Good Samaritan Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Good Samaritan Society Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Julius van Wyk
1 Ratings
  1. "Bullied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Management Work Leader in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Can’t think of anything at this point

    Cons

    I was given an ultimatum by upper middle management to accept a doubling of my workload or they would consider my refusal as my resignation which now I find out is illegal. Instead I quite 4 weeks later.

    Good Samaritan Society2019-02-02
  2. "Health Care Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Care Aide in Lethbridge, AB
    Recommends

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    1. GSS north side Lethbridge provided an atmosphere where the staff could interact with each other and clients in a productive environment. 2. When it was brought to management's attention regarding ratio of lifts vs independent residents, they took steps to make the workload more reasonable

    Cons

    Communication between management and staff is always an area of opportunity. The over night shifts are often not considered when planning mandatory staff meetings as they are scheduled in the middle of the day (2 or 3 PM) which would the same as asking a day person to show up at 3 AM for mandatory meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Before approaching staff members with rumours and innuendos, my advice is to read progress notes prior to meetings for fact based information.

    Good Samaritan Society2018-06-26
  3. "Good samaritan society from what i got from friends is an awesome place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Health Care Aide in Edmonton, AB

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      I love to make a difference in the society and I believe I am qualified for this job because of the experiences I have gotten previously and also an added advantage as a psychiatric nursing student at MacEwan university

      Cons

      Presently I cant or say don't have anything negative as to working there.

      Advice to Management

      management should learn how not to judge people base on their resume but because some people are better than what is written on their resume.

      Good Samaritan Society2018-03-05
    • "Band aide fixes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - HCA 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Lots of hours if willing to work Decent amount of added education High staffing ratios

      Cons

      Instead of fixing problems it is always a new shiny program or system. Management does not engage with staff 9 years and never a review done on performance Grudges are held if you ever make a suggestion that they deem not useful it all be twisted and used against Poor staff team environment and the loudest complaints are heard even if not constructive

      Advice to Management

      Meet with staff some of the quietest probably have the best suggestion. Support staff make them know you are o their side.

      Good Samaritan Society2018-02-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Administration assistant /staff scheduler"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Clerk Lll in Rocky Mountain House, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Lost the only two good managers and we’re making headway.

      Cons

      Head office thought anyone would do as a manager!

      Advice to Management

      Hire management from within, the dedicated employees who want’s best, not the I don’t care just close my door managers.

      Good Samaritan Society2017-12-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good People to work with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society full-time

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Many changes in management have occurred in short period of time.

      Good Samaritan Society2017-09-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "Administrative Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Diverse workplace that offers challenging experiences. Great people to work with - although often there was a disconnect amongst teams leading to discord and role confusion.

      Cons

      Lack of clear guidelines and expectations

      Good Samaritan Society2017-04-12
    • "RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Good Samaritan Society

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      not as christian minded as they claim to be

      Good Samaritan Society2016-12-28
    • "Good work environment, mostly."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society

      Pros

      Overall a good employer. With good values and heart.

      Cons

      Sites are only as good as the managers assigned to them.

      Advice to Management

      Make sure managers have good management style, have leadership training and skills that are compatible with the goals of the company. Make sure they do employee reviews. They are time consuming but an employee should never be surprised by something a manager brings up as a something that needs work.

      Good Samaritan Society2016-11-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Hca"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The resident and benefits are great

      Cons

      Politics as in any job

      Advice to Management

      Learn to manage difficult employees as thing come up rather then them running wild

      Good Samaritan Society2016-08-02
    Found 43 reviews