KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

GoDaddy

Engaged Employer

GoDaddy

Add a Review

GoDaddy Employee Reviews about "no longer"

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 2,154 reviews

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
GoDaddy CEO Aman Bhutani
Aman Bhutani
478 Ratings
Pros
  • "Higher than average pay and bonuses and great benefits(in 157 reviews)

  • "Wonderful people, fun environment, good benefits(in 81 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Most of the advice people/ upper management give is just blanket positivity(in 43 reviews)

  • "This is no longer a cons section oops(in 30 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    672

    214 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of GoDaddy and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "no longer"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome! You're well taken care of

      Nov 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First thing--don't let the negative reviews stop you from considering MSH. I almost let the bad reviews stop me from taking the offer but I don't regret it for a second. I've never worked somewhere where the culture fosters so much positivity and growth and teamwork. I love that everybody's young, the office is always full of energy, and everybody is so dang friendly and great to be around! The product is fascinating, although feels a little bit like an assembly line of workers in a machine. The variety of businesses you will work on will prevent it from feeling too repetitive though. Everybody's truly passionate and caring about customers. Overall great company culture, awesome management, everybody's helpful, the office is great. I could go on and on. This is an amazing first job.

      Cons

      Wish the pay was better. BUT commute by bus/carpool/bike/etc. is paid for, free Houndstooth barista, free breakfast. All three combined saves me so much time and money. So much. On top of that, they have very generous PTO, some work from home opportunities during holidays, and paid medical/dental/vision. This is no longer a cons section oops.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      GoDaddy Response

      COO

      Thanks for taking the time to leave this review! I’m proud to hear that you feel comfortable working here and that you value our culture, positive working environment, values, (and great perks like free Houndstooth coffee!) here at Main Street Hub. I agree with you, taking on a role with us is a great way to start and accelerate your career -- and get supported and elevated by your talented teammates and leaders along the way. It’s such an exciting time to be on our team, I’m glad you’re along for the ride! Feel free to email me directly if you’d like to offer any other feedback. All the best, Jeff Mosler, COO

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Like its stock, GoDaddy values are plummeting

      Dec 10, 2019 - Advanced Services Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Medical benefits are still some of the best you can find in town

      Cons

      The company keeps on manipulating employee pay to look more profitable. The company terminates employees citing their job is no longer available and then management recruits existing employees to fill the job roles of the people they just terminated. They talk a good game when it comes to employee development, but they don't have a proper career-pathing program and don't plan on advancing unless you're in the "club".

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Currently what it’s like

      Oct 13, 2019 - Sales Consultant in Gilbert, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people, amazing benefits

      Cons

      Work life balance is hard to come by. Career growth is also minimum unless you have a wide open schedule . Also big red flag. Goals are no longer achievable and there are way to many changes going on with the company at once. The company does not value their employees the way they use to.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Used to be a great place to work

      Oct 3, 2019 - Supervisor in Cedar Rapids, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I first started Go Daddy over 8 years ago it was a great company ran by Bob Parson. He knowing paid employees more because he wanted happy, helpful people answering the phone. He knew this would lead to a great customer interaction and produce a loyal customer base. He was right.

      Cons

      That was 8 years ago. Go Daddy is now on it's 4th CEO in that timeframe. Their new corporate mindset is only on profitability and no longer the people that made it a great company. Sales goals have gone up every year while the bonuses continue to be reduced. Sales calls are now purposely routed to agents without sales goals, that do not work on commission. The majority of employees do have sales goals and struggle to hit them now. If you fail to reach your goal 2 months in a row, you will be fired. The majority of tenured employees are now gone as a direct result. Upper management is disconnected and manages only by numbers they control through the calls they route. See for yourself and give their number a call as a customer. You will see the difference.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Get Your Experience...... Then Leave

      Jul 29, 2019 - Social Media Advisor in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a very millennial friendly office with awesome benefits. You get great dental, health, and vision insurance benefits plus a 130 dollar a month transportation credit to help you get to work that can also be used for personal use as well. As stated before it's a very young office so if your just beginning your career journey it's an excellent opportunity to meet people your own age. Since they don't have much previous requirements in terms of prior experience it's an amazing opportunity to get some experience on your resume that you can discuss with future employers. If your good at the job there is great opportunity to make 70-100 K because the compensation plan is set up to reward producers and eliminate dead weight (as most sales orgs are).

