Golder Associates Senior Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Golder Associates Senior Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Hisham Mahmoud
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love working here, been here 10+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Flexibility with schedule Nice people Lots of opportunity to travel and gain experience with many fun projects

    Cons

    There have been some disagreements between employees and upper management, but that will happen with any large company. I am confident they will pass.

    Advice to Management

    Keep us in between the lines and focused on the destination and beyond.

    Golder Associates2015-06-10
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Buyer beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Despite mass exodus of people, the company remains talented.

    Cons

    The last 4 years the company has cut costs through layoffs, little to no raises, and cuts to industry standard benefits. This has led to unusually high attrition, with top senior talent routinely turning notice. This made it impossible to get projects done on time with increased expectations on project managers to sell work with no technical leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Remove Hisham and get back to what Golder stood for.

    Golder Associates2018-07-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Relaxed atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates for more than a year

    Pros

    Very family friendly environment with good people to work with. Work is varied and allows flexibility to work in various markets and geographic areas.

    Cons

    The organization has and continues to make changes which leads to uncertainty about the direction of the company as a whole. The principal and associate model is outdated and requires heavy personal investment in company stock for years before you have any voice in the direction of the company. Health coverage is very poor and if you do not pay for the health you do not get dental, vision, etc...

    Advice to Management

    Provide financial incentives to more than just principals and associates. Make achieving the goal of becoming an owner an attainable goal. Currently 90% of the company will never own enough shares to qualify for ownership.

    Golder Associates2016-03-25
  4. Helpful (8)

    "A Difficult Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Northeast, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates

    Pros

    Excellent technical quality and resources. If you are doing well they leave you alone to do you own thing. If you can collaborate with the right people on projects Golder provides a superior quality work product to clients. Some of the best I've seen from any consulting and engineering company.

    Cons

    Terrible health plan, P&A leadership model has sold us down the river. Private stock collapsed and I've lost over 50K in money designated for retirement. I don't even know who to blame but they are circling the wagons now. They brought in a new CEO and I can't understand what he is doing, the reorganization makes no sense unless he is going to break us up and sell us,

    Advice to Management

    Start being honest with employees about where we are going, don't hide behind "vision" plans and discussions of "culture" that mean nothing. Which markets we should be pursuing and how are we going to get there is what management should define, show some leadership not pretty power points and think you've done your job. I am very disappointed in senior management and feel deceived. Eight years ago when I joined I really...

    Show More
    Golder Associates2015-10-29
  5. "Great place to grow and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Employed for 11 years at Golder. I have learned a ton on a variety of projects and enjoy the community.

    Cons

    Very little vacation. Company is not growing financially and was mismanaged for the past couple of years.

    Golder Associates2015-06-15
  6. Helpful (8)

    "No Diversity White Male Dominated Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Environmental Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Technically competent colleagues and easy access to decision makers. Bonus paid on Company performance and based on stock ownership. Lots of flexibility and able to pursue work that interested you at times.

    Cons

    The company has a very male centrist environment with few exceptions. Male colleagues were frequently promoted over females with far more educational background and years of experience. Women who were bold enough to challenge the system were not promoted and forced into leaving. No maternity leave. Below average pay for engineering work. Often had non-business folks trying to run the business side of things, and the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Diversify the workforce, and have business folks running the offices, and let the technical experts run the projects.

    Golder Associates2014-11-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company for entrepeneurial self starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    If you are an exceptional seller-doer, you are allowed great freedom to take your practice in any direction you please. Good time off policy with vacation time separate from sick time. Only current employees can reap the rewards of share ownership.

    Cons

    With many owners, everyone minds everyone else's business.

    Advice to Management

    Be careful not too change the culture too much too rapidly.

    Golder Associates2014-09-05
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Business Development (getting work or new clients) is very poor because the lack of marketing planning. Project managers are not very experienced. Also, there is not a plan for hiring the appropriate technical personnel.

    Advice to Management

    Correct all the cons.

    Golder Associates2013-10-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Unique company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Employee ownership. Great benefits - sick time separate from vacation and it rolls over forever. Retirement contribution without matching. Incredibly flexible as long as you get your work done. Great project diversity - I'm currently working in 6 disciplines.

    Cons

    Very flat management and caring. Problem employees are dealt with very slowly.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to have professional managers. Not everyone in management should have to maintain a consulting practice.

    Golder Associates2013-06-08
  10. Helpful (18)

    "Unless you own a lot of shares, look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Hisham has put the company on pretty good financial foundations after the previous CEO and BoD (which shirked its duty and provided NO oversight) ran the company into near-bankruptcy. Along with some dubious financial twists to re-value the share price, those who own a lot of shares have seen their wealth greatly increase. There are still some great people who work for Golder, but they are increasingly leaving,...

    Show More

    Cons

    The share price has been inflated a the expense of everything else, such as salaries, benefits, facilities, etc. Hisham brought his own management team in and they RULE everything. Home-grown talent is largely in the mid-management ranks, and not in control. Hisham's management style is not all that different from Trump's - "It's my way or the highway!". The company is not Principal-led anymore, despite the official...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Time to get rid of Hisham and his cronies. I appreciate you putting the company back on to a sounder financial footing, but it is time to leave before you complete the destruction of the soul of Golder. Take your pals with you.

    Golder Associates2018-12-09
Found 17 reviews