Cover image for GlossGenius
Logo

GlossGenius

Engaged Employer

GlossGenius

Add a Review

GlossGenius Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 17 of over 17 reviews
3.9
68% Recommend to a Friend

Found 17 of over 17 reviews

3.9
68%
Recommend to a Friend

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

496

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great culture and great app!(in 3 reviews)
  • "The team is hungry, intelligent, and most importantly kind– everyone works really hard and believes in the work they are doing.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Smart team and very customer-centric

    Oct 18, 2022 - Customer Support Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture of customer centricity is special at GlossGenius. I've been in other customer care environments and I can confidently say that the way we are helping customers is unique. I have learned the most in my career here and I have been given a lot of opportunities to learn things that I may have never learned in other places I was at. I'm very grateful for the environment and how much it has made me grow. The team is smart but humble and everyone is willing to help.

    Cons

    While at first there is a lot to learn, everyone is humble and you realize that everyone is willing to help you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great experience

    Nov 6, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, impact of your work, equity, wfh

    Cons

    Nothing to mention for now

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the GlossGenius team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Inspiring and energetic work culture with a lot going on

    May 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GlossGenius is a great place for ambitious, thoughtful, and growth-oriented people who really want to do the best work of their career. A huge part of the team culture is about holding a high bar for ourselves and those around us and continuously improving. We are at the size where every single person's work really does make a difference to our customers. It is inspiring and motivating when we celebrate each other's efforts. We have all the normal start-up perks like unlimited PTO, an annual retreat, snacks at our NYC office, etc. but we also have an extraordinary and unique customer base that loves us and it's inspiring and motivating.

    Cons

    As we grow and scale, many roles are getting re-defined in order to focus on high-priority efforts. This can sometimes cause tension and ambiguity that could be solved by better inter-team communication. There are still a lot of opportunities to fine-tune processes and provide more clarity ahead of time to the fast-paced changes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great start-up!

    Aug 3, 2022 - Technical Sourcer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    With just over 100 employees, Gloss Genius has tremendous growth opportunities and extremely high pay including equity in the company. Great culture and great app!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons at the moment. As long as your independent, a go getter and can work with minimal supervision, this company is for you!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Talented team that cares about what they do

    May 11, 2022 - Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Been here for almost a year and I'm so glad I joined the company. I've learned so much and been given a lot of responsibility in my line of work. Haven't met someone who is more inspiring and dedicated than the CEO. Pretty amazing female leader. She has a real vision and the team that she's built is really talented - smart, low ego, really focused on making big things happen. Everyone here cares alot about what they do and is constantly thinking about customers, and I'd also say so energetic about their work and want to help others out too.

    Cons

    None really, this is an amazing place for high performers. If you like challenges and pushing yourself to be better, you'll like it here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible Experience

    Oct 17, 2022 - Customer Support Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New environment, hard working smart people

    Cons

    - terrible organization, no resources, onboarding process or direction when taking on the new role.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GlossGenius Response

    Thank you for your candid feedback in this review. While we do have a new hire onboarding program for all our team members, we are always looking to improve our people processes. Our goal as an organization is to ensure employees feel empowered to do their best work while hitting the ground running, and we will continue to evolve our onboarding program as we scale. As a start-up that is growing quickly we are constantly iterating to ensure that both new hires and tenured employees have access to the necessary resources to effectively do their jobs from day 1. If you'd like to discuss your experience in more depth, feel free to contact the People team or your former manager directly. Andrew Director, Talent Acquisition

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Bad leadership, bad culture

    Mar 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, work from home

    Cons

    The work culture is bad. There's no team environment, you're worked to the bone and when things don't go well, people are blamed and made to feel bad. People are definitely not respected and it shows. Bad CEO, bad leadership, a lot of unqualified people who drag the company down including the CEOs sister... classic case of a nepotism hire. They both control everything and there's nothing you can do about it. Everyone is too scared to say anything. Not a good place to work.

    13 people found this review helpful

    GlossGenius Response

    We care deeply about creating an environment that is motivating and growth-oriented, and we are disappointed to hear this feedback. We are thrilled with the team that we have built and the outcomes that the team is making possible for customers. We're confident that they have contributed to our success as a company, and we're confident in the rigorous hiring process we commit to at every level. We have several avenues for feedback here and work hard to deliver meaningful action in response. Our CEO has monthly office hours where all employees are encouraged to ask questions and share feedback, in addition to being an accessible leader across all parts of the org. In addition, management has invested in building a strong People team to ensure that we have a variety of ways for team members to share feedback. As we evolve as a start-up, we will continue to invest in a culture of ownership and accountability, where we can celebrate each other, learn from our reflections, and achieve big things together. My door is open if you'd like to continue this discussion and help us better understand your concerns, so we can partner together on potential paths forward. -Molly (senior manager, people strategy and operations)

  9. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Scrappy Start UP

    Feb 11, 2022 - Customer Success in Bellingham, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun teammates with a hungry attitude. Unlimited PTO and other good benefits.

    Cons

    Little support for personal growth or home office supplies. The team became very micro-managed due to a few bad apples.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Mar 16, 2022 - Owner Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Simple. Great pay. Flexible. Positive

    Cons

    The best thing I could have done

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great opportunity for growth and impact

    Apr 5, 2021 - People Ops in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're looking for a company where you can take ownership, make an impact, and learn quickly -- GlossGenius is a great place to do that. I joined GlossGenius within the last year and have been energized and excited by the amount of opportunity at the company. The whole team is incredibly passionate about its product and its customers, and it's truly exciting to be a part of a company working so hard to help small businesses thrive. Not to mention, GlossGenius is growing incredibly quickly for a vertical saas company! With this rate of growth comes a lot of opportunity for roles to grow and evolve, which is something I've already experienced in my short tenure at the company.

    Cons

    The company is incredibly fast-paced, and comfort with ambiguity is a must -- these are pros for some and cons for others. If these things are cons for you, GlossGenius probably isn't the company for you right now. I would recommend this company for people who are excited to hustle in order to build something meaningful, and who are willing to put in significant time and energy to do so.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with GlossGenius Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GlossGenius? Share Your Experiences

or

GlossGenius Photos

+ Add Photo
GlossGenius photo of: GlossGenius at 2022 Company Summit

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 17 GlossGenius reviews submitted anonymously by GlossGenius employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if GlossGenius is right for you.