Glu Mobile "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Glu Mobile Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Glu Mobile CEO Nick Earl
Nick Earl
67 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Needs more communication between departments/studios(in 29 reviews)

  • "Upper management don't know what they are doing(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Glu is thriving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative and fun work environment Great co workers Flexibility to work on cool projects

    Cons

    Pace can be a little bumpy but its always headed in the right direction

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the transparency

    Glu Mobile2018-09-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Glu has been as good as any other place to work. Environment is nice. Compensation is nice. People are friendly. My schedule is manageable. I thrive on success and as long as Glu and I are both succeeding, I am happy.

    Cons

    My big concern is that people making fundamental decisions are not creatives and want to make informed, data supported, games. But in an industry as fast paced as mobile, that doesn't make a lot of sense. By the time you've cloned Clash of Clans, it's too late. You have to have new ideas. Glu also has the unique and dubious history of cloning it's OWN games, which makes zero sense to me. I remember they had... two Tiny Tower clones back in the day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Make new games quickly, but build teams slowly. In mobile, you can make a prototype with 3-4 people. A prototype team doesn't need to be bigger than that. In fact, more people with dilute the core vision. Eventually, if the game is fun, you can move it into full production. 2. Stop cloning games. Especially your own games. Diner Dash is not a genre.

    Glu Mobile2018-01-21
  3. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fremont, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun company culture and work environment.

    Cons

    Upper management don't know what they are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so stubborn!!

    Glu Mobile2017-02-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Company getting better each week"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The caliber of talent has improved dramatically since I started. Weak performers are being replaced by motivated, energetic, and talented hard workers. Very flexible work environment. Corporate communication is improving.

    Cons

    There is an overall lack of infrastructure but it is improving. The company is hiring the right people who are focusing on implementing the right infrastructure to support the company long term. Growth planning is non-existent which causes resource problems downstream.

    Advice to Management

    Quit with the conservative planning. Decide on a corporate "identity" and go with it.

    Glu Mobile2015-02-03
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Good people in the trenches, horrible executive team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile

    Pros

    The local studio was filled with amazing people, great work environment, good opportunities for growth, great work/life balance.

    Cons

    All the pros were hobbled by poor executive management always trying to boost the stock price instead of focusing on people and products. It's no wonder the stock price has languished below $6 for so long.

    Advice to Management

    If you focus on your people and in making great games, the stock price will follow. Unfortunately you're stuck in a rut and the company desperately needs new leadership.

    Glu Mobile2014-12-23
  6. "Great Management = Rapid Turnaround"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've never worked with such talented, professional developers. The teams are carefully built to balance skills and personalities and the result is an incredible work environment. HR, IT, and our Office Coordinator are all amazing, making working here pleasant and engaging. The executive team makes smart decisions and are actively engaged with the teams, not only finding ways for the teams to get stronger but... consistently dedicated to becoming better managers and leaders themselves. There is an incredible amount of transparency regarding the success of the studio's titles - everyone knows how well the studio is performing financially, and there are many opportunities for the average employee to be a part of the ongoing effort to improve our operations. Finally, the studio has a balanced approach to business intelligence, using the incredible amount of data the studio gathers to hon the expertise of our devs without stifling creativity.

    Show More

    Cons

    The review processes change every year and reviews are often carried out late and in a hurried manner. Career paths and positions are very poorly defined, leaving you stuck wondering how to advance or how to gauge your performance against a studio standard. While the leadership at the top is very strong, some teams and some disciplines suffer from weak leadership/management. All of this combines into a frustrating... experience for someone who is focused on their development and advancement. Finally, the working relationship with the head office in SF isn't always a positive one.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quality over quantity. Management does a great job at identifying the areas of improvement, but they tend to respond by adding more steps, rather than working to improve the quality of what they're already doing.

    Glu Mobile2014-06-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I had a good run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist in Kirkland, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic work environment - Awesome and talented people

    Cons

    - Lower than average pay - Top management sucks

    Advice to Management

    - Know what you want instead of keep changing - Stop going for the whales, they are rare

    Glu Mobile2013-05-06
  8. "Excellent Gaming Company with lot of Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Tester in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool Work Environment and career opportunities. You will enjoy working here.

    Cons

    Worked for 6 months. None I found

    Advice to Management

    They are doing good.

    Glu Mobile2019-11-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working here since 3 years. Glu has the best work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Tester in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Best work environment 2. No politics 3. Transparency between teams 4. People are really good and encouraging 5. Lots of stuff to learn and have lot of exposure to learn stuff 6. Free food and snacks 7. Cab facility for night shift 8. Managers are really cool and supportive 9. Get annual bonus every year

    Cons

    Don't see any, apart from the stretched work hours sometimes and weekend work. Hope this will be avoided eventually!

    Advice to Management

    You rock!!! Glu is the best forever!!!<3

    Glu Mobile2019-09-25
  10. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment talented people lot to learn lots of facilities

    Cons

    did not find any of it.

    Glu Mobile2019-07-24
Found 16 reviews