Good Samaritan Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Good Samaritan Society Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Julius van Wyk
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Understaffed and underpaid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society

    Pros

    The assistant nursing directors were pretty awesome. Always willing to listen to your concerns and complaints.

    Cons

    Not only was the scheduling always messed up, we were usually always understaffed and most of us were getting paid less than a dishwasher at one of the chain restaurants here in town. Pretty f-d up if you ask me 😡

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better and maybe you would get more people willing to work for you

    Good Samaritan Society2016-07-01
  2. "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Society

    Pros

    great place to work. awesome

    Cons

    very few cons really idk

    Good Samaritan Society2016-05-17
  3. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Good Samaritan Society

      Pros

      Good people to work with

      Cons

      Low pay, not supported by management

      Good Samaritan Society2016-05-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Long Term Care"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Department Managers were excellent; professional, trusted their staff - gave independence, asked for impute. Small, homelike environment; residents felt like family.

      Cons

      Administrator was a micro manager; created stressful work environment. Low wages.

      Advice to Management

      take care of your talented, loyal and experienced staff

      Good Samaritan Society2016-03-15
    • Helpful (2)

      "CNA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - CNA 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Good Samaritan Society part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Lovely patients, great job for a night owl, a couple of good co-workers.

      Cons

      Most co-workers, including LPNs and RNs, were difficult to deal with, very little compassion for patients, theft..

      Advice to Management

      Raise your standards in regards to whom you hire. Turnover rate is so high they will pretty much hire anyone with a clean background. Most of my co-workers were absolutely miserable and hated their jobs, and they made that very clear with how they treated others (mainly the patients). I never understood how management turned a blind eye to this.

      Good Samaritan Society2016-02-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "RN jobs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Good Samaritan Society full-time

        Pros

        Good values, care about residents and families

        Cons

        Pay is lower than average, lots of turnover

        Advice to Management

        Work on retention

        Good Samaritan Society2015-11-29
      • "Ok for starters"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Good Samaritan Society

          Pros

          not a particular environment

          Cons

          it is restricted in many ways.

          Good Samaritan Society2015-09-19
        • Helpful (1)

          "Analyst"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          Wonderful, caring people. Management provides excellent training for all levels of their employees.

          Cons

          Glacial decision making process. Antiquated software

          Advice to Management

          IT and software are out of date. Employees deserve responsive, intuitive software

          Good Samaritan Society2015-06-05
        • "Maint. director"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Director of Maintenance 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Great people great residents fun place to work

          Cons

          Low pay administer is a ?

          Advice to Management

          Not bad

          Good Samaritan Society2015-05-10
        • "Disarray"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - HCA in Vernon, BC
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          You get paid on time. There's some good people.

          Cons

          Can't retain staff, usually work short, needs to be updated(old equipment) highly demanding. Ownership and management has zero compassion. More work for less pay.

          Advice to Management

          Value your workers more. Understand that they are human. Stop throwing your weight around and help the cause instead of hinder. Stop being so power hungry and pig headed.

          Good Samaritan Society2019-03-22
        Found 43 reviews