Golder Associates Staff Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Golder Associates Staff Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
15%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Hisham Mahmoud
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company for entry levels if you make the effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for the taking, you have to take it upon yourself to pursue the projects you are interested in.

    Cons

    Management doesn't always like to share ongoing project developments or office developments, which may blindside you once in a while.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management should try to be more open in discussing company projections and informing staff about financial developments.

    Golder Associates2014-05-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great at one time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It’s a job. They will pay you.

    Cons

    Fear based culture. Highly political. Old boys club.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t even know where to begin.

    Golder Associates2018-10-05
  3. Helpful (7)

    "A good place to start, but grows stale quickly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Overall Golder was a good experience for me. They have good coverage around the globe and in the U.S. and they have excellent technical knowledge in certain areas. It is a really good place to work for a few years before leaving for another company.

    Cons

    The downsides have grown in the last two years with the company taking some serious hits. The company is too reliant on certain sectors, such as mining. They do not grow and evolve quick enough to be competitive. Managers are more willing to watch the company suffer rather than to try something new. The P&A system is flawed and secretive. It also turns into a "club" and heaven help you if you're not in the club. The company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember that the junior staff will inherit the company someday. The management system needs to be rebuilt.

    Golder Associates2015-09-09
  4. "Golder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Civil Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Gives great project opportunities and training to entry employees who want to work hard and put in the time. Very health and safety oriented and very laid back when it comes to employees work schedule.

    Cons

    Company has had a difficult year globally and is transitioning to a new CEO with a new attitude on running the company.

    Golder Associates2015-07-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great People confused direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The people. I have made lifelong friends from my time at Golder. Employee owned so people have personal interest in work duties. Benefits are great although a little pricey. Variety of work. I got to work on a variety of projects with different scopes of work. Great place to start a career. Once you become a Golder employee, there is an opportunity to stay there for a very long time. I met multiple career Golder...

    Show More

    Cons

    Field staff are expected to pay up front for field costs, which can be very difficult for young professionals starting their careers. Salary is lower than industry standards. Expected to travel a lot(field staff). No clear path to grow career. There are a few terrible managers I experienced, but common at most workplaces. They have a hard time adjusting to the market conditions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving health and safety.

    Golder Associates2014-02-19
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates

    Pros

    Family feel amongst Co workers Smart coworkers Options to move around the world

    Cons

    Lots of smart people so lots of egos Pay is lower relative to market

    Advice to Management

    Have more regular reviews with staff

    Golder Associates2016-03-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Generally a good place to work. Management lacking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Geotechnical Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golder Associates for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Safety conscious company. Good people stay busy. Good benefits. Strong technical community. Ownership model and opportunity to purchase shares.

    Cons

    Not a team environment. Over managed. No direction. People get thrown where bodies needed. Offices don't share workload or offer opportunities to people in other offices.

    Advice to Management

    Stop looking at chargeability and start working on developing people.

    Golder Associates2015-09-01
  8. "Civil Design Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Civil Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golder Associates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, good culture and work life balance.

    Cons

    Promotions based on employment duration, less talent based

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on people talent, less on duration of employment

    Golder Associates2015-07-21
Found 8 reviews