GoPro Employee Reviews about "cameras"

Updated Mar 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 425 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
GoPro Founder & CEO Nicholas Woodman
Nicholas Woodman
238 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of GoPro and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "cameras"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Company

    Mar 12, 2021 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hires truly talented individuals, friendly coworkers, great company culture, inspiring company meetings, free cameras, amazing health benefits, has a diversity and inclusion initiative. This is the first company I've ben proud to work for.

    Cons

    You may have to work on legacy code from time to time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking time out of your day to share your review and are so pleased to learn that you are having a positive experience. We care deeply about the wellbeing of our employees and hope it continues to show. Should you have any additional feedback please feel free to email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Company is great but some managers are not inline with people they manage

    Nov 18, 2020 - Staff Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free latest cameras each year

    Cons

    Some managers are not experienced to handle the teams

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at GoPro. We value your input and are pleased to hear you enjoyed some of our unique perks - your very own GoPro(s)! We are always looking to improve our employee experience so if you wish to provide any additional feedback please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    directionless future

    Feb 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The few cameras we make are awesome

    Cons

    Only two real products. future looks bleak.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We'd love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Cool Place to Work ... But...

    Aug 28, 2019 - QA Automation Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool CEO gave the employees freedom to do anything (encouraged using GoPro cameras and accessories) they wanted on Thursdays

    Cons

    Inexperienced with managing software engineers in QA. When the going got tough, management wasn't very nice (and the founder bought a $20 million yacht). Also, the company took on a product that they had no experience in developing nor testing of. Bad choice. Bad decison.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good

    Jul 1, 2019 - Videographer/Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First gopro is a really good company to work with they make the best cameras for capturing action videos.

    Cons

    You have to pay attention to the costumer

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you're enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Cool company, lots of issues with management

    Jan 25, 2018 - Senior DevOps Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Peers were great, some decent perks, cool offices, cool cameras, fun tech challenges

    Cons

    Management was a wreck, way too political. Lots of "Nick Woodman wants this done" type of delegation.

    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Recent results are good, but all based on deep cost cutting

    Sep 15, 2017 - Senior Product Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Location, great office buildings, TVs everywhere, some smart people, and of course the benefit of free gopro cameras as a full time employee

    Cons

    Everything that the company has launched since my short time there has failed in one way or another: - GoPro Plus - who wants to pay for premium storage when Google offers it for free? - Karma - dead when launched. Relaunched by tainted by poor reputation and barely made a dent against DJI worldwide - Fusion - teaser didn't drum up much enthusiasm. if launched on time at a decent price point can be a solid product (but only if) All of projects literally got their funding slashed ever since I got there. I have experienced 3 different bosses in my less than 1 year tenure. Talk about a wild ride! Too much of a bro culture. The MSFT presence died when Tony Bate was canned along with his lieutenants. The only ones left are mostly ex EA and ex Apple employees. Some are genuinely good, but most are clearly just collecting a paycheck until they get their shot at a pink slip and possibly a nice severance. HR has been constantly handing them out in a relentless pursue to cut costs since December of last year. Unless something drastic happens they will end up being sold.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Rad company, awesome people, and the sweetest culture..

    Jul 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Now that we're focused on making awesome cameras the future seems bright. Plus ask about Live It!

    Cons

    IT should not have to report to Finance.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Energetic place to work

    Oct 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues are friends and the work environment is conducive to fostering cross-team collaboration. If you like working on consumer products that you, your friends/family and people around the world use - then this is a great place to be. Great life/work balance with Live It Thursdays and plenty of amenities to keep you going throughout the day. Access to latest office equipment, clean and modern work space and free parking on campus. Company's values are evident where ever you look and are reflected in the day-to-day activities. GoPro is the leader in the activity camera market and recent launch of new cameras and drones continue to get people excited about purchasing and using our products and easily sharing media using our new mobile and desktop apps.

    Cons

    At times work can be difficult and you end up spending extra time to get things completed but this is probably true with any technology or consumer product oriented company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Really fun and dynamic, needs to up execution capabilities

    May 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    So much fun. Never had so much fun at work because GoPro is filled with super passionate and interesting people and is working on really interesting products (cameras, flying stuff, accssories, media biz, etc)

    Cons

    Needs to improve execution capabilities. GoPro was not historically a strong R&D company. HOWEVER, through good hires and a series of very smart acquisitions, it has singficantly improved its core engineering strength. Now, GoPro needs to step-up is execution capabilties.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with GoPro Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GoPro? Share Your Experiences

or