GlynnDevins Reviews | Glassdoor

GlynnDevins Reviews

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
73%
Recommend to a Friend
GlynnDevins President and CEO Chris Egan
Chris Egan
0 Rating
  1. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AAE in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at GlynnDevins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good flexibility, fun co workers!

    Cons

    Nothing negative, great place to work!

    GlynnDevins2019-05-20

    GlynnDevins Response

    May 22, 2019PR Assistant Account Executive

    We’re glad you enjoyed your experience as a GlynnDevins associate and wish you the very best in future endeavors! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Many changes, chaotic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GlynnDevins full-time

    Pros

    Half day summer Fridays (if you’re lucky enough to be able to leave) Rewarding industry (senior living) Drinks/snacks Some really nice, talented people

    Cons

    Processes change frequently Stressed/overwhelmed employees in all depts due to heavy workloads and constant changes Original GD culture is gone despite awkward attempts to revive it Revolving door of new employees b/c so many are leaving Less consulting and helping clients/more pushing services to boost profitability Uncomfortable loud office environment, open cubes, uncomfortable chairs, preventing the ability to focus/work.

    Continue reading
    GlynnDevins2019-04-28

    GlynnDevins Response

    April 29, 2019PR Assistant Account Executive

    While it’s true that our agency has evolved and grown over the years, we’re proud that our core values – the foundation of who we are – have remained intact. We appreciate all feedback from current and former associates and, when possible, encourage a continued conversation in person. If you’d like to discuss your comments in detail, please reach out to Laura McIntosh or anyone on our leadership team. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Growing pains!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlynnDevins full-time

    Pros

    The long time creative staff are truly marvelous people, great at their jobs and real talents. Those old guard people are terrific mentors and creative talents.

    Cons

    I have been in the KC job market for many years now, so I know that low-mid level employees have to sit in loud, school-like areas with no real ability to focus. Unfortunately GlynnDevins is no different. They were at one time, but wow has that changed over the past 5 years. You know when a company puts in white noise machines that they are looking for a cheap solution for their people needing a decent amount of space to work. Leaders of the company refer to the women in C-level roles as girls. Long time employees and the director level and above folks are treated well, well paid and in general are making their careers there for good reason. Anyone coming in at middle or lower tier may have a rough go. There are so many client services people and so few in production roles that the workload is unbalanced. Then you get to the tech and production teams. The people there are so overworked that they are either on their last nerve or totally checked out. High turnover rate. When it became completely obvious that the employees didn't have enough space to work, they put in tiny gym lockers to hold personal items.

    Continue reading
    GlynnDevins2019-02-21

    GlynnDevins Response

    June 24, 2019PR Assistant Account Executive

    We appreciate and encourage feedback from current and former associates and take allegations of harassment very seriously. We’re proud of the fact that we have numerous women in leadership roles within our company, and we regard them with great respect for all they have accomplished. The reputation we’ve built over more than 30 years is sterling, both in the field of senior living and in the Kansas City area, where it all began. Associates continue to enjoy opportunities for advancement and we’re often coming up with new ways to enhance our culture. We’d be glad to speak with you in more detail about some of the concerns you’ve raised. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlynnDevins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, with free snacks, fruit and drinks. White noise machines to help with the noise. 401k matches are immediate, rather than yearly. Nice motorized desks. Occasionally have the opportunity for free tickets to professional sports games, when the founders aren't using them.

    Cons

    Total lack of privacy, shared cubes, low walls, lots of noise. Chairs are horribly uncomfortable and unergonomic (but they're pretty) Management is very top heavy, there is a seemingly endless amount of middle and upper management. Seems like a nice place to work, but that is completely different than what I experienced since it is totally dependent on your manager. Other teams regularly received benefits and perks ours did not. Was micromanaged to death, manager expected multi-daily emails on what was being done and was told they did not have time to keep up with what was going on with the very small team. People can be slow to change. It can be a revolving door with the other agencies in town. Timesheets for salaried employees, even for those with no billability. Reimbursement process is archaic. If you didn't go to KU you can feel like a bit of an outsider.

    Continue reading
    GlynnDevins2018-06-01

    GlynnDevins Response

    June 4, 2018PR Assistant Account Executive

    We always appreciate reviews and feedback from our associates, so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re glad you’ve enjoyed some of the perks and benefits we offer, including the snacks and the occasional ticket to the ballgame. As part of our core values, we try to create an environment that makes our associates feel valued and appreciated. We’re always glad to meet with associates who have specific concerns, and our human resources door is always open. Again, thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GlynnDevins full-time

    Pros

    GD offers PTO and health care.

    Cons

    They have lost the "Customer Service" and "Clients comes First" attitude. GD is all about the bottom line and will push all the products they have to a client even if they are not needed.

