GoDaddy "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

GoDaddy Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Feb 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
GoDaddy CEO Aman Bhutani
Aman Bhutani
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you are looking to join a sales call center - no tech experience needed(in 64 reviews)

  • "Can be stuck on a bad shift for long periods of time, upper management is frequently making changes without thinking them through(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Hosting Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hosting Support in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic Leadership and things like taking days off was always easy and organized. Overall they make a call center environment very livable long term.

    Cons

    Rough job dealing with customers on phone all day but can be worth it with bonuses and overtime.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-12-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Call Center Pretending To Be Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hosting Support in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great offices and amenities such as full gym, supplemented meals and decent benefits. Very casual work environment and dress code (jeans, shorts, flip flops). Friendly and supportive co-workers.

    Cons

    GoDaddy's success was built on a reputation of fantastic customer service and 24/7 tech support. Arguably, GoDaddy may have started as a discount domain and hosting company, but what set them apart was their world class tech support. Today you can find cheaper hosting plans and cheaper domain registrars but you are hard pressed to find 24/7 support. Yet the current management seems to be doing everything in their power to erode the very thing that set GoDaddy apart from their competition. New sales are all that matter. GoDaddy's management has consistently diminished their technical scope of support while adopting a "up sell over support" mentality. As I write this, there is not a single tech support department option for their customer base. When a customer calls in for technical support the "tech support" team is required to attempt to sell them a new product, regardless of their issue. Their customer base is frustrated and starting to wise up to this pathetic, "Jiffy Lube" sales tactic. Meanwhile, employee attrition rates are shockingly high. My training class had roughly 20-25 people in it. Within the first 6 months, 14 of those employees have left and I know at least 5 more (including myself) are actively looking to leave. That is an employee attrition rate of well over 70%. Rather than retain employees with a high level of technical skills, GoDaddy's management chooses to increase sales quotas, which leads to higher employee attrition and loss of their customer base. GoDaddy is in a downward spiral and management is failing to address it. For all the new sales they are brining in, much of the potential profits are being squandered on new employee training costs. If you are looking to join a sales call center - no tech experience needed! (or wanted) This is the job for you. If you are serious about your tech career, avoid GoDaddy at all costs (at least the "Hosting Support" role).

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2019-02-24

    GoDaddy Response

    March 4, 2019Customer Care Operations Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We're happy that you enjoy the facilities and perks. When comparing to other contact centers, our benefits offerings are best-in-class since we benchmark against tech companies rather than contact centers. So the options are pretty amazing! To clear up some concerns raised, GoDaddy's Care organization has always been a service led sales motion. The service and technical support groups that set us apart, have always (15+ years) had sales requirements of some type. We recognize that not everyone wants to sell and some others may not want to solve. We're working on that. Additionally, our Wow scoring is entirely structured around giving customers consistently great, long-term experiences when we interact with them. While we've made big steps in the right direction with the program, there are still a number of things we're improving on. We hear you loud and clear. Finally, if you've got concerns as a current employee either on your experience or on your career development, we strongly encourage you to reach out to your manager or HR@ for guidance/assistance.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Run Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good insurance benefits. In SOME groups (depending on your boss), flexible working arrangements. "Unlimited" time off for salaried employees, but that's at the mercy of your supervisor -- some abuse it, others get shafted. Some offices are newly renovated, others are nasty. Kitchens stocked with drinks and snacks (but only for corporate , not the call center peopl.)

    Cons

    Cronyism/office politics in every single department like I've never seen any other place. Unqualified people promoted with no training to manage. Some groups are great, others are awful. All depends on your Senior Leadership Team member, and they aren't judged by the satisfaction of their employees. HR and others don't care about complaints of abusive toxic work place. Arbitrary and constant re-organizations. You'll be randomly told that instead of being a search marketing specialist, you're all of a sudden going to be an event planner (or somthing like that) -- COMPLETELY out of the blue assignments without any input on what you'd like to do. Absolutely no outlined career path. This tries to be a good place to work and I think their heart might be in the right place, but still its a really bad place to work. The most toxic work place I've ever been in.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2019-01-12

    GoDaddy Response

    February 8, 2019Team GoDaddy People Operations

    Well, we aren't perfect. But you are right, our heart is in the right place as we continue to work towards improving our culture and employee engagement. We do read every review and share feedback with our leaders and will do the same with your comments. Thanks for being a 5+ year employee - best of luck with your current and future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Worst Employer Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that matter enough to make this a decent workplace.

    Cons

    Call center hell. The hype and internal propaganda can keep you fooled for a long time. I worked there for 6 years and I can tell you that you are just a number to them. They treat customers the same way. Shady discount practices and penalizing loyal customers with higher priced renewals, they just make no sense!

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2019-01-17
  5. "Sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time

    Pros

    Great Call Center Learning Experience

    Cons

    Corporate world, hard to get time off on weekends

    GoDaddy2018-12-09
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Poor, Micromanaged Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At the Tempe office, they had great coworkers and amazing lunch programs. But, for a call center representative (my experience), those were the only pros.

    Cons

    In the call center where I was hired, I was hired to give first-class, white-glove support. However, every call needs to result in a sales transaction. Call center support = sales. With my experience, unless it has changed, is that my team had a whiteboard of people "away from their desk." So, if the board was full, you were not allowed to take lunch or a quick bathroom break until open spots were available to prevent the call queue from getting too high.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-12-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A company that wants you to succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having worked on both the sales and corporate side, my experience at GoDaddy has been great. I love working here! Yes, sales are important and meeting your target metrics is critical. However, leadership emphasizes the need to do what's best for the customer -- and only selling them what they actually need. You're given routine trainings and meetings with team leaders, designed to help you continually improve. GoDaddy tries to cultivate a culture of transparency with leadership's open discussion of employee feedback.

