Good Samaritan Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Good Samaritan Society Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Julius van Wyk
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, doing good work; taking care of people in need"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society

      Pros

      Work has great value, opportunity to help seniors. Lots of opportunities to be mobile as company has many sites around country. In MN we have education scholarships to help Kay for secondary education

      Cons

      Application process is cumbersome, but new talent management system is on its way, which will be a tremendous help. Large company, slow to make decisions sometimes

      Good Samaritan Society2016-10-17
    • "Housing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Working with residents. Loved them but not how other coworkers treated them.

      Cons

      They do not live out their mission. They use their mission to be not for profit but it's all about profit. They lost sight of Hoeger vision. They preach it but don't practice it. The rude stay while the ones who care get walked on and thrown out.

      Advice to Management

      Live up to your mission. Treat your employees and residents with respect.

      Good Samaritan Society2017-09-24
    • "Home Care RN Case Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule and lots working from home. Company provided laptop. Good pay for new grad nurses. Paid mileage for home visits.

      Cons

      Lack of opportunity for growth in position. 401k matching doesn't happen until after 3 years with the company. Eye/dental benefits aren't very good.

      Good Samaritan Society2017-07-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Staff cares, management does not."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Certified Medication Aide 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The residents and showing God's love through our care and service. The mission statement is what drew me in.

      Cons

      Not enough time allowed to spend with residents one-on-one. Too many other delegates tasks such cleaning rooms, serving food, washing dishes, laundry, leading activities, Not enough time to do essential duties such as monitoring patients and passing medications. Really Low pay for all we do. no breaks beside 30 mins to eat. Management doesn't care.

      Advice to Management

      Raise our pay to motivate your staff to stay! Live up to your motto. Have a nurse working on the weekends for crisis situations. Hire your own dishwasher, housekeeper and activities person. Residents get bored. Help us medication aids focus on passing meds in a safe and consistent way without being rushed. Pay is a decent living wage. We know nuch residents pay and deserve to be compensated. It really does affect the...

      Show More
      Good Samaritan Society2017-05-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Eye opening experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        I enjoyed the residents and caring for them. I also got as much overtime as I wanted. There was always something to do, never bored.

        Cons

        Employees overworked, lack of ambitious employees, uneven amount of work distributed among employees, awarded for being a great employee with additional work and responsibilities.

        Advice to Management

        Haven't worked there for two years so I don't know the current management.

        Good Samaritan Society2017-04-14
      • "Daitery aide"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Good Samaritan Society part-time

        Pros

        Good environment to worry in

        Cons

        They always Understaffed, and the employees end up doing more work

        Good Samaritan Society2017-01-26
      • Helpful (1)

        "CNA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends

          I have been working at Good Samaritan Society part-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          Homey feeling, caring workers, CLEAN

          Cons

          Some aides should work in a factory and not around people, let alone elderly people

          Advice to Management

          Quit delegating, and start working !! Stop trying to run a job that you've never performed yourself

          Good Samaritan Society2016-10-18
        • Helpful (2)

          "Certified Nurses Aid in training"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Good Samaritan Society part-time

          Pros

          I enjoyed working with the residents. And most of my co-workers were friendly. The training was far below expectations though.

          Cons

          The facility was understaffed. It wasn't very good pay for the work being performed. I was in training and quit shortly after.

          Advice to Management

          I do not believe that management realized how hard the job was for very little pay. I wish the job paid more.

          Good Samaritan Society2016-09-27
        • "Dietary Aid"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Good Samaritan Society part-time

          Pros

          Getting to know the residents

          Cons

          Hours weren't as flexible

          Advice to Management

          Organization overall needs some work

          Good Samaritan Society2016-09-07
        • Helpful (2)

          "Universal Worker"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Good Samaritan Society

            Pros

            Fun Residents, okay pay, great job if you get along with co-workers.

            Cons

            Poor treatment, forced to work 12 or 16 hour shifts often.

            Good Samaritan Society2016-06-17
          Found 43 reviews