Golden Corral Reviews | Glassdoor

Golden Corral Reviews

Updated December 9, 2018
613 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Golden Corral President & CEO Lance Trenary
Lance Trenary
157 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Decent money, good hours, free food" (in 22 reviews)

  • "I love working with the public and meeting new people everyday" (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours on feet, work every weekend and Holiday except Christmas Day" (in 30 reviews)

  • "Lack of integrity from upper-management" (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and improve your skills

    Cons

    none that I can think of at this time

    Golden Corral Response

    Jul 27, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your 5-star review! We love that you continue to grow and develop throughout your career with us!


  2. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orland Park, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orland Park, IL

    I have been working at Golden Corral part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice place to work

    Cons

    You dont get a break

    Advice to Management

    Need to give workers a break.

    Golden Corral Response

    Nov 9, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the feedback. We're glad that you enjoy working at Golden Corral. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.

  3. "Diversity keeps it fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time

    Pros

    Discounted meals, always learning different ways to cook.

    Cons

    Long hours on feet, work every weekend and Holiday except Christmas Day.

    Golden Corral Response

    Nov 26, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    We are glad you are enjoying your time at Golden Corral. We understand that it can be tough working weekends and holidays and we thank you for your dedication to serving our guests.


  4. "It's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Associate in Aberdeen, MD
    Current Employee - Bakery Associate in Aberdeen, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun environment , nice people , good
    Management , very open minded to your scheldue

    Cons

    Not well enough paid for the things you do

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Golden Corral Response

    Nov 19, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    We are so glad you enjoy the fun environment and team you work with at Golden Corral. Thank you so much for your dedication to serving our guests.


  5. "It was not the best but ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral part-time

    Pros

    Easy, Fun, Friendly, Close to home

    Cons

    Quick, Busy, Fast, Crowded, Hard

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Golden Corral Response

    Nov 19, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for being part of the Golden Corral team. Good luck in your future career moves.


  6. "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Golden Corral part-time

    Pros

    Tips are good when business is up.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement and management is horrible. Treat majority of staff like they mean nothing to them.


  7. "Baker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time

    Pros

    People there are awesome always

    Cons

    There is no communication at all.

    Golden Corral Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback here. We're glad you enjoy working with the team at Golden Corral. We agree communication is a key to success and we will continue to ensure that the entire... More

  8. "It's hard work dealing with the public constantly.. and most of the management don't understand the struggle."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Baton Rouge, LA
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Paid daily is the best part. Some bad days. Some really good days.

    Cons

    Some of our guests are very demanding and blame the server for food issues. They take it out on our tips. And we are Always understaffed and that also contributes.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites. Everyone deserves a chance to work the best sections.

    Golden Corral Response

    Nov 12, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    We appreciate your thoughtful insight here, and do appreciate you continuing to serve our guests. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.


  9. "All Ok with Golden Corral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time

    Pros

    Ethical Company to work with.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any worth mentioning. Just like a marriage there are ups downs.

    Golden Corral Response

    Oct 29, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for the five-star review! We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.


  10. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Lansing, MI
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pay was ok but hours are long and 5 and 6 days a week is stupid .

    Cons

    Franchise operators are very understaffed and under paid. No benefits no break from 65 hours a week

    Advice to Management

    Raise the price and pay for good employees

    Golden Corral Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your insight with us. Working in the restaurant industry does often mean working holidays and long hours. We appreciate everyone at Golden Corral who works hard to serve our guests.