Golder Associates Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Golder Associates Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Hisham Mahmoud
22 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time

    Pros

    Office environment is chill. The people who work here care about each other.

    Cons

    Burn out is easy if work load not self managed

    Golder Associates2019-01-24
  2. "Good place to work if you are in mining engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I liked the people. They were all very nice. It also is meaningful work as you are working with mining engineers.

    Cons

    Well, my desk was in the corner of the office with no windows. I felt forgotten about in the corner.

    Golder Associates2019-02-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great at one time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It’s a job. They will pay you.

    Cons

    Fear based culture. Highly political. Old boys club.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t even know where to begin.

    Golder Associates2018-10-05
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Buyer beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Despite mass exodus of people, the company remains talented.

    Cons

    The last 4 years the company has cut costs through layoffs, little to no raises, and cuts to industry standard benefits. This has led to unusually high attrition, with top senior talent routinely turning notice. This made it impossible to get projects done on time with increased expectations on project managers to sell work with no technical leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Remove Hisham and get back to what Golder stood for.

    Golder Associates2018-07-27
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Bend you over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with.

    Cons

    Found glass door too late, observed I was making 20k less than the lowest reported salary for my position. Felt ignored over the years, asking for certain training, constantly told next year, next year. watched new employees get said training within a year of hire. Got pigeonholed too. Healthcare is high deductible 20/80 without any out of pocket max i believe, making it unaffordable for junior staff with families....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't care now. Making more $$$ now and have more rewarding and involved work.

    Golder Associates2017-07-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geotechnical Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Collegial, Professional Atmosphere, Interesting Projects

    Cons

    High Cost Employee Ownership.

    Advice to Management

    Make Employee Associate Level more affordable to retain young engineers.

    Golder Associates2017-03-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Salary and Benefits are so-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer in Saint Charles, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401k automatically adds X%, and will match an additional X% of what you invest. Comp time is nice. The atmosphere is amazing! People are happy with their jobs.

    Cons

    Salary is well below average for environmental engineers, health insurance is nothing special. Overtime is only straight time or comp time. No company phone compensation, even for field employees.

    Advice to Management

    I have no major complaints, I enjoy the work I am doing.

    Golder Associates2016-06-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Relaxed atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates for more than a year

    Pros

    Very family friendly environment with good people to work with. Work is varied and allows flexibility to work in various markets and geographic areas.

    Cons

    The organization has and continues to make changes which leads to uncertainty about the direction of the company as a whole. The principal and associate model is outdated and requires heavy personal investment in company stock for years before you have any voice in the direction of the company. Health coverage is very poor and if you do not pay for the health you do not get dental, vision, etc...

    Advice to Management

    Provide financial incentives to more than just principals and associates. Make achieving the goal of becoming an owner an attainable goal. Currently 90% of the company will never own enough shares to qualify for ownership.

    Golder Associates2016-03-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very easy going, smart and talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity, employee ownership, competitive salary, room for growth, good progressive culture, fun people, growing client base, awesome work life balance, employee events

    Cons

    Not the best at integrating new employees into processes, engineers aren't the best to work no matter what company, new CEO so company is going through changes

    Golder Associates2015-12-10
  10. Helpful (8)

    "A Difficult Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Northeast, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates

    Pros

    Excellent technical quality and resources. If you are doing well they leave you alone to do you own thing. If you can collaborate with the right people on projects Golder provides a superior quality work product to clients. Some of the best I've seen from any consulting and engineering company.

    Cons

    Terrible health plan, P&A leadership model has sold us down the river. Private stock collapsed and I've lost over 50K in money designated for retirement. I don't even know who to blame but they are circling the wagons now. They brought in a new CEO and I can't understand what he is doing, the reorganization makes no sense unless he is going to break us up and sell us,

    Advice to Management

    Start being honest with employees about where we are going, don't hide behind "vision" plans and discussions of "culture" that mean nothing. Which markets we should be pursuing and how are we going to get there is what management should define, show some leadership not pretty power points and think you've done your job. I am very disappointed in senior management and feel deceived. Eight years ago when I joined I really...

    Show More
    Golder Associates2015-10-29
Found 84 reviews