GoodData "smart people" Reviews | Glassdoor

GoodData Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated Feb 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
GoodData CEO Roman Stanek (no image)
Roman Stanek
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "Prague office, placement in Karlin(in 14 reviews)

  • "still a couple of smart people in the company(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Go to Market focus has been a key topic in the company in the past which held back some of the stellar growth(in 6 reviews)

  • "Senior management approach made a lot of smart and talented people to leave(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (30)

    "GoodData. BadLeadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoodData full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have to tell you, I was really excited to work at GoodData. They have a cool product. They’re in an attractive space. They pay well and have decent benefits (besides the lack of a 401K match). There’s flexibility to work from home. There are a lot of smart people there. It’s a casual environment and there are some perks. So, to say it was a disappointment would be an understatement.

    Cons

    There’s so many things that could be said here--but I guess the best way to sum it up would be to say that the culture is just awful, and that’s because it’s a reflection of GoodData’s leadership. The leadership team has a major case of “smartest guys in the room.” Once a quarter, they head to an off-site and make major reactive shifts to the corporate strategy without vetting their decisions with any data--placing the company in a constant state of “pivot.” Then everything descends into chaos as everyone tries to figure out what it is exactly that the company does now. Between that, and the fact that the entire management layer involves themselves in literally every decision across every aspect of the business, regardless of whether or not they have any expertise in the area, it’s pretty much impossible to succeed in your job. All of which is a real bummer….because of the pros noted above.

    Continue reading
    GoodData2017-02-28
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Fast-paced, smart people, getting into a groove"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoodData full-time

    Pros

    People are really smart. The product is very good, though it does have its weaknesses as well, but it's cutting edge technology, which can be good and bad. They train you well. They bring in smart people and other smart people teach you cool stuff. Fast paced. Get things done.

    Cons

    The agile methodology seems to pervade the whole company, including dealing with people issues. Things are implemented relatively quickly and different initiatives are tried and evaluated quarterly, annually etc. What this means is that there are some quick wins but it might not actually solve root issues of why people are discontent or why people keep leaving the company for other opportunities. It's a shame, because the product is good and the people are smart, but for some reason, people keep choosing to leave for various reasons, and if this is not solved, it's going to be painful for company.

    Continue reading
    GoodData2014-12-30
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Leadership makes for a not-so-pleasant work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoodData full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - get a lot of experience fast - smart people to work with in consulting, support, engineering and finance - working with Prague guys, they're the best

    Cons

    - everyone is over-worked and burnt out fast ie high turnover - not enough employee appreciation or acknowledgement - the arrogance of the leadership team propagates to everyone's general attitude at work - vision changes every quarter, inconsistent company goals

    Continue reading
    GoodData2014-11-17

    GoodData Response

    November 21, 2014Employee

    Thank you for your response. Over the past year we as a leadership team have made significant investment in our people practices and culture and it is gratifying to see that services attrition is down to 0 in the past six months. We encourage you to visit with our team: you will be delighted. We would also welcome your feedback as someone who has been part of defining our journey so far.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Still fine, used to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Prague
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoodData full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - great work/life balance - compensation and benefit package is really good - still a couple of smart people in the company - usually things works - company events are fine, getting worse but still cool

    Cons

    - old technology, old architecture and huge tech debt - incompetent management - huge people turnover - some people have found great work/life balance - toxic company culture, lot of politics, hate and whispers, very limited trust - no conference policy - micromanagement instead of responsibility - few people at or close to burnout - no vision

    Continue reading
    GoodData2018-02-02

    GoodData Response

    March 5, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thanks for the feedback. While there’s been some employee turnover which is common in a start-up environment, we’re very committed to continuing to invest in both our R&D and Product Management teams

    Continue reading
  5. "Grow of company is sometimes paintful, but it is still great ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Prague
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoodData full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A bunch of very smart people with passion to work on interesting projects Great benefits - nice offices, regular company pubs, free refreshment every day, sport events, whole company vacation during Christmas. Well paid emergency response, that is not very usual in other companies. Bigger emergency responses are usually well organised. Management is trying to find a way how to improve the employees comfort and we are gathering feedback from employees regularly. Transparent company culture - "coffee talks" where you can ask any questions, even anonymously. Presentation of financial plans and results. You are able to find your position in the team or company that fits you. You can grow or change your position to something else if you get tired of current position. Friendly environment between software engineers. Everyone is willing to help you. Great product, that have big customers and it has big potential even that lot of other big companies are becoming competitors.

