GoDaddy Reviews in Sunnyvale, CA | Glassdoor

GoDaddy Sunnyvale Reviews

Updated September 15, 2017
14 reviews

Filter

Filter

Sunnyvale, CA

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
GoDaddy CEO Blake Irving
Blake Irving
11 Ratings

14 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great Benefits for those that use them (in 106 reviews)

  • Good pay - Good benefits - Nicer offices - On-campus gyms - Subsidized Meals - External perks, ie: Travel Discounts (in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • Its a call center job for the most part (in 53 reviews)

  • Illusion that employees that upper management actually care about customers (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Work with the best people and learn new stuff!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Former Intern - Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Just like work with your friends, you know the guy siting beside you is gonna support you.
    Foods/beverages and snacks here are fabulous!
    You are welcomed to talk with people from all over the company.
    Feel free to have a coffee chat with big managers.
    And the gym!

    Cons

    I will add if I meet some.


  2. "A company with a high potential and a vivid goal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy as an intern

    Pros

    Chill, Growth, Good People, Location, Culture.

    Cons

    As a growing company they might not be able to compete with giant tech players yet! They are more focused on extending products and improving customer's experience so not a lot of innovating or revolutionizing technology itself (which might be a Pro for some).

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Come here if you can handle the politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flex work schedule
    Good vacation
    Nice coworkers
    Above average benefits
    Good work life balance
    People are generally not super strict about missing meetings, deadlines, etc.

    Cons

    Pay is tier 2, no matter how much they try to say it's FB level, it's like FB level for 1 person, and tier 3 for everyone else
    Politics, too many former Yahoo / MS people here so you have to play the game otherwise your stuck promotion wise and project wise. People get ahead of you for no reason because of politics.
    Work is all web services / web apps. UI work is considered cream of the crop interesting work. Good luck trying to work on an AI team here like Google. All code monkey work.
    Too many lifers. Need to get fresh perspectives.

    Advice to Management

    Shake up management with non big company people

    GoDaddy Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – VP Software Engineering

    Hi there,

    First of all thanks for your feedback. I am glad that you listed several Pros that we are super proud of here at GoDaddy, like Flexible schedule and the Good work and life balance and... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great atmosphere, growing fast, lots of opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, lots of work to choose from, opportunity to set directions due to the early stage of growth and yet in a well established company!

    Cons

    Well established company yet still setup like a startup and some teams do everything themselves while others are still waiting for help

    Advice to Management

    Need to bring in outside talent; too many people at senior positions who lack experience outside of godaddy and are simply coasting

    GoDaddy Response

    Aug 8, 2017 – VP Software Engineering

    Hi there,

    We are glad that you are enjoying your experience at GoDaddy. I always say that we have the best of both worlds: We have a solid business (like a big company), but we are also nimble... More


  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great vision and customer passion.

    Cons

    Some pockets of slow execution.

    GoDaddy Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – Employment Brand

    Thank you for the review, we really appreciate your feedback! We are doing our best to adapt and iron out the pockets such as the one above. Thank you for sticking with us as we grow!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer V"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Using the latest technologies, constantly reinventing itself to keep up with the trends in the software industry. Mostly humble, unassuming people, passionate about their work.

    Cons

    If you treasure the comfort of using old technologies, this place is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    GoDaddy Response

    Sep 26, 2016 – Sr. Director, Productivity Development

    Hi there! Thanks for the comments on GoDaddy, appreciate you taking the time to add them. I'll pass the thoughts along.

    Thanks again,

    Jason


  7. Helpful (10)

    "Mid-size company with small company infrastructure and big company politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible hours and ok w/ working remote a couple of days a week as long as you deliver. Open space work environment that promotes a lot of interactions. Fun culture, or at least tries to be fun and different. Still growing so feels like there are opportunities if you can navigate the corporate ladder. Free lunches and snacks (Sunnyvale & Kirkland offices). Unlimited PTO.

    Cons

    Company tries hard to promote gender equality, but so far it's just on the surface. No real change in terms of female executives or senior managers, and definitely more male workers get promoted than female workers. Lots of sub-cultures depending on which team you work on or which previous companies you worked with. It's a negative, b/c too often people say "well, when we were at [fill in the blank], we did it this way". Top heavy - seems like there's a VP, SVP or EVP popping up every other week. Really? a SVP reports to an EVP? who's doing the work?

    Advice to Management

    Need some serious leveling, seems like people are just getting titles b/c they ask for it. Oh wait, this only happens to the male workers.

  8. "A place to go at the end of your career, not the start or middle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Solid benefits
    Great work life balance
    Above average pay
    Good fun coworkers
    Overall a good environment to work in

    Cons

    Top heavy management system
    If you're not at least a senior manager at the company (level 5 / 10), your there to fill a chair and do what management tells you to do, and not take charge and innovate
    Recent talent drain from the company
    Most employees are strict 9 to 5
    Large company speed no matter how much effort is made to be quick and agile

    Advice to Management

    Flatten the organization, improve recruiting, allow non / lower level managers to innovate, take charge, and make a difference

    GoDaddy Response

    Aug 29, 2016 – VP Software Engineering

    Hi there, first of all thanks for your message. We take all feedback seriously as we continue to improve the experience for all our engineers. I am glad that you listed several `Pros` on your list... More


  9. "Good for go-getters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - People are incredibly smart and generally willing to help if you ask for it
    - Many opportunities to grow professionally by changing roles and responsibilities

    Cons

    - Cultural shift still in progress. For the most part, people do live out the company values and the company is taking steps to act on employee feedback, but there are pockets where that is not the case.
    - Somewhat of a "firedrill" mentality

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize your people. The corporate side (where I have experience) runs very lean in some places, to the extent where folks with direct reports manage by name only, and it's frustrating to try to learn and grow intelligently without guidance.

    GoDaddy Response

    Mar 22, 2016 – Chief Product Officer

    Thanks for the feedback about what we're doing well and where we can improve. I am GoDaddy's Chief Product Officer and I work in Sunnyvale.

    The company has shifted our focus from marketing and... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "GoDaddy Sunnyvale - it depends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time

    Pros

    GoDaddy cares about it's people

    Cons

    Slow slow moving. The technology, the organization, the culture of meeting..

    Advice to Management

    Hire innovators and let them innovate.

    GoDaddy Response

    Mar 22, 2016 – Chief Product Officer

    Thanks for direct positive and negative feedback. I am GoDaddy's Chief Product Officer and I work in Sunnyvale.

    I agree that we care deeply about our people ... and we can always go faster. I... More


Showing 14 of 902 reviews
Reset Filters