GoDaddy "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

GoDaddy Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
GoDaddy CEO Aman Bhutani
Aman Bhutani
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits from day one and very nice co-workers(in 149 reviews)

  • "Wonderful people, fun environment, good benefits(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "It has turned into a typical call center(in 65 reviews)

  • "Upper management is riddled with people who fail to make critical decisions out right stalling progress at the company(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great for performance based compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hosting Support in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Performance-based pay - Fun culture - Ability to move up without a degree - Solid benefits

    Cons

    - Stressful! The pressure of hitting sales targets regularly can be tough to deal with, even if you're a top performer - Customer service. Dealing with customers can be very draining - Career pathing not always clear. While you can absolutely move up the ladder at GoDaddy even without a degree, it is not always clear what exactly that ladder looks like

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2019-11-20

    GoDaddy Response

    January 24, 2020Team GoDaddy People Operations

    At GoDaddy, we encourage all of our employees to make their own way. We want you to work closely with your leadership to research the best career path for you. A couple of great ways to learn more about the next step in your career are to dig into what you're passionate about and ask to 'shadow' the teams that support that function in the company, and don't be afraid to ask those same teams if there is any way that you can help.

    Continue reading
  2. "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support in Hiawatha, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They give you perks like a good holiday party, discounted lunch, and an on-site gym

    Cons

    They will fire you if you miss a goal two months in a row. No exceptions. It has turned into a typical call center. Sales goals are all that matter. The management is inexperienced and are not held accountable in anyway. Every person I work with is miserable wondering if they will make the cut for goal and still have a job. They advertise the job as customer service but ultimately it is a sales job and they will fire you for not making sales. Every year you will also take a pay cut and they tell us they need to save money.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2020-02-05

    GoDaddy Response

    February 7, 2020Team GoDaddy People Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you can find a way to move forward and love your job, we will share comments with our HR teams.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Call Center Pretending To Be Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hosting Support in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great offices and amenities such as full gym, supplemented meals and decent benefits. Very casual work environment and dress code (jeans, shorts, flip flops). Friendly and supportive co-workers.

    Cons

    GoDaddy's success was built on a reputation of fantastic customer service and 24/7 tech support. Arguably, GoDaddy may have started as a discount domain and hosting company, but what set them apart was their world class tech support. Today you can find cheaper hosting plans and cheaper domain registrars but you are hard pressed to find 24/7 support. Yet the current management seems to be doing everything in their power to erode the very thing that set GoDaddy apart from their competition. New sales are all that matter. GoDaddy's management has consistently diminished their technical scope of support while adopting a "up sell over support" mentality. As I write this, there is not a single tech support department option for their customer base. When a customer calls in for technical support the "tech support" team is required to attempt to sell them a new product, regardless of their issue. Their customer base is frustrated and starting to wise up to this pathetic, "Jiffy Lube" sales tactic. Meanwhile, employee attrition rates are shockingly high. My training class had roughly 20-25 people in it. Within the first 6 months, 14 of those employees have left and I know at least 5 more (including myself) are actively looking to leave. That is an employee attrition rate of well over 70%. Rather than retain employees with a high level of technical skills, GoDaddy's management chooses to increase sales quotas, which leads to higher employee attrition and loss of their customer base. GoDaddy is in a downward spiral and management is failing to address it. For all the new sales they are brining in, much of the potential profits are being squandered on new employee training costs. If you are looking to join a sales call center - no tech experience needed! (or wanted) This is the job for you. If you are serious about your tech career, avoid GoDaddy at all costs (at least the "Hosting Support" role).

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2019-02-24

    GoDaddy Response

    March 4, 2019Customer Care Operations Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We're happy that you enjoy the facilities and perks. When comparing to other contact centers, our benefits offerings are best-in-class since we benchmark against tech companies rather than contact centers. So the options are pretty amazing! To clear up some concerns raised, GoDaddy's Care organization has always been a service led sales motion. The service and technical support groups that set us apart, have always (15+ years) had sales requirements of some type. We recognize that not everyone wants to sell and some others may not want to solve. We're working on that. Additionally, our Wow scoring is entirely structured around giving customers consistently great, long-term experiences when we interact with them. While we've made big steps in the right direction with the program, there are still a number of things we're improving on. We hear you loud and clear. Finally, if you've got concerns as a current employee either on your experience or on your career development, we strongly encourage you to reach out to your manager or HR@ for guidance/assistance.

    Continue reading
  4. "Customer Consultant and Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Consultant and Sales in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, and hours, overtime

    Cons

    Metrics, customer service, technical issues

    GoDaddy2018-10-15
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Customer service/ sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time

    Pros

    The food in their cafeteria was pretty good. The trading provided is the bare minimum but if you are good at self teaching, you should be okay.

