GoTranscript Transcriptionist Reviews | Glassdoor

GoTranscript Transcriptionist Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Peter Trebek
47 Ratings
  1. "Perfect, I'm very happy to work with this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Italy, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoTranscript for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good communication! I'm very happy to work for this company!

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about GoTranscript

    GoTranscript2017-04-08
  2. "abysmal pay, hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GoTranscript for less than a year

    Pros

    You get plenty of time to complete the jobs you're able to do

    Cons

    Most recordings you have to transcribe either have absolutely terrible sound quality or have speakers with heavy accents. You get paid around $2 to $2.50 for a 10 minute recording, but that takes over an hour if you're new. I've still not been able to do it in less than an hour because of the recordings despite being able to type 110+ words per minute consistently.

    GoTranscript2019-06-17
  3. "Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist 

    I worked at GoTranscript for less than a year

    Pros

    - Getting accepted is not too hard -Good at notifying you when new jobs are available

    Cons

    -Low pay (at least at the beginning) -Limited number of jobs

    GoTranscript2019-04-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible audio and extremely low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GoTranscript part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work at your own pace. Pay on time

    Cons

    Most of the available jobs are horrible to transcribe. Either the audio quality is horrible or the accent is deplorable. Despite that, they still do the same rating for both difficult and simple audio.

    Advice to Management

    Be a little bit considerate with the rating system as far as difficult audios are concerned as compared to easy audios

    GoTranscript2019-02-28
  5. "Transcriber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GoTranscript part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home around your own schedule, you get to choose what files you work on, you can preview file before claiming the job, paid every week via Paypal - they don't take out fees though so I'm not sure why people are saying this. Maybe that's how it used to be and they changed it. All I know is what gets paid to my Paypal is exactly what was earned. It's not everyday you can apply for work online, do a simple test...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing I can think of is sometimes it's difficult to find good audio files. Sometimes people are on there snatching up those jobs left and right and once in a while there will be times where you feel like there's not one file available that you can do (without getting a poor rating so why risk). This isn't the norm, however. Usually there are pretty good files on there. Once you do some and get good ratings...

    Show More
    GoTranscript2018-11-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoTranscript part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are friendly staff. Good to work with.

    Cons

    Pay is little. They need to review payment.

    Advice to Management

    Review payment policy.

    GoTranscript2018-07-20
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GoTranscript part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's fairly easy to apply and I heard back from them soon after doing the test job.

    Cons

    It's difficult to find decent quality audio files and the pay is low.

    GoTranscript2018-05-29
  8. "Good for pocket change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at GoTranscript for less than a year

    Pros

    You are able to work remotely. Great start for those starting off in the transcription field. Work is always available.

    Cons

    The money does not compensate for the work completed.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more time. Raise the price for the longer audio files.

    GoTranscript2018-03-02
  9. "Very low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GoTranscript for more than a year

    Pros

    So far there are no pros because I haven't completed any jobs yet due to the very low rate of pay.

    Cons

    The pay is so low that I haven't even completed one job yet. I refuse to work for 23 cents per audio minute.

    Advice to Management

    Offer better pay to your employees.

    GoTranscript2018-01-10
  10. "Horrible people, horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist in Mystic, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoTranscript for more than a year

    Pros

    No good reason to work for this company. They are unethical, greedy and unprofessional

    Cons

    Poor pay Unprofessional staff/admin Inconsiderate, rude and demanding

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who are more mature and professional. And pay people.

    GoTranscript2017-12-30
Found 71 reviews