Gogo "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gogo Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated May 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Gogo President and CEO Oakleigh Thorne  (no image)
Oakleigh Thorne
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment; you are never bored and something new to learn(in 17 reviews)

  • "Gogo provides great work/life balance and knows how to recognize it;s employees(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "None experienced as it offers proper work life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Because of the large amount of growth in short period of time we continue to go through growing pains(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Gogo

    Pros

    Great place to work. Lot of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    None experienced as it offers proper work life balance.

    Gogo2018-08-14
  2. Helpful (18)

    "Much potential, shaky future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gogo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance (although that may depend on department and manager) - Nice facilities in a great location - Interesting technology - Interesting industry - Opportunity to work with a lot of very smart people

    Cons

    - Disorganized/unclear priorities - Difficult to make an impact - Bad/non-existent career development - Lots of dead weight throughout the organization - Bad leadership

    Continue reading
    Gogo2017-10-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Fun environment, great people and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gogo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Fast paced leading edge tech company. Opportunities to learn new things come up regularly. People are open and encourage to new ideas and ways of thinking. (You have the opportunity to make an impact on how things are done and see your ideas turn into reality.) Fun environment with forward looking people that strive to continuously improve. Time off is generous (you can take what you want). Close to train stations makes commute from burbs easy. Lots of diversity in type of work and projects you get to work on.

    Cons

    While I enjoy the pace of work and innovation, for some it may move too quickly and be overwhelming. Normal growing pains with regular changing of processes to accomodate innovation and change.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2017-10-18

    Gogo Response

    November 6, 2017Employer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for the feedback on the changes you've noticed. We are continuously focused on making Gogo an incredible place to work! Cheers.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gogo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This place is interesting to work at. They are attempting to modernize their legacy systems to sit on Amazon Web Services. There are a number of opportunities to contribute, including front end projects all the way down to working on building out lambda architectures in the big data space. Everyone is mostly friendly and willing to help you out if you have trouble. No one will completely hold your hand here, however everyone's willing to help each other out. Pay is generally above market from what I gather. The SVP understands the value of bringing in the right contributors in order to get stuff done.

    Cons

    Too much weight on length of employment. They have some really good people coming in with under a year of experience, and often their experience gets drowned out by an older way of thinking that is presented by people with 2+ years of tenure. Politics can be a bit thick. There is favoritism at all levels. If you are in good with the right people, you're pretty set and will be given full power without much question. Some of the work can be kinda dry. This is subjective, however. Work-Life balance is a challenge due to an on-call schedule that is very invasive on one's life in the current state. You are expected to support systems you have nothing to do with, and in turn, know nothing about (they want their Java programmers to support LavaStorm and PHP processes, for example). When you are on call - you have to plan to be ready 24x7 because there is a 15 minute required response.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2016-12-18
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Career Building"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gogo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gogo has a lot of technology deployed. There are smart people there that can really lift up your skill set. It's a great place to learn and move on from. Great marketing team and offices are awesome. Cool holiday parties.

    Cons

    Toxic environment. Politically disastrous as internal groups fight each other for power. Culture clash continuously spinning out of control as new people are hired and imposing their own culture instead of adopting Gogo's. Too many ego's. Staff typically cap out at Manager level - Gogo hires outside for directors and above almost exclusively. Work/Life balance is constantly abused.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2016-12-01
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gogo

    Pros

    Work life balance, location, and the employees

    Cons

    Growth opportunity and middle management needs more training on how to manage employees effectively

    Continue reading
    Gogo2016-12-06

    Gogo Response

    December 14, 2016Employer

    Thanks for the feedback on your experience as a Gogo employee. Continuous learning through experience, exposure and education is a top priority, and strive to create an environment throughout all parts of Gogo that is supportive of that. You'll be pleased to see some new development planning resources available in Q2 as we continue to phase in our updated approach to performance and development. In the interim, be sure to visit the wiki for more info on all of the learning resources that are already available - including on-demand resources like Harvard Manage Mentor and Globesmart, our SME-led series on learning and working in our business (called Accelerate), and other classroom-based learning sessions on a range of topics including fundamentals like how to manage and lead people through Situational Leadership. And, feel free to reach out to a member of the Talent Management team or your HRBP if you'd like help working on your own development plan.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (16)

    "This company is in trouble."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gogo full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance where few people work late and on weekends. Engineering knowhow to make Wi-fi on airplanes work. Many employees are encouraged to fly and use Wi-fi to learn.

