Golden Corral Reviews | Glassdoor

Golden Corral Reviews

Updated October 17, 2018
604 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Golden Corral President & CEO Lance Trenary
Lance Trenary
155 Ratings

604 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Decent money, good hours, free food" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Management is easy to work along side of" (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, can't say much else though" (in 31 reviews)

  • "Lack of integrity from upper-management" (in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and improve your skills

    Cons

    none that I can think of at this time

    Golden Corral Response

    Jul 27, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your 5-star review! We love that you continue to grow and develop throughout your career with us!


  2. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Claremore, OK
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Claremore, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A great working enviroment, good employees, amazing customers. Clean envioroment, good pay and regulated schedules.

    Cons

    Did not seem to find any cons other than the store recently closing.

    Advice to Management

    My boss did not tell us we were losing our jobs until the day of Golden Corral shutting down in claremore. With that being said, he should have given us a few weeks notice to search for a different job.

    Golden Corral Response

    Aug 1, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    We are so glad you enjoyed the fun environment and team you worked with at Golden Corral. Thank you so much for your dedication to serving our guests. We are very sorry that the tough decision was... More

  3. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Line/Cashier in Orlando, FL
    Former Employee - Front Line/Cashier in Orlando, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You get lots of hours and you are able to do overtime hrs as well during the summer.

    Cons

    The obvious one of course annoying,rude customer. During off season you dont really get that many hrs so you might as well get another job. And you ended doing things that were outside of your job requirement..

    Golden Corral Response

    Oct 17, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback here and for being part of the Golden Corral team. Good luck in your future career moves.


  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in Spring, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Spring, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I worked for one the best owners that a person could. Mr. Robles was one of the smartest person that I ever worked for in my whole life. Also, he is a very fair person. He is the only person that I felt bad about giving my notice. I have rejoiced in giving my notice to leave to other companies. The franchisee did not offer health insurance, and I am 54 years old. Mr. Robles is the man!

    Cons

    Our management turned around a store that the former CEO (Ted Fowler) said that the Golden Corral in Spring,TX needs leadership. When the store was turned around, sales up! Try way up! We were sold like a piece of meat. There was no insurance no nothing! So beware of no limited bonus, I got sold like a slave going south down the Mississippi River.
    I worked with some of the most incompetent managers at the Spring Golden Corral that you have ever seen. Restaurants eat managers. I survived the worst Golden Corral and thrived. Beware of there promises of unlimited bonus, a really good bonus will get you sold like a slave.

    Advice to Management

    Mr. Trenary, your old vp got sick and had to leave. Your new vp is a joke. He is a fool. He told us to staff and train our stores. Then he told us that the labor standard was the standard. We ignored him and staffed our store. Spring was up 40% when it got sold like a piece of steak. CEOs cry all you want: You cannot repeat me!!!!! Insiders you cannot dispute me.

    Golden Corral Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    We appreciate your thoughtful insight. Thanks for being part of the Golden Corral team and serving our guests. Good luck in your future career moves.


  5. "Lots of work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Tips are very good during weekends

    Cons

    Lots of dirty work, working in the kitchen, and cleaning all the dirty dishes

    Golden Corral Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for being part of the Golden Corral family. We understand that working in a restaurant environment can certainly be fast-paced. We truly value you.


  6. "I love my job wouldn’t want to work anywhere else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prep Cook in Goodyear, AZ
    Current Employee - Prep Cook in Goodyear, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Goodyear management is very strong everyone there is like family. Love meeting new people making new friends . Customers know me well they are awesome.

    Cons

    The only bad thing I can say is during summer time hrs. are cut but that’s just because we are a little slower then so understandable

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes there is a lack of communication. Which they are working on. And when something good is said about your employees from the costumers we should be told. Not just the bad

    Golden Corral Response

    Sep 19, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you. We agree communication is a key to success and we will continue to focus on... More


  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Cashier in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Golden Corral part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay . Fast paced , cool hours

    Cons

    Work environment , attitudes ,

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    Golden Corral Response

    Sep 17, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    We're glad you enjoy our flexible scheduling. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.

  8. "Loved my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server
    Former Employee - Server
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Money , food, friendly staff, fast paced environment

    Cons

    Not any at all I enjoyed my job

    Advice to Management

    None at all

    Golden Corral Response

    Sep 5, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear you had an awesome time. Thanks for serving our guests.


  9. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Ashland, KY
    Former Employee - Cashier in Ashland, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You get a good deal on the food, coworkers are usually great, usually flexible schedule, management tries to be understanding

    Cons

    Low pay, poor benefits, no morale, schedule changes weekly, they don't have as much business as they used to so hours are usually low

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees, pay better, communicate with each other

    Golden Corral Response

    Sep 21, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback here. We're glad you enjoyed working with the team at Golden Corral and that you were able to enjoy our flexible scheduling. We'll continue to focus on ensuring our... More


  10. "Golden Corral Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral part-time

    Pros

    Straightforward, simple service job. Not much is demanded compared to other minimum wage jobs.

    Cons

    Management can be spotty as is usual for the business

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive with operations; frontline employees are the ones that immediately affect guest perception. Do not be passive when dealing with matters pertaining to them.

    Golden Corral Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for serving our guests! We agree that teamwork and a mutual understanding is incredibly important to the guest experience.


Showing 604 of 608 reviews
Reset Filters