Golden Corral Reviews | Glassdoor

Golden Corral Reviews

Updated February 15, 2019
631 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Golden Corral President & CEO Lance Trenary
Lance Trenary
165 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Decent money, good hours, free food" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Meet new people but it depends what position you work" (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours on feet, work every weekend and Holiday except Christmas Day" (in 31 reviews)

  • "Lack of integrity from upper-management" (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and improve your skills

    Cons

    none that I can think of at this time

    Golden Corral Response

    Jul 27, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your 5-star review! We love that you continue to grow and develop throughout your career with us!


  2. "Golden Corral in never boring!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations Services in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations Services in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Career progression starting from a Manager Trainee to a leadership role within company.
    Opportunity to work with many different departments and learn new skills.
    Supportive environment in both business and personal needs
    Ability to help others through formal programs like Camp Corral, GC Cares and Military Appreciation Night and also informal events throughout the year.

    Cons

    Very fast paced environment, things are always changing

    Golden Corral Response

    Feb 15, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.

  3. "Caring Community & Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    This company makes you feel like family. They expect you to do your job and they appreciate the job you do. People are grown from within the company. Long-time employees.

    Cons

    Very busy. Good for most, but not for those not wanting to work.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate. Make sure the word gets out to the team.

    Golden Corral Response

    Feb 14, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the team! We truly value you.


  4. "Front person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host
    Former Employee - Host

    Pros

    Meet great guests and great employees and made friends

    Cons

    Meet horrible guests and it was super busy on holidays

    Golden Corral Response

    Jan 22, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    We're glad you enjoyed the team you worked with at Golden Corral. Thanks for serving our guests.


  5. "Wondeful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Prep, Cook, Server, Cashier in Panama City, FL
    Current Employee - Food Prep, Cook, Server, Cashier in Panama City, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love the team work and all the managers

    Cons

    I have none at the moment

    Advice to Management

    I have none at the moment they are awesome

    Golden Corral Response

    Jan 22, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear you're having an awesome time. Thanks for being an integral part of the family! We truly value you.


  6. "Was fun for a while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Customers are great, job provides a challenge, family atmosphere

    Cons

    No work-family balance. Managers work an insane amount of hours leaving little time for a life outside of the four walls.

    Golden Corral Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    We are so glad you enjoyed the fun environment and team you worked with at Golden Corral. Working in the restaurant industry does often mean working long hours and holidays, but we appreciate... More


  7. "GC really lives their values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time

    Pros

    Everything is done with integrity and senior management takes a long view when it comes to making decisions. As a private company they are able to do what's right rather than make decisions that will prop up the stock price short-term like publicly traded concepts I've worked for.

    Cons

    Buffets are an inherently challenging concept to execute well.

    Golden Corral Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your insight and for being an integral part of the Golden Corral team. We truly value you.

  8. "Great Place to Work for College students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grill Cook in Lumberton, NC
    Current Employee - Grill Cook in Lumberton, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pay was good for what we do.
    They were flexible with my hours and worked around my class schedule.
    Get to eat for half price!

    Cons

    Fast pace but makes day go by fast

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the Job

    Golden Corral Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    We are so glad you enjoy the fun environment and our flexible scheduling. Thank you so much for your dedication to serving our guests. We truly value you.


  9. "server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL

    I have been working at Golden Corral part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The tips are great when busy

    Cons

    There is a lot of cleaning/side-work

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Golden Corral Response

    Jan 9, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for serving our guests! We truly value you. We understand that tasks can seem tedious but all are important in creating a positive experience for our guests.


  10. "Management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Austell, GA
    Former Employee - Waitress in Austell, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Golden Corral part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Tips & all staff are like family excluding Managers!

    Cons

    Imagine not being able to pay rent because your Manager took you off the schedule for the week even after the manager OVER her said that you weren’t suspended. Management is childish & runs the store off of emotions . NO roution WHATSOEVER, they only look out for the people who’s been there 10 years plus! (That’s what a manager told me directly). You will NOT move up in this location unless your dealing with a manager! Absolutely NO breaks. I ate 3 donuts 15mins before my shift ended & was told to pay FULL price! Management pick & choose who can do what! The managers will NOT give you higher authority contact info so the only way you can get recognition is by writing a review. I got wrote up & suspended for eating 3 donuts & THIS is the reason I quit. Even after this review nothing will be done about this restaurant! If you have bills to pay this is not the place to work if your not highly favored!

    Advice to Management

    Grow up or step down from management. Set an example for the “team/family” your business is SUPPOSED to have!

    Golden Corral Response

    Feb 14, 2019 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention, which are certainly not reflective of our Golden Corral culture. Please feel free to reach out to us directly at... More