    Cons

    It’s like working at a frat house. Managers are allowed to curse at you, call you names, and humiliate you in front of colleagues. If you are a woman, I would advise you to look else where for employment. The job itself is not really customer service, it’s sales. They also encourage you to learn about their products and how they work when you’re at home, off the clock. I’m not sure that’s legal but it’s not surprising since they treat their business like a frat house. I will say I was never roofied, maybe that should go in the Pro’s section?

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-05-06

    GoDaddy Response

    May 21, 2018Glassdoor Response Team

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Subsidized meals is a great benefit we provide our employees. We pride ourselves on having incredible benefits program that not only includes great medical, dental, vision , etc., but also a focus on living a balanced and healthy life through the options that we offer in our Café’s. As far as the concerns with leadership, I can assure that we hold our leaders to a very high standard at GoDaddy. Their job is not to hit a sales target, but to inspire our people to want to deliver the absolute best for our customers. We pride ourselves as a company that promotes within and looks for individuals that have grit and determination to deliver a world class experience for our customers and our people. Who you know or who you are means very little compared to what you do and how you live our values. In regards to the sales feedback, we feel it’s important to address. GoDaddy does not just sell a product to our customers. We want every employee to have a needs based conversation about what our customers goals and dreams are, then we offer them a solution that will help them accomplish those goals and dreams. This approach is much different than just selling our customers a product. We are offering them solutions that will help the business of being in business a little easier.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Over-hyped Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, benefit, benefits! I loved the insurance benefits.

    Cons

    Came into this job thinking it was customer service only to find out sales was really what this job entailed, they don't care about their customers, only want to find out what can be sold instead of fixing what is wrong. Some of the things I was troubleshooting for these customers are things I didn't even learn in training and I was expected to basically do EVERYTHING for the customers. Hosting issue? Nope, sales has to troubleshoot. My supervisor wasn't helpful, my teammates weren't helpful, basically as soon as you get out of training you are on your own. It was such a joke, they say that everyone works as a team but I've never felt more isolated in a job environment before. I guess it was tougher as a woman, from the office I was in and my experience it was a real "dude's club". Not to mention our customers are horrible, whiny, rude and we basically enable them to act like this. I even had to help a customer click on an internet browser, are you kidding me? I've also been called stupid by multiple male customers and had to stay on the line with them and my sup told me to diffuse the call. Again, are you kidding me? Your employee is being verbally abused and being call derogatory names and you want them to stay on the call? That's how you enable customers, they think they can get away with things like that now. Congrats, GoDaddy, you've produced the meanest, laziest, useless customers on earth because you allow your reps to be abused and spoon feed these customers. Not to mention the sales goals were impossibly hard to get and to stay in your seat 96% of the day, that's very hard for a pregnant woman who constantly needs to pee. Very high bonus expectations, wasn't worth it.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-04-06

    GoDaddy Response

    May 1, 2018Employment Brand

    Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We would like to take a moment to address some of your concerns. Our customers experience is always our highest priority. Our customers typically call because there is a problem or issue that needs to be resolved. The most important thing to do on every interaction is to resolve that problem for the customer. The thing that makes GoDaddy different is that we don’t just resolve that issue. We ask every employee to deliver a world class experience to every customer by being their advocate. We want our people to ask our customers about their dreams and aspirations, talk to them about their online goals and provide them solutions that will help them down that journey. That is what customer service is, having your customers current and future needs your highest priority. We are our customers Seasoned Guides, it’s our responsibility to do more than just resolve their technical issue. We have, and are very proud of, a diverse culture at GoDaddy. We pride ourselves on making sure the people in our GoDaddy family all have the same opportunities to grow. We look for people with grit, determination, and a customer experience focus. Who you are or who know means very little compared to how you deliver for our customers and live our values every day.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Consultation and Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Gilbert, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learn new skills, great cafeteria

    Cons

    while they recognize amazing customer service skills, there is a huge amount of pressure to sell sell sell. Even when you get high marks on service from customers, you are still subject to corrective action for not selling thousands of dollars a day to irate customers who call in needing service.

