Globant "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Globant Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Globant President Martin Migoya
Martin Migoya
707 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home, snacks, new ways to improve something new(in 104 reviews)

  • "n vida-trabajo muy buena y oficinas amplias(in 71 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bajos insentivos a la hora de subir el salario(in 84 reviews)

  • "Low salary, no transparency at all(in 75 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (15)

    "Software Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Globant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home. Good life-work balance. Many opportunities with different projects in different cities. Great work culture and people.

    Cons

    Salary below average. Word of advice: beware if you got relocated from Latin America and the client is trying to hire you. Just like other companies Globant has a non complete clause where the client agrees not to hire you for 6 months after you left the project/Globant. So if you are looking at better opportunities, or an actual visa path you might be at a dead end with Globant and changing employers might not be an option for you. Mexicans get TN visas so that means no Green Card path for you. They will happily renew the visa every year; Globant seems unaware they can request a 3 year extension while you are already in the US but there's little information regarding an actual path to get a Green Card or even a dual intent visa. Non Mexicans (read anyone else) get an L1 visa; apparently Globant will agree to discuss getting you a Green Card but there's no assurance of it; the process is kept in the dark and you don't know until the very end if they agreed to sponsor you. So the whole process is very anxiety-inducing and you are left very little time to plan ahead in case they decide to not sponsor you. People working in California get one health insurance; people on another states get a different one. We recently got a health insurance change for one they claim is "almost the same", it's not, it's crappier and it's cheaper. Negotiating salaries increases requires a full report on benefits and justifications outlining why they should grant you a salary increase. PM will always try to extract the most money they can from the client. Since Globant operates as staff augmentation they will not pay overtime. You had a prod issue you had to fix? You are not getting any extra income.

    Continue reading
    Globant2018-10-24
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Globant isn't a good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Globant full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay and can work from home

    Cons

    Globant is a racist company. I was disgusted how the employers of certain ethnicity talked to or talked about others and management wasn't any better at fixing the situation. I would not recommend this company, especially if you're trying to grow.

    Continue reading
    Globant2017-12-28
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Globant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Flexible hours Easy to work team

    Cons

    Not professional Remote team hard to manage Team time zone difference

    Globant2013-01-09
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Account Manager and Scrum Master"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Globant

    Pros

    I was never disappointed in any of my teams working for Globant. The people are bright, kindhearted, hardworking, and support each other very well. There is a fair amount of flexibility - you can often work from home and had my passport not been expired I could have swapped apartments with someone in Buenos Aires with the full support of management. People are smart and there's lots of opportunity to work for brand-name companies.

    Cons

    Globant has grown very fast and is having trouble getting things done - basically their Operations suck. Compared to Nextive (which they acquired), they are less profitable, less generous, have much greater difficulty obtaining needed materials, were not as well equipped (one office I worked with was unable to use our web-based collaborative tools because they were on dial-up speeds), and were just in general harder to work with. At Nextive, I enjoyed a high level of trust and communication between myself and my superiors. I felt they "had my back" (PMs at Globant are responsible for client satisfaction) and were available to offer advice and support.This vanished within months of the acquisition.

    Continue reading
    Globant2012-05-01
  5. "A Proactive and compassionate organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Pune
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Globant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Work from home Proactive Take care of employees Empathetic Compassionate

    Cons

    None that I could think of

    Continue reading
    Globant2020-03-27
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Java Developer in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Globant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, snacks, new ways to improve something new

    Cons

    Hard ascending in the company.

    Continue reading
    Globant2020-03-03
  7. "Excelent work enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - .NET Developer in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Globant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, working from home and focus on the latest technology

    Cons

    Career path and salary, get an salary increase is difficult

    Globant2020-02-26
  8. "Great but hard to grow up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Designer in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Globant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits, work from home, health insurance paid by company, amazing offices.

    Cons

    Lot of activities for developers and not for designers, the chances to develop a career inside the company are minimal, the first day on Globant could be overwhelming.

    Globant2020-02-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice and flexible work environment, nice pay, no growth opportunities, broken promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Globant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment: as long as you get things done, with quality and on time, nobody will ask where you are or what are you doing. Work from home if the project allows it. Friendly colleages, nice, appealing offices. Outstanding middle management: your project manager and technical leader do care for you, want you to grow, are incredibly friendly and treat you with respect. Mentorship opportunities: you are assigned a mentor who is your ally within the company an helps you grow both technically and professionally. There are some cool, interesting projects, although it isn't the majority. Good salary if you did a good salary negotiation, otherwise this isn't true. Big names to work for such as Google, Facebook and Fortune 500 companies. Most of the clients yo work with are amazing, caring and respectful. They will make you fell like another team member. Medical insurance. A lot of corporate benefits. Agreements with MOOC platforms.

    Cons

    No growth opportunities whatsoever: contrary to what they tell you (your career development plan, etc), getting a promotion or a salary raise is almost impossible. Broken promises: promises of salary raises and promotions are worth nothing. Professional stagnation, mostly boring projects: most of the projects of the company consist in basic tasks and you rarely take important decisions, if any. However, there are some cool, interesting projects. Wrong project assignation, lies: I have seen colleagues quit because they were assigned tasks that have nothing to do with what they were hired for. It's not uncommon to see people asked to "provisionally" undertake full-time test automation tasks as a Java developer or full-time digital marketing tasks as a Java developer. Pretending they care: if you get to work with a bad client and have some legitimate claim, it will take between 6 months and a year, if it ever happens, until they take some action. Downstream blaming: if upper management does something wrong, it will be your fault.

    Continue reading
    Globant2020-02-20
  10. "its difficult to get promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Designer in Bogotá, Bogota
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Globant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Variety of clients and projects, you will never get bored because every new project it is a new challenge and you learn a lot of that. - Meeting people from around the world, cultural exchange. - Good medical insurance plan. - Gifts when you got married or graduated - On site classes like Yoga, exercise, singing ,,, - Travel to others cities to engage with your colleagues - English lessons - Flexible policies about Working From Home

    Cons

    - Too hard to communicate effectively to managers level. - It is difficult to have a sense of community because everybody is widespread. - Hard to see a clear carear path, many mentors don't even care about what its happening in their mentees lives.

    Continue reading
    Globant2020-02-11
Found 94 reviews