competitors, partly because of a lack of faith in the new leadership, which seemed more interested in its our survival/image than what's best for the company. I have no idea why Pearson stood by management for so long as the bottom fell out.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      CEO finally gone, hopefully company can be saved

      Sep 11, 2019 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of dedicated employees who believe in the company Cool product No one works very hard Most work remotely

      Cons

      Karine Allouche Salanon almost killed the company but she and her husband Julien are now out. Hopefully Learnship will turn things around.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Worried about future

      Mar 5, 2019 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very few pros I’m sad to say

      Cons

      Shrinking business and gloomy outlook. Best people are continuing to leave. Some more key people just quit to go to competition because of lack of confidence in CEO and leadership. I’m not sure why the CEO thinks she’s doing a good job after losing key partnerships, customers and continuing loss of confidence by the team. We are hopeful we’ll be rescued by someone that can help save the business. Just hope it’s not too late.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sinking...

      Mar 20, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good and helpful base employees still care about long term company. Collaborative.

      Cons

      The C-Level and leadership is a mess. Nobody cares about anything anymore. No investments in product, and very real possibility of bankruptcy. Rumors of improper conduct and legal issues by exec team. Nobody trusts exec team anymore. Top People have left.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Run away! The faux germans are coming from learnship

      Jul 9, 2019 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A few nice people

      Cons

      No marketing support, no office support, no manager support

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Being a start -up again!

      Dec 18, 2017 - Sales Executive in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With new direction comes new career opportunities or new learning on the job. Started to do more social selling for instance. Our latest product and content innovation is being very well received by my customers. Some have even renewed for 3 years as they believe in our vision and our ability to execute. It seems the most difficult in behind us. Being able to do work that has positive impact on the world! We just received our company survey results and again, our identity, our mission, our leaders came with high scores. This company is special because of its people. Because of what we want to achieve, people are collaborating and willing to help each other. I think this is why people who leave have a hard time detaching from it.

      Cons

      If you are looking for a 9 to 5 jobs, this is not it. This is a global team with collaboration at various time of the day. Still some niche of disgruntled employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A once great place to work, has suffered a complete fall from grace in the past 2 years. I'd give it 0 stars if I could

      Jul 31, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation was market rate and the flexible hours and ability to work from home when needed were two of the very few things that are positives of working at the company and the only things that are keeping me there.

      Cons

      The company has seen a radical shift in culture, primarily a result of HR "leadership" and acquisition of the behemoth that is Pearson. The unique corporate culture used to be one the companies biggest assets and now it is by far its biggest weakness. Personal vendetta's were the core reason for virtually all of the male senior management to be driven out of the company and replaced with an all female management team. The gender bias that has plagued this company for the last 18 months is palpable to anyone and everyone with two eyes. All departments were impacted negatively by the Pearson purchase and were downsized with the exception of HR. That department continues to grow in size for reasons unknown to everyone at the company and is by far the biggest source of water cooler talk on an almost daily basis.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, need a little bit more focus and patient.

      Jun 29, 2008 - Engineer in Brisbane, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Industry. Education is an industry you will never feel bad about. English is a platform for any international business. Teaching English is just the best out of the best as a service. 2) Perspective. Can you think of one day in the near future, people will not need to learn English? 3) Renewable. The business model of GlobalEnglish is based on a renewable one. So the growth is much reliable and consistent. 4) GlobalEnglish is not too big or too small to work in. At this size, your voice does count, on the other hand, you are not the one man team.

      Cons

      Pain of the growth. Like very company, people come and go, lots of legacy stuffs and uncertain future road map.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Popular Careers with GlobalEnglish Job Seekers

    Online English Teacher
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at GlobalEnglish? Share Your Experiences

    GlobalEnglish logo
    or