Glu Mobile Reviews | Glassdoor

Glu Mobile Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Glu Mobile  President and CEO Nick Earl
Nick Earl
69 Ratings
  1. "Come for the games, stay for the people and culture..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile

    Pros

    The people and culture cannot be understated. The appreciation across teams, the leadership focus on the people, the process improvements to keep people at the top of importance are all key. Perks, benefits, food, fun, pay are all good.

    Cons

    Vacation policy isn’t as good as other SF/Bay Area tech companies.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2020-02-13
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Very happy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great team: the team I work on is like a family in many respects - team members genuinely care about each other and look out for each other, and legitimately enjoy spending time together at the office and at team events - Work/life balance: unlike some other places I've worked at, Glu does a good job of limiting overtime, getting people out of the office at a reasonable hour, and accommodating folks with families - Generous benefits: from my own experience and from other coworkers I've spoken with, compensation is typically market-competitive to above-market, with a wide range of additional benefits like free lunches and snacks, 401(k) matching, and annual performance bonuses

    Cons

    - Office location: While the office space itself is nice, it's located in a neighborhood that can be a bit sketchy at times, particularly in the evening (not a huge con, but it's a factor to consider if you're taking mass transit)

    Glu Mobile2019-01-11
  3. "Glu is thriving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative and fun work environment Great co workers Flexibility to work on cool projects

    Cons

    Pace can be a little bumpy but its always headed in the right direction

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2018-09-06
  4. "Great team culture, brilliant co-workers, exciting work. Sky’s the limit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlingame, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    This company is flat out awesome. They provide you the tools you need to succeed in your job. I’m a Engineer and can equate the work here as challenging, fun, and motivating as any other tech company. It’s a great atmosphere to learn and apply that knowledge. This company values their employees and it shows.

    Cons

    Non hat I can think of yet

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2018-09-05
  5. "Glu is the greatest!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    Glu has come a long way from the experience of previous employees! I can definitely say it is an brand new Glu! I see great things ahead in the upcoming years! It is an open and collaborative environment with lots of opportunity for growth. Upper management cares very much about keeping a positive culture. Some perks include: -Lunch catered 5 days a week -Great work/life balance -fun work events once a week

    Cons

    Gaming culture is not for everyone. If you don't like being a part of a close knit team and collaborating with your coworkers, then it may not be a fit.

    Glu Mobile2018-08-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Brand New Glu"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New office, new CEO, new culture.. I read a lot of the older reviews and was initially concerned... but it appears the new management has learned from past mistakes and is keen on putting employees first. This means a beautiful new office, catered lunches (yum!) 4 days a week, lots of cool perks... It's an exciting time to be at Glu, and the feeling seems to be mutual across the office...

    Cons

    The previous model of acquiring studios would naturally have some issues, especially if the prior investors didn't take care of their employees during the transition. From what I've learned during my tenure, they're hoping to move away from that model and build studios internally in the new HQ... the partnership with Disney being an example. The company has been around for a while and surely has some baggage, but this recent shift seems like a fresh start... fingers crossed!

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2018-02-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great, uplifting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management, co-workers and company culture.

    Cons

    I wished Company has matched 401k.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-09-21
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great People Making a Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exquisite team of people, no matter which department you're in. Positive vibes all around, helpful colleagues, motivated people that love what they do. Fair pay, great benefits, fun perks and a growing sense of community. CEO seems to be really determined and passionate about what he's doing.

    Cons

    Occasionally some mild rivalry between studios and headquarters creep up. Could be avoided, we're all in this together. Free lunch would be rad.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-08-28
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Glu for 6 months and it has been great so far. There are lots of great projects, learning opportunities, and people to work with. I look forward to the time ahead with the business's leadership and strategic growth.

    Cons

    There are slight inter-departmental communication roadblocks

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-08-23
  10. Helpful (9)

    "QA Tester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture and Great People that make you feel excited to work there.

    Cons

    Not the best at planning some projects.

    Glu Mobile2017-07-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 215 reviews