    Cons

    Big employee turnover. I'm not sure if we are properly using employees feedback and exit reviews. Lot of changes in strategy, especially in sales teams. Missing transparent reviews of past roadmaps. Long terms plans should be more transparent. What was planned last year and what was the reality. I'm not saying that agile approach is bad, but it would be nice to compare long-term plans with reality. Missing organization chart. Disconnection between architects and software engineers for years. Role of architects is not often clear. Should the architect be a highly technically talented software engineer which is working on tasks parallel to team of software engineers or should he be something else ?

    Continue reading
    GoodData2018-01-06

    GoodData Response

    March 5, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback, It is pleasure you have been working with GoodData for more than 5 years and it is still great ride for you :-). I am happy you can see smart people among your colleagues and all pros, benefits, perks and also transaprent company culture you have pointed out. Thank you also for your recommendation and advice to management I would be also glad to discuss it with you in person, as I take your recommendation very seriously. Stop by and let's have a coffee with me.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoodData for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to attract competent and smart people Provides better than average outlook for people in Czech Republic

    Cons

    Many inexperienced mid-level managers High turnover Inability to manage the people, easily turn ugly when under pressure Corporate BS

    GoodData2018-01-02

    GoodData Response

    March 5, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback, we take these comments very seriously. Growing companies often have some of the growing pains that you have mentioned above, but we are constantly trying to make improvements to retention.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "I like it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Prague
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoodData full-time

    Pros

    A lot of smart people, they know what they are doing.

    Cons

    I could use expression my diamond shoes are too small for me there, the fridge is filled "only" every second day

    GoodData2017-12-06

    GoodData Response

    March 5, 2018HR Business Partner

    I am very happy you seems to be very satisfied to work with us in GoodData. Thank you for sharing your opinions to the IT world at Glassdoor:-).

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Not a good experience, does not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brno
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoodData full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company is full of very smart people, you can learn from them. Good starting point for graduates. - Competitive compensation - Chance to work with people in different locations (Saigon, San Francisco, Prague) - Work from home

    Cons

    - Senior management approach made a lot of smart and talented people to leave - Head of product, head of sales and finance are being hired and leaving like crazy - Generally very high attrition of employees - Scrum masters are being considered as enemies and company is trying to run the waterfall model over scrum - Company is trying to find it's niche again, but sales pipeline is dry and it does not make employees happy - Perl legacy and overall huge technical debt altogether with not functional CI frustrates engineers - Corporate strategy changes a lot - Productivity mantra is being repeated for several years but senior management doesn't understand that strategy shifts, no clear direction and the way of management makes employees frustrated. You can't expect high productivity from frustrated employees.... - Toxic culture

    Continue reading
    GoodData2017-09-04

    GoodData Response

    March 5, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thanks for the feedback and I am glad you agree that we have smart people and compensate well! We are committed to driving our sales engine and we’ve recently made some great strides in signing up large enterprise customers. Growing companies often have some of the growing pains that you have mentioned above, but we are constantly trying to make improvements to retain our employees.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Startup with a smell of a corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Prague
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoodData full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice enviroment, great & smart people wokring hard and to make things happen. Great events, celebrations & hackathons - all sponsored by the company!

    Cons

    So called leaders pushing their will downwards - without any reasoning or explanation. Unfortunately, most of these activities are not in line with anything close to agile. Instead, it seems that all this is done to prove them self useful. Too many managers applying micro-management in practice instead of making sure that people in their teams are satisfied.

    Continue reading
    GoodData2017-04-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Product Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoodData

    Pros

    Smart people, many possibilities to learn new things

    Cons

    Would be nice if strategy/product changes were communicated more clearly and not changed that much

    GoodData2016-07-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews