GoPro Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 425 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
GoPro Founder & CEO Nicholas Woodman
Nicholas Woodman
238 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of GoPro and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love Working Here

    May 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GoPro is the most rewarding place I have ever worked. -People: By far the best part of working here. GoPro is filled with passionate, bright and engaging individuals. -Facilities are beautiful: a stocked kitchen, yoga/bootcamp, showers, stand-up desks, and more -Benefits: competitive comp, health insurance, generous time-off and parental leave, your very own GoPro (!) + discounts -Wellness: GoPro takes the health & wellbeing of their employees seriously. I've never worked for a company that has provided more tools for me to keep myself healthy and happy. -Work is challenging, engaging, and inclusive. I feel like I have the ability to make an impact and yet still have a great work/life balance -Product & brand: need I say more?

    Cons

    The last few months were a challenging transition for many due to COVID and a restructure. While it was tough to see talented people let go, GoPro delivered with compassion throughout the whole process.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lots of Potential, but Bad Management Keeps Holding it Back

    Feb 21, 2021 - Program Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Good product and brand 2. Mostly great co-workers 3. 50% off GoPro's and accessories every quarter 4. Good work-life balance 5. Depending on where you are, the pay is very good, and also has a bonus plan 6. Fantastic medical, dental, and vision benefits

    Cons

    1. The CEO needs to go. Too often he has taken the blame for the company's bad decisions but yet he continues to stay there because he owns most of the company. He should leave the day to day running of the company to a CEO who knows what he/she is doing. 2. The CFO is also terrible. Most of the pricing decisions came from him and were awful. There is a reason the stock is where it is and it's due to the CEO and CFO 3. The company talks a good game about diversity, but of the C level executives there is not a single person that is non-Caucasian. There are some women in high positions which is great but not good enough. 4. Too many decisions are taken that are based on gut feeling by the CEO, despite stating they look at data.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for your years of contributions to GoPro! We value all feedback, positive and negative, as it helps us understand what we are doing well and where we have room to improve. We are in the midst of reshaping the future of GoPro with our transition to a more efficient, subscriber-oriented direct-to-consumer model, and at times our long-term business goals can create short-term challenges. And we are continuously working to build a more representative GoPro. We will always have work to do here and invite you to contribute to the actions we take to improve GoPro. We hope you participated in our recent Global Diversity, Equity, Inclusion + Belonging Day (DEIB Day) + encourage you to participate in DEIB Force activity, ERGs and/or our DEIB discussion groups on Donut. Participation drives action and we appreciate your willingness to contribute to our evolution. We’re happy to discuss other feedback you may have. Please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Apr 5, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People are great, those left here WANT to be here, and are high performers - DTC and subscription model seems to be paying off - Flexible work arrangements - Great health benefits - Discounts (30-50%) at most major outdoor industry companies (ski, bike, surf, outwear, electronics, etc) - Exciting projects - Work life balance has been great - Stock is up at the moment - Culture, even while remote, feels amazing. Very active community on Workplace (internal message board), sharing cool content, great discussion and active conversations about how to grow business

    Cons

    - No 401k match currently - Compensation is ok, but of course not as high as FAANG/Snap - Being out innovated by chinese companies and cell phone industry - Lack of resources to add obvious features and enhancements to the ecosystem - Negative aspects due to trying to keep shareholders happy - Short term thinking trying to survive the pandemic, as opposed to long term thinking and investing

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We appreciate your detailed response and are happy to hear you're enjoying your experience. If you have any additional feedback please feel free to email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best company I've ever worked for

    Apr 27, 2020 - Recruiting Manager in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GoPro is by far the best company I've ever worked for. It's filled with passionate, intelligent, creative minds that are all driven to create incredible products. I've never been surrounded by so much inspiration and every day coming into work we have opportunities to make the seemingly impossible...possible. Everyone at GoPro is passionate about the product and the brand and that shared passion makes for an incredible work environment. The offices at GoPro are another huge perk to working here. They definitely built and designed them with the employees in mind. All the community spaces have GoPro videos on loop so you're surrounded by images of GoPro athletes and everyday people - all doing incredible things. Each office has different amenities like beach cruisers to ride to lunch, community surfboards, onsite gyms with free yoga, fitness, and meditation classes and tons of outdoor space for meetings or to get a little sunshine while you answer emails. The fact that GoPro provides all of these benefits for our physical and mental health is a testament to their commitment to a healthy work life balance. GoPro also has great benefits (100% covered for the employee) and a generous time off policy (unlimited). It's by far the best company I've ever worked for and I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking.

