Golden Gate Regional Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Golden Gate Regional Center Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
James Shorter
2 Ratings
  1. "Perfect place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - California in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment Wonderful people to work with great benefits

    Cons

    Nothing much about the cons

    Advice to Management

    More staff engagement would improve everything

    Golden Gate Regional Center2018-01-19
  2. "Committed to improving the lives of consumers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time

    Pros

    It's challenging work, but if you find this field rewarding GGRC is a good choice. Supervisors are supportive.

    Cons

    Salaries are not enough to live in SF. No substantial retirement plan.

    Advice to Management

    Connect with Calpers

    Golden Gate Regional Center2018-08-25
  3. "Fun Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time

    Pros

    the salary and benefit are good, they help each other, and so friendly

    Cons

    i think you cant have good career there

    Golden Gate Regional Center2017-11-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Frontline Social Workers are very professional and caring for the population we serve.

    Cons

    They fixed the problems by reassigning those complaint or difficult cases to other social workers WITHOUT making determined efforts to deal with those under-performed employees or the main course of problems (Sweep under rug approach )

    Advice to Management

    Take Actions and care about your employees and the population we serve. Under such high Caseloads 85 + , how would we provide a prompt and high quality of services

    Golden Gate Regional Center2017-06-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Company has it's ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great co workers, compassionate and kind. Generous vacation, sick time and other leave.

    Cons

    Salaries/pay is way below average. Too high caseloads

    Advice to Management

    Boost morale, offer more perks/benefits and increase salaries. CEO doesn't need 250k a year. Spend your money better.

    Golden Gate Regional Center2016-11-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Management is Heartless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Case Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time

      Pros

      If you are one of these people who have no work life balance than the flexible time would be great.

      Cons

      No work life balance-high caseloads and expected to complete the work No support to grow in your profession Management really doesn't care about the people or the mission after a while its pretty depressing

      Advice to Management

      quit and allow someone who truly cares do the work

      Golden Gate Regional Center2016-11-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Social Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Rafael, CA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      You are helping people. Mostly great coworkers. Good office location and environment, flexible workday scheduling with meetings throughout the Bay Area that are mostly coordinated by the Social Worker.

      Cons

      Caseloads of 85+ can become extremely stressful, often times making the Social Worker feel like they need to work overtime to stay afloat with paperwork.

      Advice to Management

      Please consider advocating for your employees to have smaller caseloads, so that quality of care can be improved for all of the clients who use your services.

      Golden Gate Regional Center2016-05-07
    • Helpful (4)

      "Upper Managment Nightmare"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Coworkers (with the exclusion of the management) are supportive, warm, committed to providing services to people with disabilities. Paid time off is relatively generous.

      Cons

      Salaries are borderline insulting, training and career advancement opportunities do not exists, upper management consist of incompetent , overpaid and under-worked individuals. There is no accountability. It seems like people in charge (all of them older, resistant to improvement or change) are simply waiting to retire and do the least amount possible in the meantime.

      Advice to Management

      Start rapping your employment with this agency up and allow for new, motivated, smart, capable and forward-looking people to take over.

      Golden Gate Regional Center2016-01-15
    • "Behavior Consultant/Adaptive Skills Trainer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Behavior Consultant/Adaptive Skills Trainer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Golden Gate Regional Center for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Social workers refer the families in their caseload to behavior consultants who are vendored. The vendor process is lengthy but after being fully vetted, clients are referred to you, which eliminates the need for marketing and sales. There is an ongoing need. The regional center is one of 21 in California and they provide social workers and others on a team if further support is needed for the client. They can be highly...

      Show More

      Cons

      Agency will not raise the hourly rate. It's been frozen for years. Career opportunities are not available for vendored Behavior Consultants since we work on a contract basis.

      Advice to Management

      Now that California is no longer operating in the deep red, it's time to provide a cost of living increase to the professionals providing behavioral services to your consumers.

      Golden Gate Regional Center2015-12-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Administrative Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Mateo, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Golden Gate Regional Center full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      This organization is very friendly and with great flexibility. I work with a well educated colleagues with a high professional ethic.

      Cons

      This organization does not have career plan. That is why I am still with the same title even though I got my master degree. The salary is very low.

      Advice to Management

      Respect the individuals as a professional that have the desire for professional growth.

      Golden Gate Regional Center2015-07-11
    Found 13 reviews