Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) Reviews | Glassdoor

Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Joseph DeSchryver
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours and great team of healthcare professionals(in 6 reviews)

  • "Nice people to work with - overall(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "High turnover for management and staff(in 5 reviews)

  • "Focused on the issue of the day, not a global patient care experience(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Charge Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to learn and grow

    Cons

    I cannot think of any Cons

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2018-03-22
  2. "poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love the patients and families I care for

    Cons

    The management from the top down do not care about there employees. We have become a number to them.

    Advice to Management

    care more about your employees. make us more than just a number

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2019-07-12
  3. """The Worse, horrible, and a good example for a bad company!"""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) full-time

    Pros

    Nothing to appreciate. Worse Management & HR.

    Cons

    Literally harassment on employees.no respect. no values.

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "HCA turning into corporate monster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great nurses and patient population. Wonderful community.

    Cons

    The problem is that HCA is a huge corporate beast that is changing the culture of the hospital. They are getting rid of managers that don’t fit their style, and are bringing in HCA robots who do not care about people. Very sad.

    Advice to Management

    No managers seem to stay for more than a couple months, so I don’t know who this would be directed to.

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2019-04-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t waste your time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some nice coworkers I work with.

    Cons

    Extremely harsh treatment of staff, managers are allowed to mistreat the staff.

    Advice to Management

    Start treating your employees with respect!

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2019-03-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Samaritan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and teamwork between units. Unionized.

    Cons

    High turnover for management and staff. Very little support from management. Bad EHR system, meditek. 8 hour shifts on med/surg unit. Parking.

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2019-02-15
  7. "Cardiac Cath Lab RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) full-time

    Pros

    Definitely make money from you call.

    Cons

    You can end up working too much. it's 8hrs/5days a week and every 3rd weekend call from friday til monday morning.

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2018-12-31
  8. "Great place to work as a begginer- Clinical assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very encouraging, helpful staff especially on some units. Good sick leave system.

    Cons

    always understaffed, sometimes hard to work without help, staffing keeps calling if we can stay back for another shift.

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2018-10-31
  9. "Management needs a lot of help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) part-time

    Pros

    excellent NICU, stroke center, extraordinary nurses who truly care.

    Cons

    weak management focused on money, not patients. Focused on the issue of the day, not a global patient care experience. Too concerned about managing up to worry about the needs of employees

    Advice to Management

    treat employees as though they are the professionals that they are. Stop micromanaging

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2018-10-12
  10. "Unit Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose) part-time

    Pros

    Great team and managers are easy to talk to

    Cons

    No room for growth within position

    Good Samaritan Hospital (San Jose)2018-08-02
Found 58 reviews