Golden Corral "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Golden Corral Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated May 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Golden Corral CEO Lance Trenary
Lance Trenary
213 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food on the clock and a surplus of hours(in 26 reviews)

  • "Friendly environment, fast paced, wished around my schedule(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Angry, unreasonable guests, long hours(in 35 reviews)

  • "when I left I found out that our upper management was a total creep to some of our workers who wouldn’t report anything out of fear of losing their job(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Management review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Manager in Pelham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral

    Pros

    Great bonus structure, potential for advancement is available, not micromanaged.

    Cons

    Very long hours, labor expectations are absurd, corporate upper management is pompous and unrealistic in their expectations.

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2016-03-16
  2. "Fine if you’re learning to serve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - good tips - good coworkers - good work experience - you learn how to deal with problem customers, old people, and kids

    Cons

    - the brooms are child sized and cleaning a carpet with a broom that small has given me a knot in my shoulder that will never leave me for as long as I live - when I left I found out that our upper management was a total creep to some of our workers who wouldn’t report anything out of fear of losing their job - a lot of busing and sometimes people don’t tip

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2019-05-15

    Golden Corral Response

    May 20, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention, which are certainly not reflective of our Golden Corral culture. Please reach out to us directly at humanresources@goldencorral.net to have your concerns addressed.

    Continue reading
  3. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation. Pay is fairly competitive

    Cons

    Horrible upper management. No respect for the individual. Worse place I have ever worked.

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2018-05-29

    Golden Corral Response

    May 30, 2018Director of Human Resources

    We apologize that your experience is not what you expected. We will continue to focus on attracting and retaining talent that shares our core belief of respecting all employees and guests.

    Continue reading
  4. "Cpb foods, golden corral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time

    Pros

    Supereasy. Takes very little common sense to operate

    Cons

    Low salary. Lack of integrity from upper-management.

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2017-09-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Golden Corral

    Pros

    Staff and Co workers were great.

    Cons

    Upper Management and owner doesn't care about anything but the bottom line. No concern for the people who make it happen.

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2016-11-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server/Cashier in Port Orange, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and steady hours.

    Cons

    Employees always bashing and talking about others, if you stand up for yourself; it's considered having an attitude. Upper Management is unappreciative and unconnected with their employees.

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2016-09-05
  7. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Montgomery, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable company, not going away any time soon

    Cons

    Where do i start? Long hours with little appreciation from upper management. Unrealistic labor goals do not allow for proper maintenance of restaurant or customer service. Heavy fines levied against managers for any number of reasons, purpose of fines is solely to keep from paying out bonus dollars. Quarterly inspection from GC Corp. by individuals who have not actually worked in a restaurant in years sometimes decades.

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2016-02-15
  8. "I wouldn't recommend to ANYONE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Chesapeake, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Corral full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The guest and the coworkers, you become a family.

    Cons

    poor wage, upper management is absolutely horrible and treat you with no respect

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2016-01-17
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Golden Corral is a respected leader in the restaurant business. The brand was something I was proud to work for! The community involvement and camp corral was something I wanted to be apart of. Upon hire, Training, was beyond great, and exceeded expectations. After training, I felt confident in my abilities to manage the concept. The staff, and their seniority; they cared about their store and the guests. Financially, money was phenomenal. Growth as a person and the company happens fast!

    Cons

    Lack of structure, organization, and discipline from upper management and corporate departments. Running the business like you own it, should still be monitored. The biggest measure of integrity is what you do when no ones looking.. There's a lot that goes on there and even when recognized, it's swept under the rug. New menu roll outs, and market tests are not thought through, or planned so stores suffer, and no one cares until a conferences call 3 weeks after it's over.. Quality of life. No requests off for weekends, no vacation even if you have the time..stubborn GMs and no backup from DM

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2015-06-09
  10. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in North Highlands, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Corral full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Regular guests became more like family. Which was good as you spend most of your life at work, no life / work balance. variety of food was good.

    Cons

    10 hour days were your short days. Normally 12 and 14 hours long. Staff hours always cut way under budget by GM so management had to fill in and work the hourly positions. Never had enough food purchased to make through until next delivery. Upper management would tell you to make food cost anyway you had to, so that would mean you just would run out or not serve the expensive items. Had to lie to guests why we were out of food. Cleanliness is only a consideration when the health department or CSQ is expected. Failed scores blamed on staff that's set up for failure by GM. Safely is of no concern.

    Continue reading
    Golden Corral2015-06-16
Found 20 reviews