KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

GoPro

Engaged Employer

GoPro

Add a Review

GoPro Employee Reviews about "gopro"

Updated Aug 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 425 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
GoPro Founder & CEO Nicholas Woodman
Nicholas Woodman
238 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of GoPro and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "gopro"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Finally on the right path!

    Jun 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great culture - Emphasis on employee engagement (even while remote / shelter in place) - Really cool opportunities to connect with employees (remote yoga & workouts, DIB listening & learning sessions, remote book clubs, game contests, etc) - Competitive compensation, bonus and RSUs - Amazing benefits - Huge opportunity for financial gain with the stock / RSUs being relatively low - Managers / Leaders always look internal first for promotions / upward mobility

    Cons

    Pre COVID-19, I would have said that we keep doing the same thing year-over-year expecting different results.... This year is different, and every employee feels it. There is a new energy at GoPro and we are so excited for what is to come. COVID-19 forced GoPro to adopt a DTC (direct to consumer) model to prioritize our GoPro.com efforts over sales through retail, etc. For the first time in a long time, IT MAKES SENSE. The opportunity is right in front of us, and all teams are executing at an incredible level to make this turnaround successful. Our strong brand will pull us through COVID-19 and then we are going to be extremely well-positioned for amazing things in 2021 and beyond. I can’t wait.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to review our experience at GoPro. We are so happy to hear you are enjoying your time here and that you hold such a positive outlook for what's next. We, too, are feeling optimistic about where GoPro is headed. If you have additional feedback you'd like to share, don't hesitate to connect with us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best company I've ever worked for

    Apr 27, 2020 - Recruiting Manager in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GoPro is by far the best company I've ever worked for. It's filled with passionate, intelligent, creative minds that are all driven to create incredible products. I've never been surrounded by so much inspiration and every day coming into work we have opportunities to make the seemingly impossible...possible. Everyone at GoPro is passionate about the product and the brand and that shared passion makes for an incredible work environment. The offices at GoPro are another huge perk to working here. They definitely built and designed them with the employees in mind. All the community spaces have GoPro videos on loop so you're surrounded by images of GoPro athletes and everyday people - all doing incredible things. Each office has different amenities like beach cruisers to ride to lunch, community surfboards, onsite gyms with free yoga, fitness, and meditation classes and tons of outdoor space for meetings or to get a little sunshine while you answer emails. The fact that GoPro provides all of these benefits for our physical and mental health is a testament to their commitment to a healthy work life balance. GoPro also has great benefits (100% covered for the employee) and a generous time off policy (unlimited). It's by far the best company I've ever worked for and I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking.

    Cons

    I've been with GoPro for four years and I've seen them go through ups and downs (like every company does) and I still consider it to be the best company I've ever worked for.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for your contributions over 3+ years here at GoPro! We appreciate your review and are stoked to hear you’re enjoying your time at GoPro. We have an awesome crew (you included) and pride ourselves on providing an inspiring and healthy environment for them. We always welcome additional feedback at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great experience while it lasted

    May 20, 2020 - Senior Product Quality Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people there were an eclectic mix of experience levels, those still sharpening their skills and those with multiple advanced degrees. The environment was ripe for innovation and the enthusiasm was contagious. When I started there, they were still in Half Moon Bay. Seeing the company grow so quickly was like watching a kanagaroo hop across a minefield - you couldn't bear to watch and you couldn't look away. I made so many great friends and learned so much there. I'm proud of what we achieved. My time there was the greatest experience of my 40+ year career.

    Cons

    So many highly competitive individuals in one place, combined with a pace of growth that was literally exponential became a bit mind-numbing and the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune ultimately distracted the company from its core competency - cameras, editing and sharing videos. The other areas GoPro ventured into weren't all bad ideas, but the frantic pace at which these changes were ramped up made it more difficult for any of them to contribute to the bottom line of a rapidly-growing organization.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working at GoPro! We value your feedback and are stoked to hear it was the greatest experience over your 40+ year career. If you have any further feedback, please feel free to email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love Working Here

    May 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GoPro is the most rewarding place I have ever worked. -People: By far the best part of working here. GoPro is filled with passionate, bright and engaging individuals. -Facilities are beautiful: a stocked kitchen, yoga/bootcamp, showers, stand-up desks, and more -Benefits: competitive comp, health insurance, generous time-off and parental leave, your very own GoPro (!) + discounts -Wellness: GoPro takes the health & wellbeing of their employees seriously. I've never worked for a company that has provided more tools for me to keep myself healthy and happy. -Work is challenging, engaging, and inclusive. I feel like I have the ability to make an impact and yet still have a great work/life balance -Product & brand: need I say more?

    Cons

    The last few months were a challenging transition for many due to COVID and a restructure. While it was tough to see talented people let go, GoPro delivered with compassion throughout the whole process.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Great company to work for, unless you’re a contractor

    Oct 27, 2019 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall company culture is great, most people are passionate about what they do and they take really good care of their full-time employees.

