Goibibo Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Goibibo Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Goibibo CEO Sanjay Bhasin (no image)
Sanjay Bhasin
6 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goibibo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work culture is just too magnetic. For the first time I have seen people willingly spending more time than needed at the office.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons as of now

    Goibibo2019-08-02
  2. "Don’t join the payments team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goibibo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of Absolutely none

    Cons

    Long working hours Random work allocation No appreciation for good work Poor hikes No stocks and shares Especially if you are a female then you might even find the lead to be sexist Disrespectful managers; especially engineering leads There seems to be no training of leads before they are made people managers Engineering leads need to respect their reportees

    Advice to Management

    Remove the lead and hire someone sensible Else as has been the trend all sensible folks would leave .....

    Goibibo2019-08-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Joke of a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goibibo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I can think of only one pro. People here expect you to work like labors. So if you are a newbie to the industry and have not written much code, then one pro is you get to know things pretty fast here.

    Cons

    - There is no stream-lined and organized way of working. The codebase is a mess in most of the team. No TDD, no OOP, no clean extensible code and not even single unit tests in most of the team. They call it "Fast Development"(LOL). So things break and you will spend a considerable amount of bandwidth in fixing bugs. And even though there is a learning curve in the first few months, after a bit it's so such redundant... and recursive. No new things to work on, no innovations (only REST). - The entire place is run by some unprofessional morons. Most of them are pretty dumb and has no professional or personal qualification to be a Manager. They expect to work till die and then work after the resurrection. - They call it a "flat hierarchy", but I swear you won't find more levels and posts in any other place (Most of them does not mean anything and just to give the employee some form of pseudo satisfaction). Hell, I have seen team lead managing a single person team(of course he was the only member in the team and he had to lead himself). - There were many great and talented people working here and most of them left. So what would you do? Of course, just hire some overpriced dumb people to fill the void. - The company with one of the worst management policies I have ever worked for. I guess Indian Mid-sized startups are a bit cheap in terms of how they treat people. But Goibibo is in another league. Management looks to deduct money from an employee's pocket every time possible. And they hire lazy HRs only on top of it. - I am not saying anything about compensation here, but they far from the industry average. So if you get an offer here, you will for sure get offers from other places with higher salary. - In the core they are Online Travel Platform with much less scale as compared to other industry giants(As much as they say I will never consider them as a Tech heavy company). So if you want to spoil your career writing CURD APIs with low scale and high latency with low salary, then this is the dream job for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Nothing. You guys won't listen and improve anyway.

    Goibibo2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "No Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goibibo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work closely with everyone from top to bottom. CTO and some of the top level engineering managers are very good and easy reachable.

    Cons

    Most of the good developers have already left the organization only because they don't consider the work done by you for appraisals, you only need one offer from another company and they will match your salary. So the only people who have grown here are who keep frequently giving notice and matching salary. Tech stalk is also quite old. There is no opportunity to grow here tech-wise and if you don't know these... unethical techniques, then your salary also won't increase. Also, the offer they give is not clear. In offer they might say you will be getting stock options but it will take years to get any and also more years to get vested. Please don't join this organization until offer is clearly made. No good development work left here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management already knows the advice, it's just that they are too ignorant to acknowledge it and work on it.

    Goibibo2019-07-18
  5. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goibibo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * good place to start your carrier as a fresher.

    Cons

    *I didn't find any cons

    Goibibo2019-05-09
  6. "Excellent place for learning with fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore

    I worked at Goibibo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Startup culture Great people Work life balance

    Cons

    No cons as such ..may be cafeteria food

    Goibibo2019-04-03
  7. "Work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goibibo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work culture is very good and peaceful.

    Cons

    Interaction of one team to another team is not good.

    Goibibo2019-04-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "One of the worse company fro growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Uttar Pradesh
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goibibo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there is no such good things

    Cons

    Only way to grew in this company is by buttering your manager. If you are not fvt of your manager than there is no growth for you. Politics are at peak in this company. Your teammate will get promotion higher appraisal and good project. Dont trust your senior's.

    Advice to Management

    HR are just on paper they follow only the team manager.

    Goibibo2019-04-30
  9. "Lot of freedom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goibibo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - lot of freedom to express - great place to learn new things

    Cons

    - too much structure after merger with mmt

    Goibibo2019-03-06
  10. "A Place to Explore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goibibo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You will have Freedom of work - Ability to Get Your thoughts to higher officials in less than 5minutes. - It's all about interests if you are Loving ur job then you are in for a treat. - Friendly faces :) - Parties - Young and Fresh People - Tasty Lunch for Sure - Flexibility in work timing

    Cons

    - Long Work Hours (Depends on tema :p) - 3 WFH allowed per month as per policy (Depends on team again)

    Goibibo2018-10-24
Found 19 reviews