    GoDaddy2018-02-28

    GoDaddy Response

    March 19, 2018Site Leader- Iowa

    Over the last few years we have invested a lot into our facilities for our employees. It’s important that our people work in an environment where they feel like they can be their authentic self and we provide areas for them relax and decompress. Whether that be taking a slide down to lunch, taking a pedal cart out for a spin, or challenging a friend to a game of ping pong. One of our core values is Live Passionately, so we do our best to give our people the time they need to spend with their families and a place to walk into where they can do their best work. Our #1 priority for every customer interaction is to solve the customers issue. GoDaddy does not just sell a product to our customers. We want every employee to have a needs based conversation about what our customers goals and dreams are, then we offer them a solution that will help them accomplish those goals and dreams. Sometimes that solution is you have everything you need to we just need to help you use the products you have to get you started. We base our goals and targets around delivering on that experience with every interaction.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work...sometimes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hosting Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome health benefits - Liberal policies on dress and attire - Great facilities - Great pay if you're into sales - Employees themselves are awesome

    Cons

    - C3 management is a boy's club - Corporate policies don't leave - Supervisors tend to lie to employees to avoid having to deal with issues or help employee out - Focus is now completely on sales with little effort towards actual customer service - Bonus structure encourages unhealthy competition and cut-throat work environment - Much better environment before going public (IPO)

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2017-12-29

    GoDaddy Response

    January 4, 2018Director, Customer Care

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We pride ourselves on having an incredible benefits program that not only includes great medical, dental, vision, etc., but also a focus on living a balanced and healthy life. From a compensation standpoint, we are always keeping an eye on our various compensation structures. We benchmark against the industries and have a compensation plan that helps us to attract and retain the very best talent. I agree with you that we have the best team members and awesome facilities as well! GoDaddy is and always has been a customer-first company. Each of our customer care team members are empowered to support our customers’ needs be they technical support or product alignment. On the roadmap for 2018 are a number of initiatives around improving the customer experience, using our NPS scores as a guide. Based on recent survey results we are focused on improvement in a number of areas that drive poor customer experience. We have also focused in recent years on increasing diversity in our leadership ranks. There is always room to improve, however, I am proud of the progress we have made over the last few years. In fact, we were recently voted a top company women. We also have a number of employee resource groups supporting our diverse workforce! Once again, thank you again for your candor and feedback. We will continue to challenge ourselves to improve and provide the best environment and culture for our employees. Michael Dickinson Director of Customer Care

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Do NOT work for Godaddy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Care Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work place, good work colleauges

    Cons

    Godaddy give the impression of being an empathetic company toward their customer and staff, the realism is you are trained to to sound empathetic, be friendly, open and fix any issues! this is just so you can lull the customer into a false sense of great customer care! when you first answer the call you need to follow their requirements i.e welcome the customer, get their contact number to build a confidence in the customer and then ask what the issue is, and confirm the issue.... in the mean time you are trained to look at their renewals that are upcoming and their life time spend! you are required to load carts for people on renewals and products you are about to consult to i.e office 365 and add ons ( archiving encryption and backups )which you are continuously told to sell sell sell. you are required to sell at least $576 of new sales per day to keep your job, you have to have at least a 8.6 customer survey and be available for calls for at least 96 % of your shift. Godaddy give over this persona of being all about customer service with a one stop care center when all they want from you as an employee is to root through the customers account while resolving their issues and sell them a product! Godaddy used to be a great place to work for but its all about the sales and if you miss out on any of your metrics you are put on a p.i.p ( personal improvement plan) i.e SELL more! Goaddy's big concern is having all their customers on Office 365! push it sell it sell the addons sell sell sell, the prices are low until the customer renews and by then its too late. you do make a bonus thats if you sell their products and if like me you dont have accounts taken off you and bigger sales moved over to another department! In my honest oppinion it was a year wasted ! oh and if you are a smoker? you will be paying $60 per paycheck to be on their free medical plan!!!

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2017-09-27

    GoDaddy Response

    October 8, 2017Director

    We appreciate you reaching out to share your insight. We are competing in a highly competitive space that requires us to constantly improve to meet the demands of our amazing customers. That commitment is what inspires us to continue our investments in great products and world class service. We must raise the bar and deliver more every day. We learn so much talking with our folks in many different forums, including how we can continue to help our Supervisors teach and guide their teams. Thanks for the advice, and good luck in future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  10. "Sales/Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time

    Pros

    Fun place - beer - candy - popcorn- games - slide - Tshirts

    Cons

    Took the position to sell. Was told that position was 80 sales - 20 percent customer service by the recruiter and in the interview. They pulled a total bait and switch. The facts were flipped - 20 percent Sales and 80 percent customer service. After talking to multiple co- workers they had been told the same when they were hired. The turn over rate is huge - perhaps if they were honest - those that wanted a sales position wouldn't accept the position offered , and your turn over wouldn't be so high.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2017-07-13

    GoDaddy Response

    July 17, 2017Customer Care Operations Director

    Thank you for your perspective. If you've got more specifics, please reach out to hr@godaddy.com or rvm@godaddy.com.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews