GlobalOptions Reviews | Glassdoor

GlobalOptions Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
GlobalOptions CEO Harvey Schiller (no image)
Harvey Schiller
5 Ratings
  1. "Great overall company - the best PI company you'll ever find"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Investigator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlobalOptions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    First, a little background on me. I'm been in the PI industry for about 13 years, and have worked for about 4 or 5 in that time. GlobalOptions - now CoventBridge Group (by FAR) is the best one out there. They operate in a very professional and above-board manner, treat their employees and clients well, have great overall working conditions, have great benefits, a flexible work schedule, and good to great overall... managers. Please note that I'm not a "PR Mouthpeace" for this company, but a legitimate former employee (field investigator). At one point I was getting 4 weeks of vacation per year, could work from home, and had an excellent 401(k) and medical plan. This is generally unheard of in the industry, and if you're lucky enough to be hired by them you should stay. Don't make the mistake of thinking the "grass is greener" elsewhere (like I did). They also pay full hourly wages for travel (increasingly unheard of in the industry) - whereas many companies now pay zero, or minimum wage for travel.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unfortunately, towards the end (and the primary reason I left) there was increasingly inconsistent workload. I could work 40-50 hours one week, then 10-15 the next. It wasn't always this way, and in the mid 2000s it was consistently steady work. I also believe that client service could have been improved. Example? It would sometimes take 2+ weeks for the client to receive the report (after it was turned in),... which would often result in complaints or the perception of poor service (and probably the reason they lost a lot of work towards the end). I think the local managers were often overworked in reviewing reports, and it may have been better to have a staff of "report reviewers" do this work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire "report reviewers" to edit reports (instead of managers). This would result in much faster turn-around times to clients, and allow managers to be more directly engaged with employees and responsive to clients.

    GlobalOptions2016-05-12
  2. "Not a bad start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlobalOptions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Seems to always be hiring

    Cons

    Little to no opportunity for advancement, raises are minimal

    GlobalOptions2017-09-25
  3. "No Longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GlobalOptions full-time

    Pros

    Nice staff and working conditions

    Cons

    A number of issues to say the least

    Advice to Management

    Listen to others

    GlobalOptions2017-02-22
  4. "Nice people but not stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlobalOptions full-time

    Pros

    The people were great to work with

    Cons

    The company was not financial stable. When I started working there it had been three years since the non executive employees had gotten raises.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees a livable wage.

    GlobalOptions2017-01-26
  5. "Investigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GlobalOptions full-time

    Pros

    Make your own hours Good management Caseload will take you to all different kinds of places to meet all different kinds of people

    Cons

    Work can dry up leaving and hourly employee struggling to get hours.

    GlobalOptions2016-04-28
  6. "Field Investigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Field Investigator in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at GlobalOptions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was working for company that was purchased by GlobalOptions. At the beginning it was good.

    Cons

    You have to use your own vehicle and they don't pay enough for miles. The hours and travel time was bad. No overtime pay for field investigators.

    Advice to Management

    To many supervisors and not enough Field Investigators.

    GlobalOptions2016-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Okay as a start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at GlobalOptions

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, work is easy

    Cons

    Pay is not great, there's a raise freeze, and they change job requirements regularly

    GlobalOptions2016-02-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Quality Control position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QC Editor in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlobalOptions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Camaraderie among other QC editors, the employee activities committee tries really hard to make the dreaded workplace more enjoyable and to them I say kudos. the work itself can be interesting. luckily the job is a good entry level position that can lead to bigger and better things in the insurance/investigative industry (trust me! ;))

    Cons

    This is mainly my critique of the QC department, but I'm sure it applies to other aspects of the company as well: Disorganized department, conflicting information, pay is not good for the amount of work you do and you will never be compensated fairly (even if you are pseudo-promoted to a "team lead" position or trainer). There was overtime most of 2015 (OT being at least 6 hours a week of extra time in addition to... your standard 40-hour work week), and the schedule they start you on and try really hard to keep you on kinda sucks. I mean, who really wants to work 9:00 - 6:00?? they will try to butter you up with pizza parties and other free food, but it really doesn't make up for everything you will end up sacrificing to this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I hope if GO management still has a say in things that they will read these reviews and realize that the environment they have created for their employees is less than ideal. better pay, better treatment, and more freedom = happier, more productive employees.

    GlobalOptions2016-02-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best in the Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlobalOptions full-time

    Pros

    Travel was not nearly as bad as many other companies in the industry. Compensation was fair. Case work load was consistent year round.

    Cons

    There are no career advancement opportunities for field investigators unless you live near one of the offices. Very frustrating conception.

    Advice to Management

    Keep field investigators stimulated and continue to challenge them. Do not forget about them. We tend to be forgotten within the company.

    GlobalOptions2016-01-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "If you're desperate.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Investigator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GlobalOptions full-time

    Pros

    If you're starting up and this is the only company that will hire you, then take it for experience.

    Cons

    They may promise you the prospect of raises in your future, but this will not happen. If you're lucky, you'll get a small raise at the beginning because of how low they started you. Some investigators have worked here 15+ years and never gotten a raise. If you're full-time, they'll treat you like a slave. Yes you have PTO, but you can only take it when they let you, which won't be for the holidays that you're... required to work. They don't care about their field investigators and don't pay well to compensate for it. They'll make you feel "that's how the industry is", but they are wrong. Many other companies pay well, and will treat you well, too. If you're not already burned out, GlobalOptions will help you get there fast.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay you're employees what they deserve, and don't treat them like slaves. At least pretend you care about them.

    GlobalOptions2016-02-16
Found 28 reviews