Golden 1 Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Golden 1 Credit Union Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Golden 1 Credit Union CEO Donna Bland
Donna Bland
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is completely out of touch with the needs of the lower level employees(in 8 reviews)

  • "Micromanagement, the department feels like a girl's club, no room for advancement, management does not value educated employees(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Long Term, Great Investment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Senior management listens, responses, and gives you the opportunity to be part of the solution/improvement. Benefits and salaries are good and getting better. If you want to feel like part of a growing team, this is the place. Opportunities to work with co-workers on community give-back events. Friendly work environment and you'll make strong friendships. Lots of fun work events and recognition for employees.

    Cons

    HR needed work (leadership, salaries, exiting underperforming employees, etc.) but new CHRO is getting it done quick.

    Golden 1 Credit Union2018-12-09
  2. "Sr Graphic Artist/ Illustrator with Level 4 Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Art Director in Citrus Heights, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As a Leader I would show leadership to those I worked with. I will listen others and will work with them for improvement. We can all learn.

    Cons

    Being new, I would have to watch and learn to be myself and make any changes for the betterment.

    Advice to Management

    We can learn every day!

    Golden 1 Credit Union2019-03-08
  3. "Great place to get your foot in the door..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Relationship Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company values, no pressure from sales goals

    Cons

    Politics, low pay compared to comparable positions with other companies, lack of communication across all departments, constantly seems like no one knows what they’re doing.

    Golden 1 Credit Union2019-04-24
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So fun friendly ppl nice work environment

    Cons

    Busy branch unfrienly members

    Advice to Management

    Management was friendly open door policy

    Golden 1 Credit Union2019-04-22
  5. "Does not value employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Gym at headquarters, that’s about it

    Cons

    Do not promote from within, not much of a bonus or raise

    Golden 1 Credit Union2019-04-09
  6. "Good ideas slowed down by bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are many very talented leaders at the company. The values of the credit union are very strong.

    Cons

    The bureaucracy and in-fighting across the credit union have a significant impact on department-level success. The benefits and compensation are below the rest of the market.

    Golden 1 Credit Union2019-02-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "They don't care about employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They have ok benefits and 401k matching.

    Cons

    Management is horrible, no rewards for hard work, nepotism, managers don't have training

    Advice to Management

    It's time to restructure the entire management team from the top down.

    Golden 1 Credit Union2019-02-13
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Lead Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good place to get your foot in the door for retail banking.

    Cons

    Leadership, lack of benefits, no growth.

    Advice to Management

    You must realize why good people leave. The lack of good management, the lack of career advancement and the lack of decent pay is why people leave you. There was on point in my career where Golden 1 had a focus on career advancement. They had a program for career skills and growth. Then it went away. There is nothing in place to help employees succeed. There is no career path for any position within the company. As a...

    Show More
    Golden 1 Credit Union2018-12-11
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Golden 1 Credit Union (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A great place to work.

    Cons

    I have no negative comments.

    Advice to Management

    Great job Donna

    Golden 1 Credit Union2018-11-08
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Manager Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden 1 Credit Union full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    No pros at this time.

    Cons

    Lots of work for very little pay and recognition. Technology is lacking and takes many steps to do one simple thing. Benefits are awful for such a large company. They also tend to hire from the outside for Management positions instead of promoting within. There is no work life home life balance for member level staff.

    Advice to Management

    Better work and home life balance would be great. The expectation is that member level staff work long hours with limited staff at all branches. After YEARS of doing this many employees are burnt out.

    Golden 1 Credit Union2018-11-14
Found 128 reviews