Good Samaritan Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Good Samaritan Society Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Julius van Wyk
1 Ratings
  1. "Nursing Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society

    Pros

    Excellent support staff, team work

    Cons

    Management bullied staff horribly and Regional Office knew! They are a fear mongering employer. Don't apply.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let power go to your head! In the words of Tim McGraw "Always be humble and kind".

    Good Samaritan Society2016-06-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Aide 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good pay, lots of hours

    Cons

    Heavy work load, not a team environment

    Good Samaritan Society2016-04-30
  3. "cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Society

    Pros

    like the work I do

    Cons

    short staffed all too often

    Advice to Management

    hire more people part time

    Good Samaritan Society2016-02-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Health Care Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Aide 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Society part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It is well managed ,everyone works hard to meet the needs of our residents.

    Cons

    not many full time postions

    Good Samaritan Society2016-01-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Prior to hiring new CEO in 2014 (ST) GSS was a supportive and caring employer that gave employees a sense of belonging to a family that cared for one another.

    Cons

    CEO has created an environment of fear and poor moral. How can someone in a health care role provide high quality care to our elderly in that type of work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Board needs to seek a new CEO who cares about people. He was hired to take the company out of serious financial hardship, but unfortunately he destroyed the culture and climate that GSS was know for. I don't know what business school Shawn attended but it is not any style of leadership I have learned that creates success long term.

    Good Samaritan Society2016-01-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Administative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kelowna, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Good Samaritan Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HCA are awesome and have to deal with vey poor management

    Cons

    Management is very poor and has no clue what they are doing

    Advice to Management

    Actually have management skills and maybe take a course about management

    Good Samaritan Society2015-08-24
  7. "emergency support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society

    Pros

    Got to choose my own schedule

    Cons

    Little or no positive support from leadership

    Advice to Management

    Leadership development training

    Good Samaritan Society2015-04-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Collapse of a once caring strong valued organization to a fearful, cold and callous organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society full-time

    Pros

    There were some great employees who cared about their jobs- before the mass layoffs.

    Cons

    No job stability -would never recommend a friend or family to work there. Mass layoffs of many long term staff done without respect or dignity. With new CEO a change of culture with no respect for employees and a new culture of fear for ones job. Only way your job is safe is if you are buddy's with the CEO.

    Advice to Management

    If you cut departments and staff so deeply something has got to give. Show some respect for the employees who are left instead of instilling a culture of fear. If you continue to create a bad reputation for the company you are going to be left without qualified staff.

    Good Samaritan Society2014-04-21
  9. "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Staff care about the seniors they take care of, even though staff cant get along.

    Cons

    Lots of layoffs, management no clue on running an efficient operation. Staff dont work well together.

    Good Samaritan Society2014-04-13
  10. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Good Samaritan Society part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    the best company i've ever worked in

    Cons

    but unfortunately minim career opportunity

    Advice to Management

    be more creative to create employees there

    Good Samaritan Society2013-11-28
Found 43 reviews