Goodlord Reviews | Glassdoor

Goodlord Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Goodlord CEO William Reeve
William Reeve
14 Ratings
  1. "Job offer received and then no further contact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodlord

    Pros

    Potentially a great company to work for

    Cons

    Very poor communication Not delivering on promises Recruitment process fundamentally flawed

    Advice to Management

    Make sure job offers have prior approval

    Goodlord2019-11-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Supportive and positive culture that gets the best out of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodlord full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Goodlord is a 'people' first business. There is an engrained positive culture at the company that encourages team members to be themselves and produce amazing work. I think a lot of this has to do with the company values and how they ripple down through the SLT and managers. There is a great buzz in the office and genuine friendships have been built here. There is real focus on mental health and wellbeing - socials,... running club, yoga and Sanctus coaching. Leadership do a great job communicating company goals and pains with the team.

    Show More

    Cons

    More snacks can never hurt and we are genuinely running out of space pretty fast.

    Goodlord2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic start up culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodlord full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super friendly, interesting and hard working people. Really fun place to be a part of, very inclusive, supportive and transparent culture. Plus free snacks all the time

    Cons

    Office space is a bit limited and occasionally have to queue for the bathroom.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what ya doing!

    Goodlord2019-08-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Proud Goodlordian!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in Old Street, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodlord full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros? Everything! I love the environment, I love how helpful and aware of the product people are. My team works so hard and still we find time to help one another, our HR is extremely supportive and actually ask how could they help, instead of the "passive approach" where we go up to them to ask for something. I admire lots of people here for how hard they work and still carry a smile on their faces. I moved to... England not long ago, and my age is higher than the average here, so I can easily say that I gather a fair amount of work experience. I have been part of Multi-national Oil corporations before but still, Goodlord is the place where I have grown the most as a professional and also as a person.

    Show More

    Cons

    The volume of work is hard, I admit, but we literally signed up for this in support. Nobody can apply for a job at customer support and expect to able to read a book throughout the day. Nobody lies to me in my interview saying that it would be easy, so how could I complain now? No, we stand up and deliver!

    Advice to Management

    My management is awesome! The most positive person I have ever met. There is not a problem on Earth that she could not find the bright side of it. Stops everything to listen to you and take every situation into consideration. What a woman!

    Goodlord2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great start up culture with experienced senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodlord full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Accomplished CEO with great track record in startups. Inspiring CTO with excellent leadership skills. Strong product managers and experienced engineering team. Interesting technical challenges. Data-driven decision making at all levels of the business. Company is serious about employee well-being. Great perks including: performance related bonuses, remote friendly workplace, family friendly policies, great office... location in the heart of the London tech scene.

    Show More

    Cons

    Office space has become more limited due to steady company growth over the last year.

    Advice to Management

    Continue regular staff updates on company vision and successes.

    Goodlord2019-08-13
  6. "A company I am truly proud to be a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodlord full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The ability to work alongside and learn from brilliant people Feeling inspired every day to raise the game The freedom and autonomy you are given A collective sense of purpose Being part of something special, the opportunity to help create the best renting experience in the world The people - there are very few politics and people genuinely care about one and other The balance the management team... have between wanting to do well but also setting realistic targets that are achievable Weekly huddles, monthly company updates, people being able to observe the management meeting The close and effective relationship between the OG's and the newbies

    Show More

    Cons

    I have worked in a lot of places and Goodlord is the place I've enjoyed working the most. So for me there are no cons. However I decided to join Goodlord as the culture, people and way of working was exactly what I was looking for. I know this environment is a place where I can thrive, but this may not be the case for everyone. To enjoy working here you need to be willing to roll up your sleeves, comfortable with a... little ambiguity, understand the value of learning from those around you and from your own mistakes and know that with autonomy comes accountability.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Continue to drive alignment by giving regular updates on the company goals and how we are progressing against these.

    Goodlord2019-06-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Support in chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Hero in Old Street, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodlord full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people in other teams who help us behind the scenes, and supportive COO. Real attempt by People team to make day-to-day fun and interesting. Some really nice and inspirational people flourishing in other teams, who have been role models for us in Support, without them probably realising.

    Cons

    Very bad organisation and manager lacking in knowledge. Chaotic rota that's not done properly and no one to learn from except really good people in other teams. Only the COO and a few other's seem to really care about Support. Have raised with line manager but when it's a culture created by them, they are too defensive to own up to failings. Concerning amount of pettiness from them that will likely get worse. It's a... shame as otherwise all the other teams make it a great place to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to us directly. The results posted and fed back in SMT weekly are inaccurate and being portrayed through a tinted lense. We're ready to talk.

    Goodlord2019-06-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Referencing Executive in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodlord full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close to a tube station, nice offices, and Office dogs

    Cons

    Cult like culture, huge disparities in treatment between temp and perm staff. Huge turnover over rate, fire and hire culture. Managers haven't got much experience, this explains how the company has turned out. No real diversity, very middle class and white.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lure fresh graduates into this job promising full time and consistent work, when this is the opposite, don't manipulate young people into working late hours, respect people's mental health, and most of all people are not disposable. Hire and fire culture is not sustainable.

    Goodlord2019-07-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best company iv worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodlord full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere in the office Good Flexibility Great Perks- Office snacks, drinks, socials. Management are approachable. Feel part of a big team rather than just a number. Learning development budget is great!

    Cons

    Only improvement I can think of, would be great to have a team or someone to help with computer issues!

    Goodlord2019-05-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Superstar in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodlord full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    No progression if you don't already come in with the skills

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in tech

    Goodlord2019-04-24
Found 34 reviews