      Cons

      So most of the reps who usually complain about the company are often times people who just didn't really produce at the end of the day when things boil down to it. I had a fairly successful career during my time at MSH/GoDaddy missing out on President's Club by a few spots so give that some thought as you read the negative portion of my rating. I would say overall Main Street Hub was a great first job but was not a job I would ever consider a long-term career with. The attrition rate is terrible as on average more than 90 percent of your classmates from training will most likely be gone before their first year. There are many reasons for this ranging from low base pay, unstable monthly pay, monotony of job, inexperienced management etc. Since the company is trying to keep expenses down they essentially hire a mass of recruits for their training classes with the hopes of finding those 1-4 reps who can really be a producer. They offer a low base salary to ensure that they don't invest much in the other 40 plus reps who they know will no longer be with the company a year later. Since commissions are the only way to really survive the sales floor can get very toxic at times because since the GoDaddy merger your only allowed to call into the GoDaddy clientele. Since more than 40 percent of GoDaddy's Customers do not have a physical location that alright hits a significant portion of the eligible customers you can call. In order to compensate for the limited number of leads they had management had to really restrict the number of leads the reps had as well making sure the same leads were called repeatedly to ensure they weren't being wasted. As we were saying before, since the company relies mostly on people who are either new to sales or are just starting out their journey the same issues come up with entry level managers since a lot of them just don't have much experience leading teams. The company can sometimes make the mistake of assuming that a great rep will make a great manager and this is just not the case. I think ethics could also be a question at times as the product only seriously works for maybe 5 percent of the clients we call but when your manager is call-coaching you through a close they are going to make it seem as if this is the product that will be the be all end all for that business owner even though you know full well the best case scenario is that the business owner will not have to worry about spending time on their social media anymore. After merging with GoDaddy they opened the company up to calling Service Oriented Business so that was a market segment that had a lot of opportunity. As a result tons of businesses were being brought on but the company was not hiring enough Account Managers to help manage the increased load. This led to many account managers being spread thin as they were forced on so many more accounts than they were used to as MSH. This definitely impacted the overall customer experience of our product because the content team could not just invest the time in an individual business leading to very generic content and review responses.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great if you work hard for years. Screw over many customers. You might be able to keep you job...

      Feb 15, 2019 - Productivity Technical Support Specialist in Hiawatha, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Holiday Party THAT IS ALLLLLLLL.......

      Cons

      I worked for Godaddy for 4 years, No Happy anniversary, no way to go, instead they fired me after four years & 1 week. I was so excited to finally have my vacation time double after putting up with there Bull Sh*t for years it's finally going to pay off, WRONG..... Ok real truth, over the years their pay scale has dwindled to a trickle. Their commission Scale, a joke YES Commission, not bonus scale. Commission scales almost always over forecasted then they reel it back the next month when they realized they made a mistake. Don't worry about the people that did not hit their ridiculous minimums. They write you up on performance issues and fire you. All, because of management's mistakes. THIS IS NO LONGER A TECH SUPPORT SERVICE!!! THEY ARE SALES, REPEAT SALES COMPANY. They push out products with severe flaws they de-educate or dumb down their customers. This customer may have an actually good product they are using and are told it's obsolete and force them to an unproven, bug filled, cookie cutter product that doesn't even replace what they had. Result now new site makes you no money and you lose any SEO your site ever accrued. This only costs you business, TIME, money & this will be pushed on you every time you call in for help to a simple fix. They knew about severe bugs and continued to sell it for years. Keep in mind this was no small bug if you had an online store and your customer orders and the inventory didn't update so now your selling the same ONE -OF A-KIND product 10 times before you realize what's going on. Then you get to go into Customer recovery mode apologizing, refunding money, avoiding building bad reviews all because they want to make a 3000% profit on a bad product for their shareholders. Majority of the new hires are barely high school educated with zero technical support. Let alone no experience running a successful business, internet marketing, SEO Results. BY THE WAY, THEIR CREDO IS FAKE IT UNTIL YOU MAKE IT in training this can take 6 months!!! I don't want anyone recommending problems for my business because they can't properly train and or keep good agents. Let alone they are de-educate you or dumben you down. Now you have paid the price of ignorance and starting all over again for no reason just so they can get a few pennies in commission. All you're trying to do is succeed. When you call them they have been trained to fake their lack of knowledge, skills, and abilities as long as they do it with confidence How about after two years developing Carpal Tunnel Issues. Then company including upper management and Inhuman resources ignore the fact you injured push it off. All of their attendance and workman's compensation or leave processing is done by third parties that cant return a call or email. They lie to you tell what to expect then deny a well-qualified absence documented by Doctors. In return can cost you your job. Not to mention the last two years of my career at Godaddy I was transferred to a brand new department promised a 25% increase in pay. Every 3 months VP of Sales and support would come down give some lame speech how they are working on a budget and can't afford what they promised for over two years. So please tell me how good GODADDY EMPLOYMENT REALLY IS.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Definitely not for everyone

      Sep 20, 2018 - Advanced Hosting Support in Hiawatha, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High starting wage, great benefits, amazing culture (on paper).