    GlynnDevins2018-05-15

    GlynnDevins Response

    June 27, 2018PR Assistant Account Executive

    We’re disappointed to learn that you’ve come away with a negative perception of our business model. GlynnDevins was founded with the idea that we could provide real senior living marketing solutions to our clients, and that remains true today. While the services we’ve offered have expanded over the years, our commitment to providing communities goal driven recommendations and proven results will never change. We’d encourage you to reach out to human resources if you’d like to discuss your thoughts in more detail. We always encourage feedback from our associates.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GlynnDevins full-time

    Pros

    Leadership is strong and motivating with opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Lots of growth through multiple expansion along with some growing pains

    GlynnDevins2018-03-07

    GlynnDevins Response

    March 8, 2018PR Assistant Account Executive

    It sounds like you’ve had a good experience so far as a GD associate! We greatly appreciate the feedback, and appreciate all you’ve done to help our team as GlynnDevins continues to grow as a leader in the field of senior living.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Opportunities for Growth & Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlynnDevins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    From the perspective of working in the Kansas City Technical group. GD is the market leader in senior living marketing and advertising, and is a growing company with several recent acquisitions. As such, it is well-positioned for the coming age wave of retiring Boomers. The work-life balance has been a blessing. The CTO has lived it and truly understands what it is like to raise a family and have a personal life outside of the office. The level of trust and responsibility given to those who prove themselves competent has been rewarding. Oversight and management is neither too overbearing nor too checked-out. Leadership believes in treating us like adults: be available during business hours, communicate when you are going to be out, get your job done and questions won't be asked. There has been, and will be for the foreseeable future, no shortage of work. The projects have been diverse and mostly interesting. I have had time to learn new skills on the job, and to select my own tools and processes to get the work done. There have been a few times when I've had to simply buckle down and get something mundane accomplished, but such is the nature of any work. More incentive to automate! GD is in the midst of transforming itself into a truly digital agency. This kind of transformation requires rapid and sometimes radical change in communication, processes, and most importantly, where power and control is concentrated. That kind of change doesn't come easily and often is accompanied by pain as individuals and teams adjust. It is good to know that leadership is committed to the change and is proceeding firmly, but with grace for those most disrupted. I've admired the effort of leadership to clearly communicate around every major change and to leave no associate behind. When a separation appears necessary, they have handled it with professionalism and class. The 8880 Ward Parkway location is great place to work, and is evidence of how much GD has been willing to invest in their people and their brand. Ubiquitous bullet list: - Excellent leadership from the C-level - Strong technical direction - Company outlook is good with opportunities for advancement - Pay and benefits are above average for Kansas City - Teammates are a fun and competent - Work is diverse and can move quickly - Good employee recognition efforts for both work and career milestones - Regular reviews, end-of-year bonus and yearly increases - An amazing office space

    Cons

    This isn't a con, but more of a preface: GlynnDevins' priority has always been and will always be the satisfaction of its clients. If they aren't happy, then GD isn't happy. That being said, the nature of agency work is that deadlines and requirements are not always set in stone. There can be surprises, and things can get messy. A person can either look at it as an inconvenience and complain, or adapt and overcome while at the same time partnering with others to fix what needs fixing. That's really the only con I've experienced so far, and how much of a con it is truly depends on the individual.

    Continue reading
    GlynnDevins2018-01-30

    GlynnDevins Response

    February 1, 2018PR Assistant Account Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share in detail your experience as a GlynnDevins associate. We continue to work hard to provide the culture you described – work/life balance, diverse and interesting work, passion for our clients and a place where talent and creativity can thrive. As the future unfolds, we’re excited to be part of such a rewarding field.

    Continue reading
  8. "Culture of Inclusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlynnDevins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work-life-balance is great as are the people you work with. They take an interest in your personal and professional growth.

    Cons

    The agency is experiencing some growing pains with recent acquisitions. This in turn has caused adjustments (and readjustments) in process to ensure the new offices are working at the same level as KC. But it’s a part of the business.

    Continue reading
    GlynnDevins2018-01-21

    GlynnDevins Response

    January 24, 2018PR Assistant Account Executive

    It’s always nice when we get feedback from our associates. Thank you! We’re really pleased you mentioned work-life balance as it’s an extremely important aspect of our philosophy. When associates have balance in their lives, great relationships with clients and coworkers and a sense that their personal and professional growth matters, they thrive. Finally, thanks for being patient with the changes! We’re excited about our growth and what it will mean for all of us!

    Continue reading
  9. "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlynnDevins full-time

    Pros

    Most employees are hard working, smart and friendly

    Cons

    If you like to work very long hours, this is the place for you.

    GlynnDevins2017-11-15

    GlynnDevins Response

    November 19, 2017PR Assistant Account Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, and for pointing out the work ethic, intelligence and generous character of our associates. We’re sorry to learn that you felt the workload wasn’t well balanced, and believe the associate characteristics that you mentioned naturally lend themselves to collaboration and teamwork. Agency life is fast-paced and exciting, but certainly not for everyone. We wish you all the best as you pursue other opportunities.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlynnDevins

    Pros

    Manageable workload, nice coworkers, great clients. If you care about the senior living industry, good place to work. Good launching pad.

    Cons

    Terrible insurance (which is ironic seeing as the company focuses on the healthcare industry), some management is contrarians just for the sake of it. Archaic systems.

    Continue reading
    GlynnDevins2017-10-06

    GlynnDevins Response

    October 11, 2017PR Assistant Account Executive

    We appreciate the review and are glad to learn you enjoy your coworkers and our fantastic senior living clients. As you mentioned, if you’re passionate about seniors, this is a great field in which to work! Regarding our benefits package, we work hard to ensure that we offer our employees competitive benefits and other perks. We’d be more than happy to explain a bit more about how that process works. Stop by human resources if you’ve got questions.

    Continue reading
Found 48 reviews