    Cons

    Working in a call center is stressful, but GoDaddy creates a great sense of team camaraderie that helps you survive and enjoy your time.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-10-02

    GoDaddy Response

    November 21, 2018Team GoDaddy People Operations

    Thank you for your thoughtful review of your experience here at GoDaddy. Sounds like you've had a great career so far - we're lucky to have you on the team! We'll share your great feedback about bridging the divides between our corporate and care functions with our leadership team.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Purely metrics driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant Productivity in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, subsidized lunches, lots of food and beverages brought in for employees.

    Cons

    As with any call center, it's purely driven by sales metrics. This is standard but the mandated availability or ready time for an agent to be ready and available to take a call is a bit ridiculous at 96%. You get the standard 30 minutes lunch plus two 15 minute breaks, but taking 1 or 2 restroom breaks outside of that per day will result in disciplinary action, your bonus and potentially your job.

    GoDaddy2018-08-23

    GoDaddy Response

    September 10, 2018Customer Care Operations Director

    We're happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere and perks during your time here. Regarding availability, if a person takes one or two extra breaks each day beyond those that are scheduled, yes, that can lead to correction but that's an exception rather than a rule for sure. A big part of the role is consistently being there when our customers need us. Thanks for the feedback!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "It's another CALL CENTER! Don't be fooled by sugar-coating."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hosting Inbound in Gilbert, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free tea/coffee, $4 lunch, wear sandals and shorts.

    Cons

    It's a metric-watching Call Center. 30 min lunch, 96% time on phone or NO BONUS, so kiss off your two 15 min. breaks to get that 1/2 hr. you need between calls to take notes/regroup your head.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-09-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Job Strict Metrics Now Outsourced Overseas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bilingual Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good modern-looking environment. Good trainers. Looks good on resume. It is a well-known company and a diversified work environment with a liberal atmosphere. Cubicles are decent for the work performed. Small gym for employees.

    Cons

    This review is strictly about bilingual Spanish/Portuguese employees. Both Spanish and Portuguese-speaking departments have been relocated to Monterrey Mexico and Bogota, Colombia, respectively and leaving many bilingual employees without a job or with a handful transferred to other departments, if they qualified due to skills and tenure with the company. Inside the Portuguese/Spanish departments you'd find some nepotism and who knows who type of mentality. The Brazilian department ended up with empty desks as most calls originating in Brazil were being answered by an office in Colombia. Undoubtedly a cost-cutting move. Most agents meeting daily sales goals - every call a sales call motto - would have those some goals increased by supervisors. If you sold $150 a day, it would now be $250 and so on. Each one-on-one meeting would remind you that to "keep your job here" you had to meet this or that new goal, creating more pressure on employees to sell more and more. Bonuses were offered if you can have near perfect metrics and they are very strict numbers. Many people were simply giving notices or quitting altogether. Others tried to unsuccessfully transfer to another department. Lots of goofing off going on in the Portuguese language support, disguised as "part of the company culture" resembling a bunch of 12-year olds horsing around, many times the horseplay involved the supervisor and a so-called coach. Weekly team huddles were generally held smack in your work area so while you are on the phone with a customer, your supervisor is "dictating" so you cannot hear or talk to the customer without background noise. Not sure why they couldn't simply go into an office for such meetings. There were plenty of empty offices within 25 feet. Team meetings were more "do this or do that if you want to keep your job" as if employees were living in the 1950's with the supervisor dictating orders instead of motivating and appreciating collaborative efforts. In essence, nearly everyone feared losing their jobs. Calls could be brutal in terms of unhappy customers but that's most call centers. If you take the time to read the other reviews here, you will get an education about what working at GoDaddy is like. It went from great to so so-so to just another job. It keeps changing for the worse, in my opinion. The food in the cafeteria became worse and worse and food workers were way too slow when you are on a 30 minute lunch. Not to mention the times your work schedule gets messed up and they allocated lunch when the cafeteria is already closed. Bring your lunch bag with you! I doubt you will see GoDaddy hiring many bilingual agents that reside in the U.S. That's pretty much over. In my opinion, GoDaddy had its glory days now it's just another call center with extreme metrics and a turn-style door. You are just a number and treated as such. Of course, sooner or later, being just number equals zero.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-04-24

    GoDaddy Response

    June 6, 2018Glassdoor Response Team

    Thank you for providing very specific feedback as it allows us to constantly get better as a Team. We are happy that you enjoyed the work environment and atmosphere. The environment and culture you mentioned is created to provide a more relaxed experience for both our people and our customers in order to help both parties succeed with their business and personal goals. Team huddles and other day to day practices are part of this. They are meant to provide forum for the Team to review best practices, provide feedback on behalf of the Team and our Customers and celebrate team and individual successes outside of a formal meeting environment. We do appreciate the feedback and will definitely take a look at the CX impact on a case by case basis. We have also received the feedback in the past regarding not having enough time for lunch, for which we have had a procedure in place for the past two years on how you can request a longer lunch period. This is communicated out through our Workforce Department several times a year. In regards to customers being served out of our offices closer to them, while cost was one factor, the even larger factor was recruiting and ability to service our Customers locally. This was especially true for Brazilian Portuguese. Unfortunately, the candidate pool here in the Phoenix area for fluent speakers is incredibly small. This proved to be a challenge as we repeatedly had our Brazilian customers waiting on hold to speak to one of our consultants for unacceptable longer periods of time that were detrimental to their business and experience with us. We would have never been able to staff enough to meet our promise to our Customers for a consistent world class experience. We appreciate the continued efforts of our consultants globally to now take the reins and scale to heights we could not here in Phoenix because of geographical obstacles. Thank you again for the feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 81 reviews