      Cons

      The HR department is the biggest joke I have ever seen. The HR reps are empty shirts doing as little as possible, much less their jobs. At one point I was fired, given an exit interview, and escorted off the premises. The next day I was called and asked to come back in, because they had accidently confused my employee number with another employees. They literally did not bother doing the work in make sure they were firing the correct employee. The amount of stress and emotional anguish that caused me cannot be put into words. CSR's are not, under any circumstances, allowed to to hang up on a customer. On several occasions a furious customer threatened to kill me and my family. Not only did my supervisor refuse to take over the call, I was not permitted to hang up until the customer did. Meanwhile, I was being disparaged to my face by my team leader for being on the call for too long instead of taking new calls and making sales. The call where my life was being threatened. That I was not allowed to terminate. Wrap your head around that. I applied for a half dozen promotions. Given my attendance, performance, and numbers, as well as my education background, I met all of the criteria. Each time I was written up several hours before my promotion interview, and then informed that as I had a write up, I was not eligible for promotion for the next six months. A supervisor noticed me distraught the second or third time this happened and was finally honest with me: because I was in the top tier of sales each period, the company would not advance me, as they would be losing the money I was making in sales. Again, wrap your head around that. You literally cannot be promoted if you do well. I developed severe depression due to the constant stream of passive aggressive insults by a team leader, eventually filing for and receiving FMLA. Once I was prepared to return to work, I was informed that I could not until I sent a letter from my Doctor explaining my period of absence. I did so. They took a week to process it. I again tried to return, and they told me I would need to get a second letter explaining my absence during the week from the receipt of the original doctors note. I did so. They took several days to process that, and requested an additional note to explain my absence during that time. This happened several times, until finally my Doctor advised me he could no longer continue to provide notes as it was a waste of his time.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Really wanted to believe GoDaddy was different.

      Mar 13, 2018 - Inbound Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good cafeterias/food options -It's safe. Slackers that never hit their goal can survive forever. Just be a "yes man" smile and drink the Kool-Aid, you'll do just fine.

      Cons

      -Branding/vision is an utter nightmare. One manager will have a meeting pushing sales figures and big numbers, then another manager will have a meeting saying they no longer value sales (sales goals go up regardless of the shark "culture" they're trying to do away with). -They don't make products and services people get excited about, so to make up for poor figures for shareholders, they squeeze every penny out of their sales teams/employees. -They try to control the narrative about bad news so they will tell you "good news" is coming but this good news is usually cuts in commission, higher sales goals, less pay, more QA and they expect you to be excited about it.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      GoDaddy Response

      Employment Brand

      Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience with is. First and foremost, GoDaddy’s focus is around creating a world class customer experience which stems from our idyllic culture. We want every employee to have meaningful conversations with our customers about their dreams and aspirations and in turn offer them a product solution that will help them make that dream a reality. We hold the entire customer experience, including our product teams, to a higher regard than just selling our customers a product. We will always continue to grow our organization to make sure we reach and help as many small business customers as we can, with that growth there are times where we need to raise what is expected from our employees around goals and targets. This is true in every company that wants to make a difference for their customers and their people. When making any type of change we will always look at how it will affect our customers, our people, and our business. Over the last few years we have invested a lot into our facilities for our employees. It’s important that our people work in an environment where they feel like they can be their authentic self and we provide areas for them relax and decompress. Whether that be taking a slide down to lunch, taking a pedal cart out for a spin, appreciation contests, or challenging a friend to a game of ping pong. One of our core values is Live Passionately; so we do our best to give our people the time they need to spend with their families and a place to walk into where they can do their best work.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Really good company

      Feb 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are a good company with a lot of nice benefits. Healthcare, 401k, great people and the Christmas party, of course!

      Cons

      Recent changes in bonus structure. We no longer receive anything for renewals. Although the commissions were smaller than a new sale, it still helped with the review of a customers account. Since the change, more and more customers are complaining about renewals they didn't know about since there isn't any incentive to check. We're also being pushed to sell more. When I first started over a year ago, it was about consulting and building a relationship rather than being pushy salespeople and the customers can tell!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      GoDaddy Response

      Customer Care Operations Director

      Thanks for the feedback! There's a lot of great perks and benefits at GoDaddy. With regard to the bonus plan within our Care organization, our goal is to help our customers be successful. Along with a whole LOT of hard work in their ventures, part of that success comes from our team members discussing long term goals and next steps and, where appropriate, aligning products with those needs. Other times, it's taking care of their online technical needs completely and efficiently so that they can get back to their day. In all cases, making sure that customers receive an brief but effective review of their account is important and is a basic expectation of the job. That's not something that a bonus plan covers but instead the rest of the perks, benefits and pay mentioned at the top of the review.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Not for everyone.

      Oct 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are nice and very motivated before they hit the floor and become jaded and miserable.

      Cons

      Recruiters do not tell you enough during the hiring process. The mental stress you are under to meet their expectations when you're on the floor taking calls is unreal. They had made the mistake of setting high expectations for clients in the past, to taking away services and discounts previously offered overnight; making the representative the bad guy. The expectations have changed along with the company. They no longer and have the small company feeling. It is a mindless corporate place like every other call center out there now. Don't let the recruiters or friends who have been working there years fool you into thinking it's a career. A lot of people hired with me were told it was easy to move up and around. That is a lie, it won't happen and you will be stuck on phones. More than half of my training class left within two months because of lack of hours, in ability to make bonus and not being able to make a living. Again, it is no longer the company you think it is. They are taking advantage of their employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      GoDaddy Response

      Customer Care Operations Director

      Thank you for the feedback. Our talent acquisition team has taken steps, such as call shadowing before interviewing, to help people get a solid understanding of the work very early on. If you would like to discuss any of the other experiences you've mentioned, please feel free to reach out to rvm@godaddy.com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

    Popular Careers with GoDaddy Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at GoDaddy? Share Your Experiences

    or