    Cons

    Gogo is a telecom company in every way but that's not a good thing. Everything from thought processes to how projects are managed is old fashioned and not built for the competitive business it is in. The world is changing and a panic or desperation gripped the organization because it is not built to succeed. The culture is horrible because of that. Everything that you read about bad organizations is here: secrecy, silos, flip flopping, lack of support, lack of purpose, odd promotions and firings, unbalanced teams, and other things that make it uncomfortable. Not a good time to be at this unhealthy company. When considering Gogo, do your research and see the stock price and market analysis that shows what happened to Gogo over the last 3 years. No confidence in current leadership.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2016-11-30

    Gogo Response

    December 20, 2016Employer

    We are constantly looking to improve and value any feedback we can get. Gogo is the industry leader at what we do and we have ground-breaking new technologies that have helped us build and, we believe, will help us expand on our already leading market share in our industry. These are exciting times for Gogo. As we grow, though, we know there is always room for improvement and we continue to look at any forums we can to solicit both positive and negative feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Growth is a double edged sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Predictive Analytics Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gogo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many managers and above have very flexible work from home and non-office hours. (Worker bees have considerably less or none). For now - good benefits, employee stock plan (that has not performed well long-term), matching 401K, bonus potential, office next to the Metra and French Market, roof deck, game floor, and fun events. There are also prayer rooms, mothers' rooms, and other amenities. Gogo has a high degree of diversity, that also comes with it, the use of foul language, attire issues, interpretation of the truth (trust), and negative treatment of subordinates (including contractors). The company's toleration level to these issues largely depends on the degree of perceived importance of the individual and/or their management level. The company continues to grow.

    Cons

    If you work to live - within many teams you will likely have your life taken from you. In some teams, work life balance is made into a mockery - individuals are frequently called during their vacations, called back-in, and some teams are discouraged from taking vacation time during a month(S) of the summer. Last minute/emergency travel is not uncommon. In many teams, if you are not scrambling 24x7 there may be some question as to how needed/valuable you are. Some departments have more managers plus directors than workers. Having a manager as a work filter/prioritizer/buffer is a rare arrangement to have. Due to some managers' work from home schedules - getting a timely response from your manager can be an enormous challenge. There are too many primo/prima donnas running around Gogo below the C-level. The trust level toward this management group is very low. Compared to other companies this group is unusually resistant to feedback/actual change. Gogo is continually on fire and in catch-up/reaction mode. Planning for growth in many respects was not thought through and/or is being left for other entities to fix. Gogo frequently operates in one of two modes of either analysis by paralysis where important known problems linger on in disbelief or executive hunches consume inordinate amounts of resources to chase the wrong blip. The general employee stress level causes additional mistakes to be made and has burned many employees out. Departments have duplicated projects and responsibilities. Too many directors and above are trying to individually find something impressive to showcase instead of collaborating/aligning with other teams. Gogo has too many people in management to compensate for poor management. The wrong people are promoted based on traits other than skills, experience, and leadership/managerial capability, people skills. Employees do not have annual goals set until around mid-year (end of May) and are graded at year-end, leaving many employees at the arbitrary discretion of whether their manager likes them or not after having wasted some of the first six months of the year working on the wrong or non-contributing efforts.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2016-08-05
  9. "Great Place to Grow and Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gogo full-time

    Pros

    -Great place to roll your sleeves up and dig in to varied projects -Employees are recognized for hard work -Wonderful work life balance -Company offers a nice benefits package and very competitive salary

    Cons

    -Communication across teams can be a bit muddled -Certain teams have to compete for the same resources -Priority projects sometimes conflict with one another

    Continue reading
    Gogo2016-07-25

    Gogo Response

    September 6, 2016Employer

    Thank you for providing your insight. You are exactly right. Every employee understanding our goals and staying mission minded is incredibly important. We currently share these in our town hall meetings and summarize them in the blog for those that cannot attend. It’s a great platform for employees to ask questions, help clarify details and increase communication across departments as well. We appreciate your hard work while you were with us at Gogo, and wish you the best in wherever your future may take you.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gogo

    Pros

    Very challenging work. Very high change environment. If you like challenges and constant change, then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Very poor work life balance. Companies future is dependant on success of 2Ku technology adoption.

    Gogo2016-05-19
Found 23 reviews
</>Embed