    Cons

    I've been with GoPro for four years and I've seen them go through ups and downs (like every company does) and I still consider it to be the best company I've ever worked for.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for your contributions over 3+ years here at GoPro! We appreciate your review and are stoked to hear you’re enjoying your time at GoPro. We have an awesome crew (you included) and pride ourselves on providing an inspiring and healthy environment for them. We always welcome additional feedback at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great work culture

    May 22, 2021 - Compensation Analyst in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and work life balance

    Cons

    Lower salary compared to market

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to review your time at GoPro! We're happy to hear you felt balanced in your professional + personal life and experienced great culture during you time here. Thank you for your feedback. If there is anything additional you'd like to discuss, please email us at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    No innovation, no growth, nice people

    Apr 29, 2020 - Marketing in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Pretty relaxed environment. Many nice people and friends. The brand is well-known and fun to be associated with.

    Cons

    No innovation, same every year. Little to no career growth. Only senior leadership has true agency. Majority of company doesn't trust senior leadership (Culture Amp Survey). Cross-functional teams are very silo'd. Bad communication and organization across the company. A very homogenous group, especially at the top.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    GoPro Response

    Recruiting Operations Program Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We’d like to recognize and thank you for contributions for the past 3-4 years! We are sure you’ve probably experienced good days, bad days, and a lot in between over the course of your time at GoPro. Your feedback is important to us and we are sorry to hear about your experience. When challenging business decisions are made many factors come into play, including the impact on our employees. We know that layoffs are hard for any company no matter the circumstance. We acknowledge that and are now looking forward to our future. If you bear with us in our time of transition, we are confident that our whole company will feel the positive impact. If you would like to share additional feedback, you can email us directly at recruitingfeedback@gopro.com. We value your candid feedback and seek to cultivate a culture of honesty.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A company that (I think for now) still cares, despite the recent layoffs

    Jan 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance, some very bright engineers, free swag and pretty good full time benefits. GoPro has good health insurance benefits, a great ESPP plan, an awesome 401K match and free cameras and other things that come from time to time. The Electrical Engineering group despite some obvious shortcomings does a pretty decent job.If they are not able to do more, it is because of a system that actually does not allow innovation or risk taking.

    Cons

    Where do I start? Absolutely incompetent top level engineering management. The worst lot I have seen during my work in more than half a dozen high tech product companies in Silicon Valley. There are 2 to 3 senior directors in Engineering are actually alright, but beyond it is a bunch of people hired due to connections who have never actually put out a viable product and may not understand basic engineering principles. Program management is a bizarre mess with totally useless folks who would not find jobs anywhere else. Product schedules come from cuckoo-land without any rationale. Product management and PRD folks try to drive engineering despite total lack of technical background. Product refresh cycles are not planned and seem to be completely random.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    May 12, 2016 - Recruiting Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The most common theme I hear from employees about why they love to work at GoPro is the people that make up the company. You are surrounded with (mostly) positive, passionate people who have interests outside of work. Work life balance is really possible here. There is flexibility to go to the gym or surfing before work or at lunch. We even get two hours of time each week to "live it". This is time that employees are encouraged to leave the office and live the brand, use the products and share the content with their networks. Also, because we are a fast growing company, there is room for growth outside of your typical role a lot of the time. There is a lot of work to do, so I've seen people be successful in expanding their roles to work on things they are truly interested in and passionate about.

    Cons

    Because of the nature of the fast growth, there has been very little structure put in place. It's been a fast ride and it seems that employees are trying to just keep up. It's time to stop and become a more efficient and effective company.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic Company without a Future

    Jan 18, 2018 - Engineering Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A top-notch place to work, but it's impossible to separate the company's downward spiral from the culture and experience of working here. With every round of layoffs, morale plummets and the future looks more bleak than before. I appreciate GoPro's company values which creates a culture of valuing people, celebrating life, and giving back. As with any tech company, work-life balance can be a challenge but GoPro truly does aspire to have healthy, well-balanced employees. GoPro's internal support teams such as their People Team (HR) are among numerous stand-out teams of professionals that "get it" and help create a pleasant and positive workplace atmosphere that jibes. There isn't too much bureaucracy and those teams are enabled to truly help and support the employees.

    Cons

    The challenging business environment GoPro has faced these past two to three years has hamstrung the company's potential.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    GoPro? More like GoBro

    Nov 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Work/life balance is great - Pretty flexible work schedule - Laid back and casual work environment - 2 hours every Thursday to "live the brand" and use our products

    Cons

    - Nepotism: they like to keep it in the family and hire friends who aren't necessarily qualified for the job - Senior leadership is greedy and seems to push on teams for the "biggest" launches ever even when the narrative/story doesn't make sense (you just have to upgrade 2 cameras, drone, apps, new videos, etc. all at once) - People don't question senior leadership's decisions and there's not a place to share feedback; senior leadership doesn't seem open to feedback - There isn't a north star guiding vision - No transparency across teams or vertically in the organization: you operate in silos - No clue how promotions work and if you do get promoted there's no recognition. Little career growth at the company - Lack of diversity in leadership: a bunch of white dudes who like to ski, surf and skate call the shots - Location - I can't bring my dog to work

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

Popular Careers with GoPro Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GoPro? Share Your Experiences

or