Golden Corral Reviews | Glassdoor

Golden Corral Reviews

Updated March 21, 2019
639 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Golden Corral President & CEO Lance Trenary
Lance Trenary
171 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Decent money, good hours, free food" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Meet new people but it depends what position you work" (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours on feet, work every weekend and Holiday except Christmas Day" (in 31 reviews)

  • "Lack of integrity from upper-management" (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and improve your skills

    Cons

    none that I can think of at this time

    Golden Corral Response

    Jul 27, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your 5-star review! We love that you continue to grow and develop throughout your career with us!


  2. "Great opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work and growth opportunities. Promoted within my first year of employment.

    Cons

    As of new employee, more vacation.

    Golden Corral Response

    Mar 22, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback here. We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the family! We truly value you.

  3. "fast pace, buffet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Oxford, AL
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Oxford, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    friendly atmosphere, fast pace , days go by quickly

    Cons

    out of business, no raises

    Advice to Management

    no advice

    Golden Corral Response

    Mar 18, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your insight. We are glad you enjoyed the fun environment. Thank you for your dedication to serving our guests.


  4. "Like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Jacksonville, NC
    Former Employee - Server in Jacksonville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral part-time

    Pros

    Takes care of employees
    Good work environment
    No discrimination

    Cons

    Rude customers
    Not really appreciated
    Long hours
    No breaks

    Golden Corral Response

    Mar 18, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    We're glad you were able to enjoy the fun environment. Working in the restaurant industry does often mean working long hours, and we appreciate everyone at Golden Corral who works hard to serve our... More


  5. "job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Loveland, CO
    Current Employee - Server in Loveland, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Golden Corral part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great, wonderful to work here

    Cons

    i can't say what is the downside of this place

    Advice to Management

    idk

    Golden Corral Response

    Mar 22, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the feedback and for helping to serve our guests.


  6. "Golden Corral a Great Place to Grow and Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    ability to advance in your career based on your own performance
    solid values and caring culture
    no micro managing

    Cons

    hours can be long must be able to juggle home and work

    Golden Corral Response

    Feb 27, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for the five-star review! We are so glad you enjoy the growth opportunities and culture at Golden Corral. We truly value you.


  7. "Opportunity for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Training Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Field Training Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Golden Corral has never put a limit on how far I can grow within the organization. I've been with GC for 26 years! Never had to look anywhere else.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons. I love my job.

    Golden Corral Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for the five-star review! We are so glad you enjoy the fun environment and growth opportunities at Golden Corral. We truly value you.

  8. "Great, caring people to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Always growing and learning with many advancement opportunities. Caring culture and will work with you on family/work balance

    Cons

    Sometimes too many projects at a time.

    Golden Corral Response

    Feb 22, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    We are so glad you enjoy the environment and team you work with at Golden Corral. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.


  9. "Golden Corral in never boring!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations Services in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations Services in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Career progression starting from a Manager Trainee to a leadership role within company.
    Opportunity to work with many different departments and learn new skills.
    Supportive environment in both business and personal needs
    Ability to help others through formal programs like Camp Corral, GC Cares and Military Appreciation Night and also informal events throughout the year.

    Cons

    Very fast paced environment, things are always changing

    Golden Corral Response

    Feb 15, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.


  10. "Caring Community & Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    This company makes you feel like family. They expect you to do your job and they appreciate the job you do. People are grown from within the company. Long-time employees.

    Cons

    Very busy. Good for most, but not for those not wanting to work.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate. Make sure the word gets out to the team.

    Golden Corral Response

    Feb 14, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.