Gonzaba Medical Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Gonzaba Medical Group Reviews

Updated April 27, 2017
16 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
William Gonzaba, M.D.
9 Ratings

16 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Helpful (1)

    "NRCMA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gonzaba Medical Group (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Oppertunities for advancement are everywhere being part of GMG allows us to explore and grow with in our company which is a Big plus and usually why people stay with Gonzaba Medical Group for a long time.

    Cons

    Parking is hectic for employes but we do have a busy clinic and we share a parking lot with patients but our patients come first so we park as far as we can to allow our patients closer parking spaces

    Advice to Management

    I think advancing to management is a must we got to grow and move up and see not only what they offer us but what we can give back to the company

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. With the Gonzaba Event Center opening recently and the relocation of several departments to that locations, the parking situation at the Main Clinic will get better within ... More


  2. "Huge opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LVN in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - LVN in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good job with opportunities for advancements. Good place to retire. Great training!!
    Great benifit package.

    Cons

    You won't make your fortune here and will be threatened with being written up often.
    Most people are work 2 jobs because of the low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Better pay for all the hard work will keep people longer.

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We would like to discuss your situation further. Please contact the HR Department and ask to speak with a manager.


  3. "nah"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - N/A in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gonzaba Medical Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Health Insurance cheap for employees and UC visits are cheap

    Cons

    The pay rate is based on the demographically set area of the Southside of San Antonio Texas

    Advice to Management

    Pay should be according to the cost of living of where the employee lives in the city.

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We are evaluating our compensation plan and comparing it with information provided by major hospitals, group practices, and employers across San Antonio and the Bexar ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gonzaba Medical Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Several staff are hard workers (because they fear for their jobs)

    Cons

    CEO has frequently requested for managers to do things that are not ethical

    Advice to Management

    Management is replaced very frequently within this organization

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We would like to discuss your situation further. Please contact the HR Department and ask to speak with a manager.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Extreme hostile work environment where the CEO, Dr. Bill Gonzaba, leads by unethical discriminative values."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In the Business Area of the Medical Group in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - In the Business Area of the Medical Group in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gonzaba Medical Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are some great leaders within the organization trying to do the right thing for the community they serve.

    Cons

    CEO's narcissistic personality tarnishes the reputation and image of the organization by making decisions that best serve his interest and ego. Greed is the driving force behind the success and CEO is focused on ways to make a better dollar, at all cost, regardless of patient care. Most patient's are Spanish speaking and don't know that there are better place and come in for multiple visits for a simple cold because of directive by CEO to do as little as possible and continue with recurring visits to maximize payments on each visit.

    Advice to Management

    Retire the CEO and some members of the family that are poisoning the community with their greed and malicious behaviors. Even with several patient's that have died, they continue to bring patient's from going to the hospital in fear of a high cost visit in their capitated business. Their actions risk patient lives and that is not what quality healthcare is about. "leader in capitation" is really leader in how to make money and lower the quality of care without being caught.

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We would like to discuss your situation further. Please contact the HR Department and ask to speak with a manager.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "CEO, Dr. Bill, is too autocratic, arbitrary, and unilateral."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Physician in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Physician in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at Gonzaba Medical Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Group has hospitalists on staff so that primary care providers only have to work 8 to 5 daily, Mo to Fr.

    Cons

    You must be liked by Dr. Bill and his two physician sons in order to survive working there. If you are an attractive female provider, your chances improve dramatically.

    Advice to Management

    Dr. Bill should step down and let the company be run by a professional management team that will correct the above cons.

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We would like to discuss your situation further. Please contact the HR Department and ask to speak with a manager.


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unusual place to work."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gonzaba Medical Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A national leader in capitation.

    Cons

    All major decisions are made by the Owner. Extremely high turnover in high level positions during the last ten years. Some members of the Executive Leadership team stay 2-3 months.

    Advice to Management

    Very little is accomplished without dedicated employees.

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We would like to discuss your situation further. Please contact the HR Department and ask to speak with a manager.


  9. "Very good--Not a disgruntled former employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gonzaba Medical Group full-time

    Pros

    Great relationships and patients. Not micro-managed. The owner is a very nice person to work for.It is a "like family"culture.

    Cons

    benefits could be better--but will be soon.

    Advice to Management

    Be more cautious in hiring.Train more carefully.

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We would like to discuss your situation further. Please contact the HR Department and ask to speak with a manager.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Very Disorganized and Distrustful Environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    "Free" medical care. This organization has some great employees that are loyal and dependable. Salary is average to above the standards.

    Cons

    No work/life balance if you are a manager or supevisor. The owner and upper management is very distrustful of each other and all the employees. They also seem to be ethically challenged.

    Advice to Management

    management needs training. Remember employees want to do a good job and can be trusted to make decisions. Life is too short for all the drama!

    Gonzaba Medical Group Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Corporate Trainer / Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We would like to discuss your situation further. Please contact the HR Department and ask to speak with a manager.


  11. "LVN Case Managment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Gonzaba Medical Group full-time

    Pros

    Very busy with lots of opportunity to help people in the community

    Cons

    there are not many options to advance in the company

    Advice to Management

    better managers


Showing 16 of 16 reviews
Reset Filters