    Cons

    GoPro has a reputation as a really cool company to work for with great benefits. While that’s true for full-time employees, they shamelessly take advantage of their reputation when hiring contractors. A very large percentage of the workforce are contractors and when interviewing for a contract position they’ll tell you that the longest they can keep anyone as a contractor is 18 months. What they don’t tell you is that if they want to keep you after 18 months instead of hiring you full-time they’ll basically lay you off for 3 months and then rehire you as a contractor for another 18 months. This is their loophole to work around CA laws so they can keep someone as a contractor forever. Unethical abuse of contractors? You decide. Also you have no paid time off, mandatory unpaid holidays and a health insurance that’s pretty much the same as paying it 100% out of pocket.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The CEO is holding this company back.

    Aug 12, 2020 - Senior Product Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great products and passionate people

    Cons

    CEO lacks flexibility, imagination and vision. GoPro has great products and passionate people, but is being held back by a stubborn CEO who doesn't have any flexibility, imagination or vision.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience. While we appreciate your feedback, we respectfully disagree with your assessment. Our founder and CEO’s imagination and vision created this company, brand and category, and his leadership, innovation and collaboration with our teams are why we continue to set the standard for creating solutions that our millions of global customers love.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic Company without a Future

    Jan 18, 2018 - Engineering Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A top-notch place to work, but it's impossible to separate the company's downward spiral from the culture and experience of working here. With every round of layoffs, morale plummets and the future looks more bleak than before. I appreciate GoPro's company values which creates a culture of valuing people, celebrating life, and giving back. As with any tech company, work-life balance can be a challenge but GoPro truly does aspire to have healthy, well-balanced employees. GoPro's internal support teams such as their People Team (HR) are among numerous stand-out teams of professionals that "get it" and help create a pleasant and positive workplace atmosphere that jibes. There isn't too much bureaucracy and those teams are enabled to truly help and support the employees.

    Cons

    The challenging business environment GoPro has faced these past two to three years has hamstrung the company's potential.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Recent results are good, but all based on deep cost cutting

    Sep 15, 2017 - Senior Product Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Location, great office buildings, TVs everywhere, some smart people, and of course the benefit of free gopro cameras as a full time employee

    Cons

    Everything that the company has launched since my short time there has failed in one way or another: - GoPro Plus - who wants to pay for premium storage when Google offers it for free? - Karma - dead when launched. Relaunched by tainted by poor reputation and barely made a dent against DJI worldwide - Fusion - teaser didn't drum up much enthusiasm. if launched on time at a decent price point can be a solid product (but only if) All of projects literally got their funding slashed ever since I got there. I have experienced 3 different bosses in my less than 1 year tenure. Talk about a wild ride! Too much of a bro culture. The MSFT presence died when Tony Bate was canned along with his lieutenants. The only ones left are mostly ex EA and ex Apple employees. Some are genuinely good, but most are clearly just collecting a paycheck until they get their shot at a pink slip and possibly a nice severance. HR has been constantly handing them out in a relentless pursue to cut costs since December of last year. Unless something drastic happens they will end up being sold.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fun tech company. Limited growth opportunity. Decent pay. Good work-life balance.

    Aug 21, 2017 - Marketing in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GoPro has a fairly young workforce. Most people are in their late twenties - thirties. Great culture. The people are really cool so it's easy to make friends. Like, actual friends, not just at-work friends. The pay is pretty decent. For being a tech company, it's probably amongst the cooler companies and jobs in my opinion.

    Cons

    From top to bottom there are operational inefficiencies. This seems to be improving more recently, but many of the big hits the company has taken can be accredited to the CEO and executive staff. Aside from that, my biggest con about GoPro is the lack of growth opportunities. Teams have been "trimmed down" so people have more responsibility, but the teams aren't growing, so you can't really move to the next level of your career (unless you're entry level).

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Can you think of a better brand to work for?

    May 24, 2016 - Recruiter in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Where do I start? The brand. The people. The product. The vision. The passion. 2016/2017 is going to be epic at GoPro and to be a part of this amazing ride - I could not picture working anywhere else.

    Cons

    Sure - the company is chaotic, but that is what happens when you grow as quickly as we have. There are glaring growing pains, but that is what makes GoPro different than other companies. If you want to make a difference, impact change - there are plenty of opportunities to do that.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

Popular Careers with GoPro Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GoPro? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

GoPro

13 days ago

Community
We are thrilled to partner with The Redford Center Grants for the fourth year, with the mission of advancing environmental solutions through the power of storytelling. #GoProForaCause + The Redford Center have supported 36 cutting-edge documentary films that drive solutions for people + the planet. Do you have an environmental story to tell? Apply for a $20k Redford Center grant + GoPro camera package. There are 12 documentary grants up for grabs. Click the link in our bio to visit GoPro’s blog, The Current, for more information. Film credit: Kindhumans
Shared image - GoPro for a Cause Spotlight: The Redford Center
GoPro for a Cause Spotlight: The Redford Center
gopro.com

GoPro Photos

+ Add Photo
GoPro photo of: GoPro at SF Pride 2017!
GoPro photo of: GoPro Women's Summit 2019
GoPro photo of: GoPro People Team Sushi Challenge!
GoPro photo of: Hackathon Day
GoPro photo of: Munich Office
GoPro photo of: Munich Kitchen
GoPro photo of: Bucharest Lobby
See All Photos