Goldfish Swim School Reviews | Glassdoor

Goldfish Swim School Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 198 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Chris McCuiston
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "Love working with kids, teaches you life saving skills(in 16 reviews)

  • "High energy fun environment you're always learning something new every day(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "if you are a college graduate this is not the job for you, this is an unprofessional work environment mainly for high school students(in 9 reviews)

  • "Chlorine kills the ends of your hair(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Rewarding Career Working with Children"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goldfish Swim School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to teach children how to swim and be safe around the water. Paid training and many opportunities for promotion. Permanent schedule makes it easy to plan other activities around your job.

    Cons

    Evening and weekend hours required.

    Goldfish Swim School2019-06-20
  2. "Kids are great, Hours can be flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deck Supervisor in Wexford, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goldfish Swim School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the atmosphere, my coworkers are great individually, management is always willing to listen to my problems, and help to solve them.

    Cons

    Lack of professionalism noticed on a regular basis. I understand that it is unrealistic to expect everyone to like each other, but at least be civil while at work.

    Advice to Management

    Not everyone is going to be perfect all the time, and you cannot take it personally when someone is not in a great mood. Talk with them, and work it out.

    Goldfish Swim School2019-08-14
  3. "Great Franchise to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldfish Swim School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The franchise office does a great job of creating a fun and organized environment.

    Cons

    As with all franchises the owners of the business have freedom to dictate their business. Some of the owners make the work less enjoyable.

    Goldfish Swim School2019-08-09
  4. "Friendly staff, good training program."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor 

    I have been working at Goldfish Swim School part-time

    Pros

    Good training program, room for growth within the company

    Cons

    I can think of no cons

    Goldfish Swim School2019-08-08
  5. "An excellent and workplace to learn and grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldfish Swim School part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Constant work schedule. Competetive pay. Great culture. Advancement oppurtunities.

    Cons

    Can be difficult to take time off.

    Goldfish Swim School2019-07-26
  6. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent 

    I worked at Goldfish Swim School part-time

    Pros

    discounts and the shifts are short

    Cons

    shifts are short, no breaks

    Goldfish Swim School2019-08-08
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swim Coach in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldfish Swim School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Such a fun place to work

    Cons

    Hours aren’t great due to lesson times

    Goldfish Swim School2019-07-19
  8. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Swim Teacher 

    I have been working at Goldfish Swim School part-time

    Pros

    The environment is super positive and uplifting, you just gotta bring as much great attitude into it as well! Working here helps you learn so much about working with kids, dealing with almost any age, experience, and personality. It also helps you strengthen skills with time management, organization, and communication.

    Cons

    To stay motivated you gotta come in with good energy everyday.

    Goldfish Swim School2019-07-09
  9. "Good Job for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Swim Instructor 

    I worked at Goldfish Swim School part-time

    Pros

    Indoor pool, discounts on snacks, competitive pay

    Cons

    Pool temperature can be very hot sometimes

    Goldfish Swim School2019-07-08
  10. "Extremely Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aquatics Supervisor in Braintree, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goldfish Swim School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to coach and teach kids how to swim. Awesome people to work with Flexible Hours

    Cons

    Very small room for advancement Low Pay

    Goldfish Swim School2019-07-07
Found 198 reviews